2016-05-12 training log

Back days seem to be the ones I see the least progress on. Not sure why. I did see some progress today, for sure. But it’s just slower.

It is what it is tho. I tried to up it a little bit today, with some “first-set-last” type things for AMRAP. Just a little more volume, because.

I feel stagnant on pull-ups. Not going to sweat it too much. I’ll be changing this up here soon and doing some different sort of “up” — maybe neutral grip, something that’s a little less (torque) stress on my joints. We’ll see what it does. I really want to get over that 10-rep milestone. I also thought that I might change my ups to let the first set be just a crank-it-out set, then all other sets be very eccentric focused — don’t sweat the reps, just put everything under a lot of stress.

I also think I need to lay off the heavy, low-rep shrugs. My spine doesn’t seem to like that compression and that angle.

  • Pull-ups
    • bw x 8
    • bw x 5
    • bw x 3
    • bw x 3
    • bw x 2
  • T-Bar Row
    • 110 x 8
    • 110 x 8
    • 110 x 8
    • 110 x 8
  • Curl-Grip Lat Pulldown
    • 100 x 16
    • 110 x 11
    • 120 x 8
    • 100 x 11
  • Cable Rows
    • 90 x 15
    • 100 x 15
    • 110 x 11
    • 90 x 11
  • BB Shrugs
    • 275 x 8
    • 275 x 10
    • 185 x 20
    • 185 x 20
    • 185 x 16

KR Training 2016-05-07 – Pocket Gun / Skill Builder Quick Hits

Saturday May 7, 2016 was a different day at KR Training. In the morning was the “Pocket Gun Class” and in the afternoon was Skill Builder. I say different because these are two classes we don’t run often, but they are so important.

Why don’t we run them more often? People don’t want to come out for these classes, and we’re honestly mystified as to why.

The Pocket Gun Class is that class for all those little guns that no one admits to carrying yet you all do. The little snub revolver, or the micro semi-auto that you throw in your pocket to run to the mailbox or the grocery story. The smaller gun that you carry because it’s a hot Texas summer and you don’t want to strap on your “heater” with the tank-top and flip-flops attire du jour.

I guess you think that if you can do it with your big gun you can do it with your small gun?

Not necessarily.

And this class was a perfect example.

Note: don’t take the following as picking on students. It’s more that the results of class were a perfect illustration of the importance of this class. I know from speaking with these student afterwards they were thankful for taking the class because it was exactly the eye-opening “get this sorted out before it’s truly relevant in my life” experience they needed.

Skills may not translate

So you think that all guns are the same? That if you have skill here it will translate over there? That if I can shoot this gun, I’ll be able to shoot that gun just as well?

Well, perhaps.

The closer the two platforms are to each other, the more things will translate. So for instance, if you were shooting a Glock 17 then switched to another Glock 17, chances are you’ll shoot just the same. If you switched to a Glock 19, you’d probably shoot just the same. A 17 and 19 aren’t 100% alike, but close enough that skills will transfer. Switch to a Glock 26 and chances are you’ll shoot pretty close, but there’s more difference between the 26 and the 17 that some issues will creep in.

Now let’s try a more radical difference. We had this in class: a student shooting a snub-nose revolver. So a very small gun (and he had very big, meaty hands), with a long, very-heavy trigger pull. Plus, snubs like this have a different “point of aim” to them. Then he switched to his normal gun: a proper 1911. So this very large frame, a short and sweet trigger pull, and that “natural point of aim” 1911’s are so famed for. You can’t get more different in the two platforms than this, and it manifested itself in the student’s performance. In fact, towards the end of class we shoot the “3 Seconds or Less” drill with the pocket gun, then shoot it again with your normal carry gun, and every student sees marked differences – generally how much better they are with a full-sized gun. Is that because of the gun itself? or because they just don’t practice enough with the small gun? Either way.

There was another difference manifest in this experience. That sudden switching was difficult! Another student was shooting a snub revolver, and I don’t recall what his normal carry was (I think a M&P9), but when he switched from the snub to the normal  he was yanking the trigger terribly because he had been used to this long, heavy-trigger and his body was still expecting to have to shoot that way.

With another student, he was working with a Ruger LC9, then switched to his normal which was an M&P9c. The difference was dramatic. He has the skills, he can certainly shoot. But that long, heavy, trigger press on the Ruger he was working so hard to overcome every time that was slapping the trigger to a high degree. Switch back to his M&P and he was shooting great.

So what are some take homes?

