2013-05-22 training log

Unhappy shoulder.

Wendler 5/3/1 program, cycle 20, week 1

  • Work Set – Bench Press (working max: 240#)
    • 2x5x45 (warmup)
    • 1x5x95
    • 1x5x120
    • 1x3x145
    • 1x5x160 (work)
    • 1x5x180
    • 1x7x205
  • Assistance – DB Incline Press
    • 5 x 10 x 40
  • Assistance – DB Rows
    • 2 x 25 x 45
  • 100 rep work – JM Presses, BB Curls

Sometime during my warmups my left shoulder felt funny, like bad funny. Nerve? I felt weak all up and down my left arm, and things just didn’t feel right. I still managed to hit 7 reps @ 205, but it just didn’t feel right. Plus I think because of that I compensated by moving in a different plane and angles. It was rather evident when I did the inclines, so I stopped short on everything else this week because I didn’t want to risk any problems.

Haven’t done incline anything since I started lifting again a couple years ago. I had no idea what angle, what weight to use… so I put it at a 45 degree angle and tried 40’s. That wasn’t too bad, tho it’s kind awkward getting the weight into position (probably worse due to the shoulder issue). 40’s weren’t bad, I think I’ll go 45 and that’ll probably be enough for a while. Since I haven’t done inclines I need to find my right groove and do things like ensure I don’t flare my elbows, which was all to easy to want to do.

Apart from the shoulder tho (which feels much better as I write this), it felt good. I’m getting a better groove with foot placement, tuck/arch, and technique. So here’s hoping this cycle progresses well.

2013-05-20 training log

So I learned a few things.

Wendler 5/3/1 program, cycle 20, week 1

  • Work Set – Squat (working max: 305#)
    • 2x5x45 (warmup)
    • 1x5x125
    • 1x5x155
    • 1x3x185
    • 1x5x200 (work)
    • 1x5x230
    • 1x5x265
  • Assistance – Pause Squat
    • 3 x 5 x 200
  • Assistance – Pulldown Abs (kneeling)
    • 4 x 25 x 110

Since I’m doing the same weights as last cycle, the intent is to get rep PR’s this cycle. On paper, I’m not off to a good start because I got 6 @ 265 last cycle. But this was an intentional choice. Yesterday I attended a workshop that had us outside in 90º+ heat, windy, and lots of physical activity. And it wasn’t just moving around, but a lot of hitting each other with fists, shoulders, and training implements. So my right side, especially my quads and adductors, are bruised and beaten. Plus, I’m just a little drained from yesterday. I actually didn’t want to go to the gym, and just wasn’t feeling it, so I told myself to get prescribed reps and call it good. When I got under the bar for the last work set, I actually was very fired up and wanted to keep going but I reminded myself to stick with the plan. It’s more important I build up to get that rep PR on the 5/3/1 week, not this week. Let myself recover.

And I must admit, I wanted to save a little for the pause squats, since I didn’t know what that would hold for me. I’m following Paul Carter’s suggestions, which essentially takes the first work-set weight and does it for 5 reps on 5 week, 5 on 3 week, and 3 on 5/3/1 week. How long did I pause? About 2-3 seconds. I didn’t really measure, but I made sure I got down and it was very evident there was a pause. And it’s here I learned a few things.

I’ve been focusing a lot on upper back tightness. It was evident I was NOT tight because I’d keep cuing myself and tightening back up –which shows how tight I was not! I worked on this throughout the squats, but something hit me during paused squats because there it was holding the tightness throughout the movement and really driving the head back into the bar when coming out of the hole.

It was about arm spacing.

