Smart guns aren’t so smart

Tam is usually full of snark, but this was a surprisingly snark-free and reason-filled posting from her (not that her postings aren’t reason-filled, just usually a healthy dose of snark goes with it). Anyway, here’s her posting about smart guns. The choice quote:

But if you look at a firearm as a piece of emergency equipment, then Authorized User technology is a no-go. A cop’s partner may need to use her gun; my roommate may need to use mine. It needs to work right the first time, every time. It cannot malfunction or, if it does so, it must “fail-dangerous“, in such a way as to leave me the ability to use the gun to defend myself, even if the Authorized User function no longer works.

Look at it this way: Would you put fingerprint recognition sensors on a fire extinguisher? How about a biometric sensor on a reserve parachute? No, you wouldn’t, because it needs to be as easy as possible for anybody to operate, even under duress and in harsh environmental conditions.

Cops and military don’t want this technology because they know the dangers of it. So why should we allow it or even force it upon the rest of the citizenry? It won’t stop bad guys from doing bad things, only good people from doing good. Why do this? And please don’t tell me it’s for the children.

Alternative workout clothing

When you have your workout, you probably have some sort of designated workout gear. Maybe it’s a t-shirt and sweatpants or shorts. Maybe it’s a dobok/gi. Whatever it is, we usually work out in such clothing because it’s purpose-built for the activity. Maybe there’s a formal uniform aspect. There’s strength of fibers (e.g. if you grapple and throw you don’t need the gear to rip). It should be roomy and comfortable so it doesn’t bind or constrict but not so loose as to flap around. It should wick away sweat. All sorts of things that help make for an ideal workout.

If your workout is for practicing self-defense, what are the chances you’ll be wearing that ideal workout gear during an attack? I’d say next to zero.

From time to time your workout should be performed in your normal street clothing. Consider what you wear on a normal basis and wear that, then work out. Maybe you wear a suit 90% of the time, so work out in a suit. If you don’t want to ruin your expensive good suits, try to find a “beater” suit at a store somewhere, something that’s inexpensive and you can sweat in, but again it should be representative of your daily wear. From time to time, switch to some other clothing. I usually wear jeans and a t-shirt or a button-down shirt, untucked. But sometimes I have to tuck in, so that makes a difference. Sometimes I wear shorts. Sometimes I wear a suit. Try these all out. The point is, get used to moving in that clothing so it doesn’t feel strange.

Another good reason for doing this? Find out if your wardrobe is a help or a hindrance. Maybe those pants are too tight and you cannot kick. Maybe the suit jacket is cut wrong and it’s tough to throw punches. Maybe the clothing and/or your carry location inhibits a good draw of your concealed handgun. There may also be advantages. Maybe you’ll discover that jacket conceals things better. Maybe you’ll learn that belt is a handy makeshift restraint. These are all things worth figuring out.

When you mix up your workout routine, try mixing up the attire as well. Make sure everything you’ve got works for you.

Why does anyone need one of those?

This is something that’s been rolling around in my head for a while, but after this, I figure it’s time to move some electrons.

The catalyst is a comment in an opinion piece by Robert F. Green at the Fallbrook Bonsall Village News titled “Gun ownership has brought lawnessness”. I’m focusing on this passage from Mr. Green’s article:

Single-shot rifles and shotguns for bona-fide hunting is okay, but handguns, assault weapons and the like are a no-no! Come on, America, let’s grow up! This is not cowboys and Indians.

What caused the following thoughts to begin rolling around in my head was a comment made by a relative. This relative is no stranger to guns, a hunter. A few weekends ago Wife attended a large gathering of family (I regretfully was unable to attend). My understanding is a discussion came up between the relative and another at the gathering, Wife overheard something to the effect of “I don’t understand why anyone needs one of those” referring to your modern rifles with black plastic parts. Wife kept her mouth shut because it wasn’t a conversation she wanted to get into. Wife told me about it afterwards and it stuck in my craw ever since. You see, I own some of “those” and I’d like to explain a few things about them and why I choose to own them… or rather, why someone would want and/or need one of those.

Continue reading

Hoplophobes and National Parks

Since the “credit card bill” was signed into law, that meant the amendment allowing concealed carry in national parks also became law. As expected, the hoplophobes are out in force. Courtesy of The Volokh Conspiracy, we get a piece in the New York Times presenting various opinions on the matter.

