A more effective tool

Technology is a wonderful thing, especially when it advances. If we go back to early man, he did things with his hands but eventually came to realize the limits of what his hands could do. But through daily living he came to discover implements could overcome the limits. He might have discovered pounding with a stick was more effective at breaking something open. He may have then discovered a rock was more effective. Tie the rock to the stick, and now with that additional leverage you’ve got an even more effective tool. And so on.

We don’t write on animal skins, or cave walls, or clay tablets. No, we’ve gone through the printing press, typewriters, and now we have iPad’s from which to publish our blogs on the Internet. Advances in technology generally bring about better things and a higher quality of life.

So when it comes to life, we’ve also managed to come up with better ways to protect ours. Again, the stick and the rock. Eventually you might find that a sling helps you better throw the rock. Metals and metalwork were discovered and through bronze and iron and eventually steel we came up with better means to hunt and protect ourselves and our state. Of course, gunpowder changed the entire landscape.

And as any technology evolves, eventually that which was replaced does fade away. Oh sure, it’s still around usually for historical or educational reasons, but practically speaking we don’t send clay tablets by pony express any more. Heck, even the US Postal Service is fading away. We no longer arm our armies with bows and swords because more effective tools have been developed. Technology progresses.

We carry firearms because, so far, nothing better has come along to replace them. We have yet to invent a better tool for the job. All we’ve been doing for the past few hundred years with firearms is refining and improving, but the general concepts remain the same. Still, folks try to find more effective tools.

Such as a taser.

The reality is, a taser isn’t that effective of a tool. Case in point:

A crazed knifeman was shot up to four times by armed police officers after Taser stun guns failed to incapacitate him.

The man, aged in his 20s, was fighting for his life in hospital last night after receiving  multiple gunshot wounds.

He was injured as he brandished a large knife or sword at a group of officers.

[…]

Local officers were the first to arrive at the scene but they  were forced to retreat and  call in armed colleagues when the man threatened them with a weapon.

Police followed the man and another confrontation took place in a neighbouring street, during which a 50,000-volt stun gun was discharged and shots fired.

First they tried nothing — because they had nothing — so all they could do was retreat. They were fortunate to be able to call in reinforcements… with guns. They didn’t call in for police with knives, no, they wanted a better tool. They wanted a better means to end the situation as quickly as possible with as minimal harm and impact to the neighborhood and citizens as possible. A gun.

But they tried a taser, and it didn’t work. So they had to go to something stronger, something more effective.

A taser has a place, but not for private citizens. It’s effective in police work when you have many armed friends right behind you. Tasers are good towards working to gain compliance, so that the VCA can be taken to the ground and a bevy of armed police swarm him to secure him. If the taser doesn’t work, again, there’s a bevy of armed back-up to help manage the situation.

But you, the private citizen? You don’t have backup. You don’t need to gain compliance, you need the situation to stop. You want to get away. A taser might help you here, but gee… it’s a single shot tool, it’s easy to miss under stress and pressure, it may not work, you have to get somewhat close to your attacker to use it. I just don’t see how it’s an effective tool for a private citizen.

There are more effective tools. This is why the gun has yet to be replaced.

 

Hornady Product Recall

Just got an email from Hornady about a product recall.

Hornady® Manufacturing announced the recall of seven lots of 500 S&W 300 gr. FTX® Custom™ pistol ammunition. Hornady ballisticians have determined that some cartridges from Lot numbers 3101327, 3110256, 3110683, 3110695, 3110945, 3111388, 3111885, may exhibit excessive chamber pressures. Use of this product may result in firearm damage and/or personal injury.

You can find full information on Hornady’s website.

The only smoke and thunder they have is coming out their mouth

The latest brouhaha in the gun blogger world is over a website called “Smoke and Thunder”. No, I’m not going to bother linking to it.

But I will link to some useful stories about it. Here’s Unc’s first post, Unc’s follow up, which links to Linoge’s write up, and Miguel’s too which is frankly the best if you read through all the comments.

I have no idea if they used my identity. I don’t run in the “top gun-blogger personalities” circle so probably not (tho I am protective of my “hsoi” trademark). But the whole concept of this is just bothersome.

First, they don’t understand “fair use”. I’ve found that when someone tosses around “fair use”, especially as something to hide behind, that’s demonstration they don’t understand the concept.

But let’s set aside the legal questions. Let’s just look at what they’re doing.

They’re being dicks.