I’ve tried to bring my hands in closer, but my elbows don’t like it. So I’m a little further out, it’s comfortable, but I realized that in fact is what’s keeping me from getting tight. No, I don’t think tightness should come from squishing your hands as close to your ears as possible, because that’s not necessarily tight; that’s just squished. Instead, I realized that when I get my lats tight, my traps tight, and everything tight, there’s just a natural place my hands fall. It’s about… oh… 1-2 fingers inside the rings (for me). Something about there. And when my hands are in that position, yes it bugs my elbows a bit, but boy I can sure keep everything tight. Pushing my hands wider, I just cannot be tight due to the mechanics of things.

I didn’t realize this until the last couple sets of the pause squats, but yeah… light bulb. 🙂

Ab work… standing pulldown abs kills my elbows even more. So I went back to kneeling, but it just doesn’t stress my abs as much as the standing ones. I think I’ll just alternate depending how my elbows feel. Who knows, might even combine it some time to get the most for my abs and the least for my elbows.

Mixing lead and iron – improving grip for shooting sports

Guns. Lifting weight. Lead. Iron. Both heavy metals. Both topics for me, but rarely do I mix them.

Ed, this post is for you. 🙂

After last Saturday’s class, Ed and I (we carpooled) stopped at the Bastrop Buc-Ee’s for gas and some food. Ed asked me about ways to improve his grip.

“Deadlift”.

Not really going to work for Ed. 🙂  But truly, that’s what has helped me so much in my grip. When you’re holding 365# in the air, you better have a good grip. Other things have helped too, like hammer curls, and just ensuring I grip/squeeze when I’m lifting and don’t just let my fingertips barely hold on.

What it comes down to is: if you want to get good at something, you have to do that something. If you want to get good at boxing, you have to get in the ring and box. Certainly tho, you can do boxing-like things to help your boxing. For example, jog/run medium distances to bring up your endurance so you can go 12 rounds, but sprints won’t contribute a whole lot to your ring performance. So if you want to get better at gripping, you have to grip things.

That said, grip isn’t a simple thing. There’s crushing, there’s pinching, and there’s holding (supporting). There are fingers, there’s your thumb, there’s forearm muscles that work in various directions. There’s really a lot in here, but to keep the discussion focused, I’m going to look at gripping a handgun and possible ways to improve your grip on your gun to help with recoil management.

No, I’m not an expert here, nor is this any sort of training program. I’m just thinking aloud based on my knowledge and experience.

When you’re gripping a gun, you’re doing so because you need to shoot it. When you shoot it, there will be recoil. You cannot stop recoil, only manage it. There are numerous ways to help manage that recoil, and I’m going to focus on one: your grip.

I’ve read many ways about how to grip the gun. There’s the Weaver Stance with it’s push-pull dynamics. Brian Enos talks about squeezing the grip itself but with neutral “directional forces” (if you will) so the gun isn’t being pushed or pulled in any direction. Tom Givens said something to the effect of the strong/trigger hand gives a “front-to-back” squeeze and the weak/support hand gives a “left-to-right” squeeze, thus together it’s a strong “box” of inward pressure. Massad Ayoob refers to the “crush grip” where you squeeze so hard until you start shaking then back off just to the point where you stop shaking. When we teach out at KR Training, Karl Rehn came up with a nice analogy of “Homer choking Bart“.

While everyone has a different way of approaching it, it really boils down to you need to grip and grip hard.

Trouble is, when you grip hard, you can’t grip for long. Muscles will get tired, and when they get tired, your grip is going to loosen. Given this, what it tells me is two things need to be focused on for improving grip for shooting handguns: 1. strength, 2. endurance.

Note, I’m setting aside other grip issues and problems. For example, if your hands get sweaty, that’s going to make it harder to grip things. You’ll have to find some other way to manage that, but one way? Grip even harder. 🙂  Point being, there are other problems one can have with their grip, like sweaty hands or gun fit issues, and those are outside the scope of this writing.