To me, this is one reason I gave up on carrying a snub as a back-up gun or even as a “small gun” when I needed a small gun. When the platforms are too different, I don’t find advantage. There’s no question different tools can have different advantages (and disadvantages): there’s certainly things that a snub revolver can do that the smaller semi-autos just cannot. But trying to switch between my primary M&P9 and a S&W 442 as a backup? It just grew to have more problems than benefits. Instead, I opted that when I need a smaller gun, pick something of similar setup: like an M&P Shield.

So that whole Glock 17/19/26/43 setup works really well. You can have the different sizes, and the skill transfer between them is pretty close. You still need to work with the different sizes because it’s not a perfect 1-to-1 transfer, but it’s a LOT better than wider swings like a 1911 to a J-frame.

Another take home? Long, heavy, trigger presses suck. What advantage do you gain from them?

Another? The more the dohickies, the more complicated the machine is to operate, the more you must practice – and ensure you put manipulation of the dohickies into your practice. If it’s too annoying to always manipulate in practice, then that’s a clue.

Methods

I particularly enjoyed this instance of class because we had a variety of carry methods. We had fanny packs, appendix holster, pocket carry, a SmartCarry/Thunderwear, ankle rig. There’s all sorts of “non-traditional” methods out there.

Stupid me forgot to bring some of my usuals, like my Maxpedition bag or my ITS Tactical messenger bag.

Bottom line: practice with it.

This is one of those things that you can most certainly do in dry-fire practice — and you should. Work these methods. Work on accessing your gun from them, because generally they are slower methods or methods with a higher chance of fumble.

Case in point: for giggles I carried my NAA Guardian .32 ACP in a pocket holster for this class. The particular shorts I was wearing have very deep pockets and a very wide pocket mouth, but the way the pants then ride the pocket mouth “closes” very tight against the body, which makes drawing a “fist” out of the pocket a little difficult. Every pair of shorts is different (unless you only wear one brand of clothing, I guess). If you are going to pocket carry, make sure every day when you get dressed you do a dozen dry reps drawing from that pocket to make sure it will work (else maybe change shorts, or buy new ones, or get these tailored, etc.).

Skills

Blending into the afternoon Skill Builder class, we transition from talking about gear to talking about skills. I don’t always talk gear so much, but so much of what the “small gun” class is about is the gear. But in Skill Builder, it’s all about you. 🙂

We had a good group of students, progressing really well. As a result, Karl went a little “off script” and taught some extra things – you weren’t there, so you missed out on these extra gems. 😉

One take home from me dovetailed well into my own practice from a few days ago: Going Faster.

There’s the old Ball-And-Dummy drill that everyone knows about. Well, Karl uses a variantion from the Rogers School where you set up a magazine: live-dummy 5x. When you shoot you should shoot the live then immediately shoot the dummy. Yes, you know the dummy is there – but it doesn’t matter. See, when you do other flavors of the drill, far too often you start to game it (I was doing this a bunch a few days ago), you start to anticipate, and you do more of a disservice to yourself. With this, believe me: the problems will come out. You will be forced to do better. But the better thing here is to move “at speed” into that second shot. As I watched Karl explain, as I watched the students execute I was like “Man, this is exactly the drill I need right now”. So this will move into my live-fire practice. It will help you get faster, it will help you flinch and slap less.

For the students in class: that 3M Drill? You can read about it here.

Other

All in all, a good day. Classes were small, which was a bummer because these are two classes well worth taking. But it wound up benefitting the students because class could run a little faster and we certainly took advantage of that working in extra things where we could.

Weather was great. It’s warming up to Texas summer now – wear sunscreen, drink water, eat well, take care of yourself.

Afterwards, Karl and I spent a little time looking at my M&P Shield. I’m honestly still not 100% sure if it’s a PEBKAC issue or a mechanical issue, and if there’s still actually a problem or not. But given what Karl and I did yesterday we’re both starting to lean towards: no, the gun has been fixed, but this is just the level of accuracy you’re going to get. We did drift the sights a little bit, which helped with a few things. But even shooting Karl’s Shield well… we are starting to lean towards these are just “combat accurate” to use a slight eye-rolling term. Jury’s still out, I still want to do more work with it to really see what’s what and if I’m willing to entrust to this particular gun or not.

But bottom line: I was outside, enjoying a wonderful day, with a good  group of people.

Life is good.

To the students: thank you all for coming out and spending your day with us. We’ll see you again soon. 🙂

 

2016-05-10 training log

I didn’t want to go to the gym this morning. I really zonked out hard earlier than usual last night, and I didn’t want to get up — my body was all about sleep. So it was drag-ass out of bed.

I did go to the gym, but I opted to just have fun as that’s the goal of this cycle, right?