Look at the postings on their own site. Look at the comments they left on Miguel’s site. Their attitude is that if you don’t like what we’re doing, then YOU are the asshole for not allowing them to piggy-back off what you’ve built (e.g. the name, likeness, and thus reputation of folks like Oleg Volk, Tam, Breda, Unc, Caleb Giddings, and so on). Their handling, their “public relations” skills really leave something to be desired.

So you have to wonder… are they just assholes? are they just stupid? Or is there something uglier going on? Who knows.

And really… who cares.

We’re feeding the troll by caring. All this bad press, it’s still press. They’re happy to get it.

So no, I don’t and won’t have any affiliation with them. The only group I tend to be prejudiced against are assholes, and I have better things to do with my life and time. Hopefully this will be the first and the last I have to say on the subject.

Tyler Kee (TTAG) visits KR Training

(argh, I hate it when WordPress eats my posts)

Tyler Kee, a writer over at The Truth About Guns, took part in a recent KR Training class.

Read his review/AAR here.

With bonus picture of a tall ugly guy.

Tyler, thank you for the kind words. It was a pleasure to have you out. You were a good student and did well. When you come back out for Defensive Pistol Skills 2, I’m sure you’ll do just fine with the pre-class pop quiz. 🙂  Just remember: slow down, get acceptable hits.

M&P Carry – first week

About a week ago I started carrying the S&W M&P9 full time.

I think everything is about as dialed in as it can be, in terms of trigger, barrel, sights, and so on. I’m ringing small steel plates at 25+ yards with carry ammo (Gold Dot 124 grain +P) and with my handloads. I didn’t have a chance to see how things are behaving on paper in terms of exact POI vs. POA and grouping, since last Saturday at KRT was pretty rainy. But really, if I’m hitting that steel “hostage target” plate at 25+ yards, things are certainly good enough. I’m still hoping to get some patterning on paper tho, just to satisfy my geeky itch.

But the bigger thing is how it’s been on my hip for the past week.

I carry inside the waistband (IWB) in a Comp-Tac MTAC holster. It’s what I carried my XD-9 in for years, so I figured it was the easiest thing to get me started. I tried a friend’s Raven, and while I see the great benefits to the Raven, it just doesn’t work for my body. That said, the Raven is really cool for being an OWB holster that, as far as OWB holsters go, keeps it pretty tight to the body. That’s nice, and essential for concealed carry. So in this MTAC? Well, it’s the same MTAC as my XD was carried in (just a different kydex shell), and I am finding the M&P is carrying tighter to my body. That’s great for concealment, with the M&P concealing slightly better for me. But it’s a little more difficult on the draw, in terms of getting my thumb between the gun and my torso so I can get a grip to draw. I can do it, it’s just a bit of a tighter fit and I need to ensure a leftward lean to make space. No big deal, it’s what I do anyways, just have to continue to get used to the new feel.

Also, there was a burr on the M&P. On the polymer frame around the top of the beavertail area (and really, around the whole top of the frame but the beavertail was most noticeable) was a seam… a burr… something from where the mold parts probably came together during manufacturing. Well, while it was a tiny burr, against my side it was horrible. I wear up against my skin, so that constantly rubbing on me was going to rub me raw. I took a Scotch-Brite pad, because it was about the finest “sandpaper” I had on hand, and just spent a little time “polishing” up the top of the beavertail area, to smooth it out and remove the burr. Ah… much better.

All in all, it’s feeling fine. It actually feels a little nicer on my hip, I think due to how much closer it holds to my body. And while the beavertail makes a point that juts up, it doesn’t dig into me at all. Oh sure, it’s not 100% comfortable, but carry rarely is… as someone said, a gun is supposed to be comforting, not comfortable.

One thing I have noticed in shooting it… she seems to get a lot dirtier than my XD did. Same ammo, more crud to deal with. Not entirely sure why, or if I’m just having false perception here. But that’s how it seems.

When gripping the gun for one-handed shooting, my thumb wants to be right atop the magazine release. I’m not sure if this is going to be a problem, with an unwanted magazine release. So far it hasn’t happened, but my M&P experience is still young.

On reloading well… the giant “foot” of the magazine basepad is huge. I’m getting used to it, but it just feels so big, out there, and unnecessary. I’m used to my index finger resting up the front of the magazine when doing a reload; now it’s just a basepad in my palm and my finger tip touching the top of the magazine — the finger forming the hypotenuse with the magazine and the basepad. My understanding is the foot is there to help removing the magazine, but I haven’t seen nor felt it come into play. Maybe I just haven’t hit the right circumstance yet.

I do want to do more shooting with it. Hopefully one of these weekends at KRT I’ll have a little more free time and can run some drills.

But all in all, it’s carrying well, shooting well, and I’m adjusting to it just fine.