Ed mentioned to me he was working on it by taking a ball and squeezing it. I think that’s a good approach, but after a while it won’t be enough. The problem? After a while, it’s no challenge to you. You can squeeze it to death, you can hold it until you stop from boredom before exhaustion. Continuing to squeeze that ball won’t allow you to progress. Ed knew I had previously mentioned the Captains of Crush grippers, but honestly? They feel like more of an assistance exercise than a primary. That is, if you want to get good at gripping a handgun, you need to grip a handgun or what most closely resembles that (since “working out” with a gun has other safety and social issues).

The CoC grippers are very good at developing crush strength. But I’ve found it’s within a particular range of motion. It’s a… clamp for lack of a better term. Using these grippers doesn’t involve my whole hand, my whole forearm, my fingertips, my pinky — because the pinky is so heavily involved in recoil management. So, I look at grippers as more “assistance work” than main work. Nevertheless, I see much benefit in using equipment like this. First, if you can close a CoC #1 or #2 gripper? you’ve got a decently strong grip. If you can close a #3? I think you’ll be find holding on to a handgun. If you can work these, you’re still going to have a very strong crush grip, which is important. Second, these CoC grippers offer progression. Frankly, this is key.

The problem with Ed’s ball is that once he’s mastered it, what do you do next? I’m sure you can find “stronger” balls to work with, but what sort of progression is there? can you measure it? can you be certain of it? With a set like the CoC’s, you can know precisely where you are, what you’re doing, and where to go next. If the “S” is easy, move to “T”, when the “T” is easy, move to “1” and so on. You can know what you’re doing, and you can certainly progress. Because if you want to get stronger, you have to keep working with greater resistance.

But don’t think with the grippers that you have to work on crushing the #3. How about getting the “S” model and holding it closed for 30 seconds? That’s the second part: endurance. When you shoot, you don’t draw and shoot 1, you’ll be shooting more. Take a class and how much are you shooting? If you’re shooting an IPSC or IDPA match, how long does the stage last? No, you don’t need to hold on for 5 minutes, but 10 seconds isn’t uncommon, maybe up to 20. In fact, you might consider it broken apart. Maybe you shoot for 5 seconds, run to the next position, shoot for another 5 seconds, run to the next, another 5, and so on. Maybe you could crush the gripper all the way closed, hold for 5, release for 2-3 seconds, crush and hold for 5, etc..  That is, work to replicate the conditions you’ll be shooting under. If that gets easy, move up to the next gripper.

There are also these things called the IronMind EGG. There’s lots of similar products. But here the point remains that there’s different models for different levels of resistance, and it provides more of an overall crush feel in your hands — fingertips are going to get involved. Crush it — Homer choking Bart — and hold for 20 seconds. Do this over and over. Build up the crush strength, build up the endurance. I think products like these can provide a more “handgun-grip-like” setup and thus could work better as a “primary exercise”. There are also foam grippers on the market that are more rectangular in shape, perhaps with finger grooves. That’s very similar in size and shape to a double-stack striker-fired handgun’s grip — grip it like the gun.

(Note: I’m not a shill for IronMind or CoC… just like their CoC grippers; never held their EGG product).

I will say tho, I think the biggest part of improving your grip while shooting is the mental aspect.

You just have to make the mental effort to focus on your grip.

When you are working with grippers or crush balls, you have to grip hard… then grip harder…. and harder. You are going to get tired. Muscles are going to want to relax. You must tell yourself to grip harder. You must make your muscles grip harder. It’s a mental thing. We will lose our grip without even thinking about it, so if instead you can train yourself to progressively grip harder, the hopeful end result is a maintenance of a steady grip, not a slowly loosening one. This will require you to be mentally engaged in the grip work, not just mindless crushing.

Next time you go to the range? Don’t work on drills, don’t work on your accuracy, or your speed. Work on your grip. Pick some drills like a Bill Drill. Don’t worry about the target or your speed or whatever so much (of course, do be safe, do ensure all rounds impact the backstop, etc.), just focus on your grip and crushing the hell out of the gun the whole time. Experiment with different grip strengths: maybe you crush the unholy hell out of it, maybe you back off 10%. What if you crush like hell with your support hand but have just a “good grip” with your strong/trigger hand. Does how hard you grip with your trigger-hand affect the movement of your trigger finger? Make a whole range session out of playing with your grip and focusing solely upon that topic.

