Delayed stimulus

So the stimulus package has been delayed. I guess better than premature stimulus.

The new version includes help for victims of the recession in the form of unemployment benefits, food stamps, health coverage and more. It would also provide billions for states that face the prospect of making deep cuts in their own programs.

It also preserves President Barack Obama’s tax break for millions of lower and middle income taxpayers.

Ah, help for the victims. And who gets to pay for all of this? Me (at least in part).

Anyone going to give me a break?

Anyone going to give me a handout?

Anyone going to take care of my mortgage? My bills? Feed my children? Put gas in my car? Keep my lights on?

I guess I’m not a victim.

It’s an interesting thing. When something is worth spending your money on, people willingly spend their money on it. When something isn’t worth two shits, people don’t spend their money on it. So what’s the solution if your two shits aren’t getting funding? Why use the force of law to get funding! And so government grows, more money is taken from We The People, and We The People rightly get pissed off.

I donate money to charitable causes. I volunteer my time. If I was able to keep more of my own money, I’d had more to give to worthwhile causes. If I didn’t have to take on additional employment, I’d have more time to volunteer. You’d think those liberals with all their compassion would understand that, but apparently they don’t know how to give unless they’re giving someone else’s money away or forcing you to volunteer. And then of course, you have no personal investment in any of it, so you aren’t that responsible with it. One mess leads to a bigger mess.

 

Stimulated Pork

So looky what was slipped into the “stimulus” package.

So we take one more step towards socialized medicine. One step away from you being able to control your own health and well-being.

Y’know it’s odd. So many of these same people that scream for socialized medicine are the same people that scream about keeping abortion legal. They demand how it’s their body and they should be allowed to do what they want with it. Well, I agree with that. So tell me how government-controlled medicine is going to let you do what you want with your body, or perhaps more important, to give your body what it needs. Go on, I’m waiting. I’m really curious to know how increased regulations and control by an external party over my life and my body equates to greater freedom.

I also liked this part of the article:

Daschle says health-care reform “will not be pain free.” Seniors should be more accepting of the conditions that come with age instead of treating them. That means the elderly will bear the brunt.

Tom Daschle is 61 years old. I hope he’s been accepting of the conditions that are coming with his advancing age, and not treating them. No no, not even Advil as that’s a treatment. I’d like to think Daschle would be one to lead by example, but if we followed his example there’d be no tax revenue to fund this boondoggle.

 

Updated: Anthony G. Martin chimes in with his take on the matter.

Preach on Uncle Ted

Uncle Ted on why gun sales are up.

FTFA:

Our founding fathers supported an individual’s right to own guns. Unlike Obama and Holder, those vanguards of freedom understood that life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness can not be achieved without being able to protect yourself and your loved ones from human scum who would deny you your fundamental God-given rights.

What our new president and his attorney general obviously want is control. Studying other gun-grabbing regimes of the past, they know the first thing that needs to be done to turn us from citizens to subjects is to disarm us. 

Legislative Alert from TSRA

I received an alert from TSRA last night and was going to write this up myself, but JR over at A Keyboard and a .45 beat me to it. 

I’m happy that Senator Jeff Wentworth is my State Senator. 🙂

Their rights were violated???

From this morning’s Washington Times, 16 illegals sue an Arizona rancher.

So we have 16 people, crossing illegally into the United States. We have a man that’s sick of his property being used as a “highway” for illegal border crossings, which results in things like massive amounts of trash all over his property, drug smuggling, damage to his property, death of his cattle, and risk to he and his family (and anyone rightfully on the property) because often those illegally on his land are armed. And this man is the one that gets sued?

Something’s rather bass-ackwards here folks.

Now, the Libertarian in me does struggle with this. On the one hand, you want open borders and to allow people to freely travel. But on the other, we’ve got individual property rights to maintain. This article by Per Bylund sums up the issue rather well. But while we work out the philosophical issues, for now the law is what it is. What has Roger Barnett done that was illegal? What have those 16 people done that was illegal? Let’s see… hurt feelings vs. breaking the law. The civil rights of these 16 were violated? Hell, they’re not even citizens of this country! Is there no consideration for the civil rights of Mr. Barnett being violated? The property rights of Mr. Barnett being violated? The law of the United States being violated?

I need a new tag, “flabbergasted”.

Tao Te Ching #75

When taxes are too high, people go hungry.
When government is too intrusive, people lose their spirit
Act for the people’s benefit. Trust them; leave them alone.

Translation by Stephen Mitchell

Ancient wisdom, that still holds true today.