Another day, another (muddy) class

Just returned home from another day at KR Training. Today was a single class, Defensive Pistol Skills 1.

I want to start by giving a pat on the back to all the students for attending. Last night we had some wicked storms roll across Texas dumping 2-3″ or more of rain. Some minor flooding, many stock tanks are overflowing their banks. It makes it tough to drive, and a soggy situation for a class. But class was held despite all the rain and muddy conditions. Why? Because life isn’t always ideal. You can’t ask that mugger to come back when it’s 75° and sunny, so it’s good to practice in less than ideal conditions. So a big pat on the back for all the students for being troopers today…especially when the mud was flying as bullets impacted the muddy backstop. 🙂

Today’s class really demonstrated the value of dry fire. Because of the rainy conditions, we modified the class a bit to work on some skills dry in the classroom. This enabled students to focus on the fundamental skills and not get too caught up nor overwhelmed by a lot of other factors. Plus since there’s no BANG occurring, there’s no flinching, you can learn proper trigger press, you don’t have to reload and thus can work the trigger many many many more times. There’s no question the students all shot better and progressed faster because of the dry work.

Another reason to work dry? You can do things you can’t otherwise do. For example, the last “close quarters” drill we do? Good luck finding a range that will allow you to do that drill. But you can work on that skill dry at home. No, it’s not 100% the same, but it’s better than never practicing the skill at all. Everything we did in class today you can do dry to work on those skills: draw, present, trigger prep, follow through, trigger reset, clearing concealment garments, reloading, moving, one-handed shooting, running the 3 Seconds or Less drill. All can and should be done dry.

Besides… with the rains like it is, many ranges are going to be closed due to conditions (e.g. Austin Rifle Club will probably be flooded since it’s located in a floodplain). Dry work to the rescue!

Otherwise, the usual set of comments apply:

  • Slow down. Yes speed matters, but only if you can accomplish what you’re trying to accomplish. No one cares about the first person to get a wrong answer. Spraying and praying, smoking and hoping? It’s only leads to unacceptable hits. Right now you are learning, so slow down. Do it correctly. Slow it down, do it right. The more you do it correctly, the better off you’ll be. Then as it becomes second nature, you will go faster, and be correct and faster. Slow down. Be correct.
  • Don’t be married to your equipment. Gun, holster, magazine pouches, whatever. Your gear will affect your skill and abilities. Good gear will help you, bad gear will hinder you. I’m sure some of you in the class with less than optimum gear choices may have seen how, under these circumstances, that gear just isn’t going to fly. I also hope that you’ll be looking for better gear. Here’s the guide to gun selection. If you have other questions about gear, never hesitate to contact us.
  • Small guns are hard to shoot. That’s the trade-off for getting a smaller size. However, most people don’t need guns as small as they think they do. Or at least look at it this way: small guns are advanced guns. You are better served by getting a full-sized gun and learning to shoot it well. Build up your skills, lay the solid foundation. When you’re really good with the big gun, then you can start to toy with the small gun. Or, you may find that you don’t really need a small gun. Most people who can conceal a Glock 26 can conceal a Glock 19 just as easily. Circumstances vary from person to person, of course, but most people can conceal a G19 fine and will shoot it a lot better than a G26.
  • Complex guns are hard to shoot. Guns with decockers. Guns with double-action/single-action trigger pulls. Guns with all manners of switches and levers. One person had a gun with 3 very similar levers all in a row on the left-side of the gun (I think it was a Taurus): one for takedown, one for slide-lock, one for manual thumb safety… a maze of twisty little levers, all alike. I carried a Springfield XD for years, but I too am starting to agree that the grip safety is just unnecessary. Sure the 1911 design is one thing, but did the XD really need to engineer it in? One person with an XD today drew with a poor grip on his gun and the safety could have missed being depressed and then the gun no workie. Putting on my engineer hat, things should be as simple as they need to be, but no simpler. DA/SA trigger pulls? fails that test. Decocker? fails that test. Thumb safety on non-1911 style guns? fails that test. Why complicate things? You have enough to do already.
  • And as I wrote above, dry practice is your friend!

Another good class. Another good group of students…. muddy students, but good students. 🙂

Updated: Tyler Kee was a student in this class and wrote up his experience.

You’re surrounded by felons

When discussing the notion of law-abiding citizens carrying guns in public, a common refrain from those against the notion goes something like “I don’t want those people around me and my children.” They find it scary and horrible that such people would exist and dare go out in public and mingle. The belief tends to be that those people are dangerous and will kill me for sneezing in their general direction.