When you dry fire? Do not forget to have Homer choke Bart. It’s very easy to slack on your grip when you dry fire because you know there’s no recoil. I catch myself doing this all the time. You have to make the mental effort to remind yourself to grip hard when dry firing.

After you learn a few things at the range, reassess the grip workout you do. Maybe you found “this much grip” worked, so crush the ball with that much force and hold it. Maybe you need a stronger ball or gripper. It’s going to be an iterative process.

Finally, don’t expect grip improvements overnight. Actually, you may well improve some after the “focus on your grip” range session, because now you’ve thought about it, became aware of it, and will be more cognizant of your grip when shooting. On the same token, don’t be surprised if you regress! I found as my grip strength improved, I wasn’t necessarily aware of it. That is, in my mind I was still gripping the same as I always had, but on an absolute scale I was gripping harder. Ever watch what happens to your front sight when you change how much you crush grip the gun? the sight moves. I had to readjust some other things to bring things back in line. Don’t use the changes as an excuse to back off on your grip: it’s just a way to help you find other weak points to make stronger. 🙂

And yes, you have to make a routine of this. Work on it every day. Doesn’t have to be much, maybe 10 minutes a day. Make it a constant thing. Keep a log of your work so you can see your progress.

It also don’t have to be true “exercising” of your grip. When you hold onto something, anything during your day, don’t just weakly hold it or let it roll to the end of your fingertips. Grip it. Hold it. Own it. When you feel your grip loosening, tighten up. When you feel your muscles getting tired, hang on for another 15 seconds. Again, change your mental approach to grip.

The better we can manage recoil, the better we can shoot. You don’t need awesome grip strength to defend yourself, but the more you can grip, the better you’ll be able to rack the slide, shoot longer and faster strings, and manage through classes and practice. It’s more useful to be strong than weak, so hopefully the above has given you a few ideas about how you can make your grip stronger. It won’t happen overnight, but persistence will pay off.

 

2013-05-17 training log

Huzzah… deload week is done. 🙂

Wendler 5/3/1 program, cycle 19, week 4

  • Work Set – Press (working max: ??#)
    • 2x5x45 (warmup)
    • 2x5x65
    • 2x5x80
    • 2x5x95
  • Assistance – Press
    • 5 x 10 x 80
  • 100 rep work – Lat Pulldowns, Front plate raise, Rope Triceps Pressdowns, Hammer Curls

All I can say is, deload week is done. Next cycle is going to be interesting because yeah… sticking with the same weights, need to get rep PR’s… else, a reset is in the cards.

Sleep more. Eat more. Lift more.

2013-05-15 training log

There’s a funny story here….

Wendler 5/3/1 program, cycle 19, week 4

  • Work Set – Deadlift (working max: 385#)
    • 2x5x155
    • 2x5x195
    • 2x5x235
  • Assistance – Hyperextensions
    • 3 x 12 x BW
  • Assistance – Side Bends
    • 2 x 25 x 40
  • Foam Rolling

It’s deload week. Didn’t do much.

Funny story tho.

Household laundry is behind. I went looking for workout clothing… found no clean, had to dig something out of the dirty clothes hamper, which wound up being damp due to being under wet towels. *sigh* Also, found no socks, so I wore dress socks.

I was annoyed, but tried to not get too mad about it.

As I walked to the gym in my damp clothing… the sky suddenly opened up. Rain came pouring down. My clothing became a lot more damp!

Someone’s trying to remind me to keep perspective on things. 🙂

And the long dress socks were alright. Covered my shins a lot more; good for deadlifting.

2013-05-13 training log

Pause squats will be interesting.