Why do I want concealed carry in national parks (well, I’d like it everywhere I’m allowed to go, but let’s keep this discussion on national parks)? Because there is no magical line or barrier that keeps evil folks out of certain places. The only thing that, until this law was passed, that kept concealed guns out of national parks was law — and only law abiding folks obeyed it; criminals, by definition, still toted their concealed guns and always presented a danger to you. Just because you were unaware of this doesn’t mean it’s not true. While national parks are filled with beauty, they are also filled with other things: criminals. From marijuana growers to meth labs, to rapists and assaults, to illegal aliens crossing the border and not wanting to get caught, these things are very much alive and well in national parks. National parks aren’t just the small little areas that visitors tend to frequent, but hundreds or thousands of acres of “unimproved” land, all to easy for illegal activity to occur and for those undertaking it to want to keep it that way. Hiking through the back-country, the last thing you want to stumble upon is some meth lab and the cookers wanting to ensure you don’t tell anyone what you found. We also can’t forget that large animals exist, and while attacks are rare they are not out of the question. Being able to carry  your .44 magnum revolver or a 10mm Glock is like most any gun carrying: you hope and want to never need it, but if the time comes that you need it you’ll be thankful that you have it be the predator 2-legged or 4-legged.

So they say this will increase poaching. How so? Fact is poaching occurs as it is. It’s terrible, it’s already illegal. In fact, in many places poaching is a felony. Guess what? If you’re a felon, you cannot legally own guns and that certainly means you must give up your concealed handgun license. If you want to keep your license, you’re not going to poach. Most if not all people that get their licenses wish to keep them. Data shows that folks with concealed carry licenses are more law abiding than your average citizen. Law says no poaching, concealed carry folks won’t be poaching.

The streets park hiking paths will flow with blood. This was trotted out years ago, and in the many years we’ve had licensed concealed carry in this country it just has not happened. Again, folks that go through the trouble of getting a concealed handgun license are also very interested in keeping it. Take a look at what it takes to get a license and consequently what it takes to keep it. We’re not out looking for blood and to settle any score. We’re only out to preserve our life should someone decide to endanger it. If you’re a good person, then you have nothing to worry about because we’re good people too.

Folks, all the things you’re afraid of already happen. There are already laws on the books prohibiting that behavior. Allowing law-abiding citizens to go about their business will not make things worse. In fact, the intent is to make things better. Now that guy cooking meth or sneaking over the border, he’s going to have to think twice about shooting you because after 22 February 2010 he’s going to know that you just might shoot back.

Not to get into caliber wars but….

Over at Kellene’s Women of Caliber blog, “Jim p” comments on Kellene’s opinion regarding the selecting of a handgun.

Earlier today, “Jim p” made similar comments on my blog regarding my preference for 9 mm.

I started to reply to “Jim p” on Kellene’s blog, but the reply was getting long enough that I thought it warranted a better venue for the reply. Jim wrote:

I saw in your blog something that did bother me about selection of a firearm for a woman,it listed everything other than caliber,then it went on to say it really dosent matter if its 9mm etc as long as your the last one standing,thats a nice thought,But in all reality very hopefull and foolish,Generaly if some drug crazed rapist is coming after you say in a parking garage,A 9mm will not do,thats why most police ,military use a 40 cal or more,Surviveing multiple 9mm gunshots is very common as long as a major organ is not destroyed,then it depends on the organ,Chances are unless you hit a critical area with a 9mm round as this drug crazed guy is running at you and your struggleing to arm yourself and shoot him is going to be very hard,so if you do get off one or two rounds that happen to strike this creep ,you want him to stop and drop,Not continue on,a 9mm may allow you to wound him and get enough time to get away ,but in many instances since the criminal is hyped up on a stimulant etc he will keep coming after you and over power you ,Id sugguest at least a 40 caliber if not a compact 45 caliber handgun and plenty of pratice useing it,get a heavy barrel model if you can like my S&W model 65,357 magnum has ,if you can find one as that will also help tame the recoil and muzzle jump so you can nail that SOB with one shot one kill.when your life depends on something dont go cheap,and get the best thing to do the job regaurdless of cost ,or you may not be around after the attack.

Jim, are you trying to say that shot placement matters with a 9 but not a .40 or a .45? So I could shoot a drug-crazed rapist in the foot with a .45 and he’ll stop? If that sounds asinine, it’s supposed to, but I’m just following the implications of what you wrote. Perhaps you need to clarify?