So I did front squats and worked up to a good single. Cool thing? It was a bunch of PR’s today. The app I use for tracking, RepCount, gives stats including personal records. So today I did my best front squat ever, my best 2 rep max, and my best 5 rep max. Granted, that’s basically just looking at the largest weight entered for a given rep count, so the 2 and 5 probably don’t count much. But the 1RM is pretty cool. I could have gone up a little more but figured this was good enough.

When I started my work sets, I dropped the weight, thus the 2 reps. I was in the hole and lost balance, and that was that — dropped the weight. No big deal, but just noting the 2 reps.

Then I opted to just do a little extra work. Just to have some fun and get some work in. I had thought about Jack-Shitting the day, so this was a reasonable trade-off.

I am thinking towards the future, that I might try ass-to-grass front squats. The lower I get, the more I feel it in my glutes and hamstrings. It might be interesting to really lighten the weight and try that and see where it gets me.

  • Front Squat
    • bar x 5
    • bar x 5
    • 115 x 5
    • 135 x 4
    • 165 x 3
    • 195 x 2
    • 225 x 1
    • 245 x 1
    • 175 x 2 (lost balance, dropped the weight)
    • 175 x 5
    • 175 x 5
  • Leg Extensions (350-Method)
    • 60 x 30
    • 60 x 20
    • 60 x 15
  • Leg Curls (350-Method)
    • 30 x 24
    • 30 x 15
    • 30 x 12

2016-05-09 training log

I just have to wonder when the progress will stop.

Don’t get me wrong: I’m really stoked to see this constant progress. But I have to wonder how long it will keep up.

I opted to up the incline weights because why not. Even still, I was surprised at the # of reps I got today: didn’t think I’d get that many. Everything just keeps going up.

I am starting to think towards the next cycle. Right now today will probably change to something like:

  • Flat BB Bench
  • Incline DB Bench
  • Flat DB Flies
  • Some sort of overhead press
  • Upright DB Rows

The overhead press I’m not sure about. It may just be simple standing BB overhead, but I’m not sure yet. And upright DB rows because I saw Mike Israetel posting about them a couple weeks ago. Never tired them. I love upright rows, and this might be an interesting variation to try and see.

  • Incline Bench
    • 125 x 5
    • 145 x 4
    • 165 x 3
    • 195 x 2
    • 215 x 1
    • 165 x 12
    • 165 x 6
  • DB Bench
    • 50e x 10
    • 50e x 10
    • 50e x 10
    • 50e x 10
    • 50e x 10
  • Machine Flies
    • 85 x 12
    • 85 x 12
    • 85 x 12
  • Seated DB Press
    • 40e x 10
    • 40e x 10
    • 40e x 10
    • 40e x 10
  • DB Lat Raises
    • 20e x 12
    • 20e x 12
    • 20e x 10

2016-05-06 training log

Solid day. I wasn’t really into the session for whatever reason — mentally elsewhere. But the work was good.

  • Close-Grip Bench Press
    • bar x 10
    • 135 x 5
    • 155 x 4
    • 175 x 3
    • 195 x 2
    • 215 x 1
    • 175 x 14
    • 175 x 7
  • Skullcrushers
    • 45 x 15
    • 55 x 12
    • 65 x 10
    • 65 x 8
    • 45 x 15
  • V-Bar Pressdowns
    • 45 x 13
    • 40 x 15
    • 35 x 20
    • 30 x 23
  • BB Curls
    • 45 x 15 (strict)
    • 55 x 12
    • 65 x 8
    • 95 x 4 (cheat)
    • 95 x 4
    • 95 x 3
  • Full-stop Hammer Curl
    • 30e x 8
    • 30e x 8
    • 30e x 8
    • 30e x 6
  • Cable Curls
    • 55 x 17
    • 60 x 14
    • 65 x 11
    • 55 x 13

A little range time

Practice Time

I wanted to run just a few live-fire drills today as a diagnostic. So I picked 2 challenging ones that fit the bill for diagnostic: the 3M Test, and the Rangemaster Handgun Core Skills Test. Yes, both from Rangemaster. I didn’t pick them because of that, they’re just good diagnostics. And I’ve never shot the Core Skills Test before, so I figured this should be good.

I did have to modify the drills slightly: using and IDPA target because that’s what was available. When i in doubt, I scored harder.

3M Test

I started with this cold. Scored 114, which is good but not great. I shot it a few more times and my score averaged into the 140-150 range, which was much better. But I had some obvious problems.