Wendler 5/3/1 program, cycle 19, week 4

  • Work Set – Squat (working max: 305#)
    • 2x5x45 (warmup)
    • 2x5x120
    • 2x5x155
    • 2x5x185
    • 1x5x185 (paused)
  • Work Set – Bench Press (working max: 240#)
    • 2x5x45 (warmup)
    • 2x5x95
    • 2x5x120
    • 2x5x145
  • Assistance – DB Rows
    • 2 x 25 x 45
  • Assistance – Pulldown Abs (standing)
    • 3 x 15 x 60
  • 100 rep work – JM Presses, Face Pulls

It’s deload week, so nothing much to say. Just get in, do a little work, get blood flowing, don’t put anything too hard, and go home.

I did want to try out pause squats tho, since I’ll be adding them in next cycle. My question has been: how much to do? What’s the right weight? What’s right number of sets/reps? People have been down this road, so why not learn from their wisdom and experience, right?

Found this post (well, comment) from Paul Carter:

(“Tiny David” asked):

Quick Question. How would you incorporate pause squatting into a 5-3-1 template?

I’ll run “boring but big” for a few more cycles so I was thinking-
Squat 5-3-1
Squat 5×10
Pause squats (light, but not sure reps and sets?)

Or Do some pause squats on my deadlift day?

Thoughts?

(Paul’s reply):

I wouldn’t do pause squats for 10. Ever. 5 at the most. They really zap you and you have to hold your breathe in the bottom.

If you’re already doing the BBB template, I wouldn’t add more squatting to that. I’d run 531 and do pause squats after with what you used on your first set.

So on the 5 week use 65%x 5

On the 3 week use 70% x 5

On the 531 week use 75% x 3

that’s how I would do it.

So there we go. I saw a lot of Cube Method folks would do a similar thing, but maybe 3 sets of 10. One thing Paul’s reply doesn’t make clear is the number of sets, but from a subsequent comment he made, I get the feeling that 5 sets is where to go. But I could be wrong. My approach will be to strive for at least 3 sets, ideally go for 5, but if I have to work up to 5 then I do because I’d rather do 3 strong sets than 5 half-assed ones, y’know?

Thus today after my last normal set, I left the 185 on the bar and did 1 pause set of 5. My pause? Seems that’s another variable people will manipulate, but if the main point of pause squats is to lose momentum and the stretch reflex out of the hole, then I figured well… go down until I settle in, lose momentum, stay for a “still” moment, then come back up. So that was what? 2-3 seconds? That’s fine. I’m not going to count, just ensure I have come full stop, wait a sec, then back up. And I can tell with the 185 that this is going to be fun. 🙂

2013-05-10 training log

PR fail… because a tie isn’t quite a win. 😦

Wendler 5/3/1 program, cycle 19, week 3

  • Work Set – Press (working max: 160#)
    • 2x5x45 (warmup)
    • 1x5x65
    • 1x5x80
    • 1x3x95
    • 1x5x120 (work)
    • 1x3x140
    • 1x3x155 (PR-tie)
  • Assistance – Press
    • 5 x 10 x 80
  • Assistance – Lat pulldowns (pronated grip)
    • 1 x 100/25 x 50/60
  • 100 rep work – Front plate raise, Rope Triceps Pressdowns, Hammer Curls

Changing my setup for deadlift is helping. But Press still alludes me because I continue to have the “get light-headed” issue. *sigh* That’s what played in here. I unracked, forced to take a breath, got out of sync with my breathing, paused too much at the bottoms, and well, things didn’t play out right. I tried to go for 4, tried to even push-press it out, but no go. So I tied my existing PR for Press, which is better than regressing, but still disappointing.

I ripped the assistance pressing hard, and then opted to go for 100 reps on everything else. Started too light on the lat pulldowns and 100 didn’t feel all that much… did 25 more with 60#. Still didn’t feel like much… but about 30 seconds after I stopped oh, I felt it. 🙂 Not against pullups, but no way I’ll get 100 reps doing pullups. Just felt like trying 100 pulldowns today.