Nothing could be further from the truth.

People who have concealed weapon/handgun permits/licenses tend to be more law-abiding than most. Click here to read the facts about what owning a gun and a CHL says about a person. To own a gun, to get a license, you have to go through so much. Then to keep it, you have to go through even more. By nature, you must be a law-abiding person.

So how does the logic hold that a CHL-holder is dangerous and ready to kill you for your parking space? I’ll grant, there are exceptions, but the exception does not prove the rule.

But what’s worse about this is those same people don’t seem to acknowledge what they are certainly surrounded by: felons. Violent felons. Yes, as you walk around the grocery store, as you stroll down the street… do you realize who is mingling among you?

Paul Markel spent 17 years as an Ohio State Certified Peace Officer.  Recently he wrote an article that presented a solid point: (h/t The Shooting Wire)

I spent 17 years as an Ohio State Certified Peace Officer.  During my time spent with a badge I frequently encountered criminals, bad guys who I had previously arrested, in the aisles of the local grocery or big box store.  My wife learned early on in our marriage that if I pointed someone out during a shopping trip we needed to move to another area of the store.  The last thing I wanted to do was encounter some maggot I’d arrested a month earlier while my family was present.

For the naïve in the audience; no, the bad guys don’t go to jail and stay there after the police catch and arrest them.  Vermin arrested for vicious felonies will bail out of jail and spend months on the street before ever going to trial.  Even if they are convicted our broken justice system sees them back on the street much sooner than most citizens would imagine.

What’s my point in all this?   It’s simple, every time you leave your home and go out in public you are brushing elbows with felons.   You just don’t know it.

Chew on that for a moment. Have you ever looked at one of those sex offender registries where you can plug in an address and it shows you all the registered sex offenders in the area? Of course you’ll plug in your home address and likely discover you’re surrounded. Shopping for a new place to live, you plug in every address of every house/apartment you look at, and they’re all surrounded.

Yes folks, you are surrounded by people who have done bad things.

You just haven’t met them yet.

And when the time comes for you to meet them, how are you going to respond? Certainly it depends how they introduce themselves to you. But assuming it’s not with a smile and a handshake, how will you respond? Do you truly believe fighting back isn’t worth it? Are you truly going to passively submit to them? to let them have their way with you… with your wife… your daughter…. Really?

Give Mr. Markel’s article a read. Long ago, I was in that camp. Then I realized how the logic of that camp really doesn’t hold up when faced with the (ugly) realities of life.

Some strategy is better than none

Here’s an article discussing self-defense strategies for students on college campuses. (h/t The Gun Wire)

The strategies discussed in the article, on the whole, are reasonable for the circumstance and situation. They discuss keeping yourself out of trouble or possible trouble situations in the first place. For example, parking close to a facility, and if when parking you know you’ll be returning after dark to ensure to park in a well-lit area. To carry your purse or backpack in front of you to act as a distraction to help you escape from an attacker (throw it at them). They also talk about planning ahead, such as studying the campus map to know proper walkways, and where the emergency/911 callboxes are located.

I also liked some campus-specific reminders, such as keeping your door locked when you’re inside. I recall from my college days how everyone was very trusting and left doors open or unlocked. This lead to a lot of undesired behavior, from things being stolen, to drunk students walking into wrong rooms, to female students receiving unwanted visitors.

Taking steps to keep yourself out of trouble in the first place, to think ahead, plan ahead, be proactive with your safety, this is all good stuff.

Even when the article talks about when an attack is imminent, they give some handy insights. Of course, it’s a brief news article so they really can’t go into details. But this is the time when things like SouthNarc’s “Managing Unknown Contacts” (MUC) or Insights Training Center’s “Street and Vehicle Tactics” would come in very handy.

And of course, the article ends talking about an actual attack.

* If an attacker grabs and tries to escort you to a car or secluded area, begin screaming for help and use a weapon of opportunity (pens, pencils, books, purses, etc.) to starting hitting the attacker in vital areas (Head , neck, throat, groin).

* Most attackers are looking for victims not willing to fight, so have the mindset that no matter what happens you will fight the attacker off using whatever tool you have (hands, feet, or weapons of opportunity). Make a quick assessment: do they want you, or what you have?

All colleges acknowledge such things can and do happen on their campus; if they didn’t, they wouldn’t have to even talk about these safety and self-defense measures. So they know people get attacked. Yet, most colleges refuse to allow students the means and mechanisms to better defend themselves. Pepper spray is good, but there are better tools available… so long as law-abiding citizens aren’t denied.

Someday….

But in the meantime, do what you can to stay safe and be prepared.