First, I had a hardware problem. This mag pouch is just not working for me. In order to have enough retention on the mag, it makes it difficult to withdraw the magazine. If I make it easy to withdraw, there’s no retention. I know it’s something with this specific pouch because others in the past have not had this problem. In this case, my pouch broke, I ordered a new one from Comp-Tac, it wasn’t done right so it was sent back. I am not sure if they made a new one or just tried to bend/fix this one, but I got it back and it’s been this way. Again, this is not what I’ve typically experienced from Comp-Tac. I’ll figure something out.

Second, I do need to work on my reloads. This was a combination hardware and software problem. On the hardware side, I’m shooting a different M&P9 (my primary is in the shop), and this one doesn’t like to auto-forward as much. I’ve gotten used to the auto-forward and I think too used to it, because I find myself slamming the mag home and going right back to shooting – but now the slide is still locked back. Dang it — so that’s a fumble to get things going again. Also, during the Kathy Jackson class a little bit ago, I had multiple times when it did auto-forward but did NOT strip a round! I’m back to my old feeling that this auto-forward is a bug and not a feature (if it’s not 100% then there’s a bug somewhere). So I found myself fumbling my reloads because of the hardware issues. BUT really it’s straight-up me because I really should never have gotten used to the auto-forward and just always racked the slide. Even if it meant a round on the ground, meh. This is really reinforcing in me that I need to fix that, and just get better on my reloads.

Speaking of, another problem I had was gaming the drill. I found myself anticipating the malfunction a few times and thus I stuttered and added a second or two onto my time. Stupid. I need to just be in the drill, be in the moment, and let what happens happens.

Third, I just need to go faster. I can go faster and still get acceptable hits, but my brain is so wired towards accuracy first. Towards the end I shot the 3M a few more times and just pushed myself hard. Yes I had a couple shots outside the circle, but I really need to push myself more. I can do more, and I just have to really drill that into my head.

Anyways, this was good. Big takehomes: fix my gear, work on my reloads, be in the moment, allow myself to be faster.

Core Skills Test

Again, this was a first time shooting it. It’s not necessarily a tough drill, but because it’s scored Comstock it is tough — if you want a good score. You need to be fast, but you also need to be accurate.

I found myself holding back on this as well — didn’t want to miss, but I also know I can pick up the pace. I scored an 80, which is at the bottom edge of the “very good” range. Again, I know I was going slower than I could have, plus on the longer distances I dropped a couple outside the -0 ring. Honestly, I’m not sure how the official scoring on that would be, if it’d still be 5 points but I counted those as 3. Regardless, my score is “very good” but that’s still not good enough.

My take-homes from here are about the same as everything else I need to work on: getting faster on my draw and time to first shot (which wasn’t bad, just can still be improved), weak-hand, and working at longer distances (15 yards and up).

One thing that I think I’m going to have to do? Less dry fire. Well, not really that, but more live fire. Sure, there’s stuff to work on in dry fire that will help me, but I think I just need more live fire work to really fix some of the problems I’m working through. My brain knows the difference between dry and live and I need it to allow me to do in live what I can do in dry.

Overall

So, it’s about the same old same old for me.

The weather was great. It was good to get out and shoot a bit. And I’ve got more homework to do. 🙂

2016-05-05 training log

Back day is becoming one of my favorites. I think it’s because it’s cool to look in the mirror (well, series of mirrors) and see wow — look at what’s back there! But also because it’s cool to be doing pull-ups. When you’ve sucked at them your whole life and are starting to suck less at them, it’s just great! Plus, I’m really getting a groove of back work: actually getting the back to work, not just pulling and making motions. It’s good stuff.

That said tho, today felt a little stagnant. I didn’t go up much on paper, but I sure felt more work happening. Go figure.

Weighing in at 210. Offically trying to maintain for a bit, then lean on the massing side of things. I am leaning towards staying this course for a couple more weeks, then a deload week, then another 6 or so weeks just hypertrophy work (likely similar to what I’m doing now, but varying it up e.g. instead of bb incline bench and db flat bench, do bb flat bench and db incline bench). Then after that, maybe a Strong-15 short cycle to take a small break and change of pace. After that, we’ll see — that’s some 3 months out, so I’ll figure it then based on progress.

  • Pull-ups
    • BW x 8
    • BW x 5
    • BW x 3
    • BW x 3
    • BW x 3
  • T-Bar Row
    • 105 x 8
    • 105 x 8
    • 105 x 8
    • 105 x 8
  • Curl-Grip Lat Pulldowns
    • 90 x 20
    • 100 x 15
    • 110 x 10
  • Cable Row
    • 90 x 15
    • 100 x 15
    • 110 x 9, then drop sets
  • BB Shrugs
    • 275 x 5
    • 275 x 10
    • 185 x 23
    • 185 x 18
    • 185 x 14

2016-05-03 training log

Felt good to be squatting again.