Anyways… the upshot of this cycle? Again, every 5/3/1 session was a PR attempt, which is a situation I haven’t experienced in a long time. I did set (or here tie) PR’s, but the only one I felt good about was the deadlift (which I’ve always been pretty good at). I thought about what I should do next cycle…. is this a hint to reset? I’m not sure yet. I think it’s worthwhile for me to forge ahead. In part yes, it’s some ego and goal “blindness” because I’m really gunning for some particular milestones before the end of 2013 and I may well not hit them if I reset. But I also wonder… could it just have been a bad day? No question the bench press fail was a “bad day” and not fully indicative of things. Plus if I do reset, I have determined I won’t just do something simple like drop 20# or “fall back 3 cycles” or something like that. I will take whatever my last 5/3/1 success was, consider that my “true max” (because if it’s less than 5 reps, it probably is indicative enough… or at worst it makes me go lighter than I need to, and that’s not a bad thing), and fully recalucate based upon that. Point is, we figure out the max, then it’s up by 5 or 10# each cycle, which may not strictly follow the math. So then like today I only got 3 @ 155… but note that all the original numbers were calculated on a 5RM. No, I’d calc it based on the true numbers… which yes, will drop me lower, and while that’s probably good for me in general, it doesn’t help my goals.

So my plan for now? Keep weights the same on Press, Squat, and Bench Press, go for rep PR’s. If they are satisfactory, forge ahead. If they are not, then I’ll consider a reset.

2013-05-08 training log

That’s more like it.

Wendler 5/3/1 program, cycle 19, week 3

  • Work Set – Deadlift (working max: 385#)
    • 1x5x155 (warmup)
    • 1x5x195
    • 1x3x235
    • 1x5x290 (work)
    • 1x3x330
    • 1x4x370 (PR)
  • Assistance – Hyperextensions
    • 4 x 12/12/12/10 x WT
  • Assistance – Side Bends
    • 2 x 25 x 40
  • Foam Rolling… a lot of it

This is more like it. Solid PR of 370 for 4. The pull felt very good. I worked on a different setup. Instead of worrying about keeping my head clear of “not lifting” during the whole time, I just let my mind go where it did, tho I never let it get too deep into something that might take me down some rabbit hole. But then when it was time to lift, I set up, and just took a moment to really focus. That thing I see a lot of deadlifters do, with the arms straight out in front, then into the lift? Yeah, I tried it… I don’t know why they do it and really it doesn’t matter to me because the act of doing it helped me put my head where it needed to be. So instead of all this constant energy on a clear head, it was just intense energy on “the clear moment, right now” for the lift.

Made a big difference.

But the 4 took enough out of me, so I opted to do hypers instead, then the side bends. But I tell you, after all the hypers then 2 sets of side bends? my lower back was crying. That was all it was going to be. But that’s fine. 50 reps (per side) I can live with today.

And then yes… tons of foam rolling. 🙂

2013-05-06 training log

I may have PR’d, but it was less than satisfying.

Wendler 5/3/1 program, cycle 19, week 3

  • Work Set – Bench Press (working max: 240#)
    • 2x5x45 (warmup)
    • 1x5x95
    • 1x5x120
    • 1x3x145
    • 1x5x180 (work)
    • 1x3x210
    • 1x1x230 (PR)
  • Assistance – Bench Press
    • 5 x 10/10/10/10/10-5-4 x 135
  • Assistance – DB Rows
    • 4 x 25 x 40
  • 100 rep work – JM Presses, Face Pulls
  • Foam Rolling

Sure, technically it’s a PR, but I’m not happy with it. I missed what I wanted. I wanted at least 3.

Why didn’t it happen? 2 things, both with my head: 1 mental, 1 physical.