As I replied to you previously, all handgun calibers are weak and they all suck equally. Yes caliber matters somewhat, but ultimately it’s about shot placement. Take a look at this FBI report. NB: it contains autopsy photos and is graphic, may not be for the weak-of-stomach, but it’s a very important lesson. Some things to note:

  • 107 rounds of .40 S&W and .223 TAP were fired
  • the criminal was hit 17 times 
  • incident lasted 3.5 minutes

While we might dream of one-shot-stops, it’s just that – a dream. Great if it comes true, but you shouldn’t bank on it. Your comments imply that you need at least a caliber that starts with a “4”, and as a result you’ll get the uber stopping power. Well, that police shootout seemed to fire a lot of .40 S&W and even after 17 hits the guy didn’t go down. Why? If you look at the X-rays and photos you’ll see there were no shots into vital areas. Shot placement is key.  Note as well that 107 rounds fired, 17 found their home: 16% hit ratio, from trained cops. Apparently this guy was hiding under a car, so I can expect misses, but even your LAPD with their high rate of training doesn’t hit 100%. Trying to bank on 1-shot-one-kill is a dream; a great mentality for training, yes, but reality doesn’t always lend to that. This is one reason I like capacity, and 9mm tends to give you more capacity. Then consider that bad guys rarely travel alone, and the math increases exponentially. Note, you can have low capacity with a 9 (e.g. a compact Kahr) and you can have good capacity with a .45 (e.g. XD-45 full-sized); but if all other things about the gun are equal, the simple fact that a 9 case is smaller than a .45 case means you’ll fit more 9’s into the same space than you would a .45.

You also must realize that Kellene’s blog is oriented towards women. Women can certainly shoot big calibers and hard kicking guns, but a lot of women prefer not to. Or we can just look at the biological, anatomical, and evolutionary differences that there tends to be between men and women and gosh but if women just aren’t generally as strong and sturdy as men are. I’ve been through enough classes introducing beginners — including women — to shooting, and not a one of them cares for the snappy kick of a .40 S&W. Most prefer 9mm and many do quite well with a good .45 (such as a full-sized 1911, which is great too because it can be customized to get exact gun fit for smaller hands). But the reality is if shot placement matters, if you’re going to have to shoot the attacker more than once, then recoil management matters and the faster you can get back on the sights and get another well-placed shot off the better. 

So as I said before, if you can handle .40 S&W the best, then go for it. If you can take an ultralight snubby and fire .357 magnum loads from it and dump all 5-6 rounds into a paper-plate-sized target at 10 yards in 2 seconds, great. There is no one recipe for all people and all situations. If there was, then we’d only have one gun and one caliber, but we don’t and there’s good reason for that. If you can carry and proficiently shoot a .45, great, do that. But not everyone can, wants to, or even some are willing to say that yes I can shoot that great, but I can shoot something else even better.

Of course, I bet if you can handle those calibers with more recoil, I’ll bet you could do better with a round with less recoil. Ah caliber wars…. the thing the Internet was made for. 🙂

In the end, I think we’re ultimately in agreement: don’t go cheap, get the best thing for the job. If the best you can shoot is a .22 LR, then get that (maybe you’re eldery, arthritic, weak, and damnit that .22 revolver is the best you can do). If the best you can shoot is a .50 AE, I guess go for it. But don’t stop at just the gun, make sure you get training on how to use it well and practice!

Updated: Because we all like numbers, here’s some performance data on 9mm Parabellum and .45 ACP. Just looking at the numbers, .45 ACP may have a tiny edge. But how does tiny edge on paper translate into real world performance? And I’m not talking about how the round performs in a bad guy vs. ballistics gel, I’m talking tactics. If you can get more and faster hits from a 9, that’s arguably better tactics than fewer slower hits.

PSH du jour

PSH – Pants Shittin’ Hysterics.

Today’s episode, courtesy of “Gun Free Kids” (h/t to SayUncle). I’ve written about these folks before, and this new move is taking it to ridiculous extremes.

Today the Texas state senate passed dangerous legislation that would force the carrying of hidden and concealed guns at public universities and colleges. 

Forced? Huh? No one is being forced to carry a gun at public universities of colleges. It’s unwise to lead off your press release with factual errors, but why let that get in the way of your hysterics?

The bill threatens the safety of students, professors, and staff and increases the risks of gun violence on college campuses by making weapons more readily available.

Exactly how is the risk of gun violence increased? I asked you before for concrete facts, but once again, let’s not let facts in the way of emotional hysterics.

Of course they talk about how this is the will of the gun lobby. No, it’s actually the will of the Texas citizenry. Imagine that.

Folks, this same sort of PSH was trotted out years ago when concealed carry was first brought onto the scene. The OK corral shootouts didn’t occur, the streets didn’t flow with the blood of people solving every disagreement with a gun. The data has shown that concealed carry has served to decrease violent crime.

But again… let’s not let facts and data and logical thinking get in the way of our hysterics.

As well, this group is called “Gun Free Kids”. What are they doing talking about colleges? Apart from an exceptional child here and there, students, faculty, and staff at colleges are all adults.. at least, last time I checked. Or is this perhaps a metaphor, that they believe we can’t care for ourselves and they are mommy that knows best? Who knows.