Had to not squat the past couple weeks due to circumstance, and honestly when I got out of bed I actually felt like just going back to bed and not squatting. But no, 2 weeks is too many, so off I went.

And it felt pretty good.

The front squats continue to be a good thing. I may not continue with them as an emphasis, but I do think it’d be worthwhile for me to keep them around in some respect for some time. I continue to work on keeping myself as upright as possible, which when I do, really works what I need. I could even see myself starting to do something like squat, pause squat, and front squat, then some hamstring focus, and done.

Speaking of hamstring, I’m still trying to “get it” on RDL’s. I upped the weight slightly, but I’m still trying to get form and technique. I actually did hit a few strides where I felt very much like I was working hams and not just my back — which I’m really trying to not do. After the 3×8 I did actually feel something in my hamds and glutes, so maybe I’m starting to get it. But I can’t articulate exactly what I did to feel that so I can repeat it, so I’m a ways off from “getting it”, still, it’s a step forward.

After all those, the leg presses and such… by the time I got the extensions and curls my legs were pretty spent. All in all tho, a good day.

  • Front Squat
    • bar x 10
    • 95 x 5
    • 125 x 4
    • 155 x 3
    • 185 x 2
    • 215 x 1
    • 165 x 8
    • 165 x 8
    • 165 x 8
  • RDL
    • 205 x 8
    • 205 x 8
    • 205 x 8
  • Leg Press
    • 225 x 15
    • 315 x 12
    • 405 x 10
    • 225 x 12
  • Leg Extensions
    • 55 x 11
    • 55 x 12
    • 55 x 12
  • Leg Curls
    • 25 x 17
    • 25 x 12
    • 25 x 11

2016-05-02 training log

I’m having fun, and I think I may just stay the course.

So today continues the trend of things just getting better. Progress continues, slow, but progress. I mean, when you hit a couple more reps than last week, that’s progress. I’m quite happy with all of this, and it’s starting to influence my thinking.

First, I think I’m done worrying about fat loss. After almost 2 years of it, I’ve had enough: mentally, physically and even emotionally. I’m under a lot of stress at work, and frankly lifting is a huge source of stress relief and happiness. But of course, it too is a stress on the body — but one I’m happy to have. So I need to take measures to allow it to work, so eating more and getting more sleep are really helping out. Thing is, while the past some months on the cut didn’t really amount to much on the scale, they amounted to a lot in the mirror. I look a lot better PLUS I can look at things like how I need to buy a new — smaller — belt. So sure, the scale showed little progress, but everything else showed progress. Am I totally where I want to be in terms of fat loss? No, but I think I need some serious break before I head down that road again. I want to get my strength back, I want to get my muscle back, I want to have some fun.

And lifting as I have the past some weeks has been tons of fun for me. I just set up what I wanted to do, and I’m doing it. I’m making progress both in size and strength, so gee… life’s good.

My debate has been to follow some more rigid programs, like going back to 5/3/1, but today I started to think that I won’t do that — at least not yet. That what I’m doing right now is making progress: I’m getting bigger, I’m getting stronger, everything’s doing well, so why mess with it? I’m kinda enjoying the hypertrophy focus and seeing it pay off, and again I’m having a lot of fun.

Will I change it up a bit? I’m thinking so. I’m thinking I’ll probably stick with what I’m doing right now for another few weeks, take a deload, then come back with a similar but varied program. For example, instead of incline BB and flat DB pressing, switch to flat BB and incline DB, y’know? Stick with that about 6 weeks or so, then see from there what I’d like to do. That might call for something like a Strong-15 short cycle just to eek out a little strength work. Who knows… again I’m just enjoying things right now and so long as I’m seeing progress, great.

I’m just having a lot of fun, and the thought of adopting a rigid program right now isn’t flying with me: maybe that’s why I’ve been unable to decide what to do. I’m having fun, I’m making progress so why mess with it?

  • Incline BB Press
    • bar x 10
    • 115 x 5
    • 135 x 4
    • 155 x 3
    • 185 x 2
    • 205 x 1
    • 155 x 14
    • 155 x 7
  • DB Bench Press
    • 50e x 10
    • 50e x 10
    • 50e x 10
    • 50e x 10
    • 50e x 9
  • Machine Flies
    • 80 x 12
    • 80 x 12
    • 80 x 12
  • Seated DB Press
    • 40e x 10
    • 40e x 10
    • 40e x 9
    • 40e x 8
  • DB Lat Raises
    • 20e x 12
    • 20e x 10
    • 20e x 10, then a drop set, and partial burns