Mental – I’ve got some heavy shit weighing on my mind. It’s dominated my thoughts the past some days and has me very unhappy and stressed. Try as I might to clear my head of it, it’s just so dominating that I couldn’t be fully in the moment of the lift.

Physical – I have this problem from time to time where I get under the bar, I inhale and tense up to lift off, and my head swims. That happened. I felt it coming so I didn’t lift off, waited a few, breathed a bit more, then tried again, but even then my head was too far gone. As soon as the bar descended, I could tell things were not good. It was … uh… not so much a physical struggle in terms of say arm and chest muscles to get it up there, and not a mental struggle in terms of mind… but a “physical head” struggle because my head was physically swimming. After I got the 1 rep, my body felt like it could do more, easily. But my head said no way, that if I tried another rep it’d be dangerous. So I racked it and relegated myself to staying at this weight for the next cycle and going for a rep PR. Oh well.

I’m not happy with it, but it’s how it goes. It does show the power of the head and mind in lifting.

2013-05-03 training log

295 – PR. But 300 will have to wait.

Wendler 5/3/1 program, cycle 19, week 3

  • Work Set – Squat (working max: 305#)
    • 2x5x45 (warmup)
    • 1x5x125
    • 1x5x155
    • 1x3x185
    • 1x5x230 (work)
    • 1x3x265
    • 1x2x295 (PR)
  • Assistance – Squat
    • 3 x 10 x 135
  • Assistance – Pulldown Abs
    • 4 x 25 x 60
  • Foam Rolling

All time personal record: 295# squat. Huzzah. Only got 2 reps out of it tho. Went down for #3, then I got stapled and coming up didn’t happen. Dumped the bar. No big deal.

And really to me, that’s more what mattered — that it was no big deal.

Again, I don’t love squat (OK maybe just a little now), and while I don’t hate it any more, there’s still stuff to overcome. I cannot deny that the 295# intimidated me, tho it also excited me because it’s almost 300# and that’s a cool milestone (and it meand 3 wheels isn’t too far away either). I still had some fear about what would happen if I couldn’t do it… what if I couldn’t do it… and that sort of FUD. But the first time I got stapled and dumped the bar, it broke through that barrier. So today wasn’t a big deal. I would do it or I wouldn’t, and if I didn’t, whatever… you move on.

I mean…

Brandon Lilly just benched 500# again

I was seriously more nervous before this bench than any other lift I can remember in my life. I was so worried about “what if”? Then I kinda stepped back and realized I could be hurt doing anything… So then I got really excited about being “back”. I laid down, and as soon as the bar was in my hand any worry, or doubt left me. I just wanted to smash it, and I feel like I moved the weight pretty well. It wasn’t 100% but I now know I can do it, and I’m only going up from here.

Eric Lilliebridge just totalled 2182.5# at the UPA Nationals:

and look at his 3rd squat (@ 3:21) and bench press (@ 6:20) attempts. He went for it, but missed. Did the fear of missing stop him? or was his motivated to be awesome and just accepts that missing happens but you keep going?

In a comment on that video, someone asked Eric why his competition deadlift went up only 26# over 4 years. Eric’s response:

A PR is PR, by 10 pounds or 1 pound. Doesn’t matter to me as long as I’m making progress. No one got strong over night. This shit takes years.

And then there’s CT Fletcher, about giving your all:

And that’s what I told myself today. Just give it your all. CT tried 700# bench press, missed, but he knew he gave it his all.

So today… that’s what I did. I did my best to put all the bullshit of work and life out of my head, and just lift. Put on some Slayer, and squat.

And so I only got 2 reps. I still hit a PR, and the only thing it means is I will NOT increase my weight next cycle but will stay here and push for rep PR’s. I also think I will stop the 20 rep squat assistance work and instead try pause squats because while I dig what 20 rep squats are doing, I want to see if pause squats will more directly address my needs.

Yes. Listened to Slayer the whole time.

R.I.P. Jeff Hanneman