2016-08-22 training log

They can’t all be good days.

Today wasn’t bad, but it wasn’t the greatest either.

Squatting started out OK, but when I put the 250 on my back, it felt like a ton. Coming out of rep 5, I truly lost balance and took a step forward to regain it. When I got to 8 I just racked it. I probably could have ground out 2 more reps, but why? Things just weren’t going well, it felt so heavy. I was over the required reps so… meh.

Why exactly? Hard to say. I did go see Alice Cooper last night, so I only got a few hours of sleep, and that may be part of it. I also didn’t eat many carbs over the weekend (apart from a couple Miller Lite’s at the show), because I have been bulking too fast and frankly I want to see if I can regress a little in weight.

Whatever tho… it’s what it is. I plan on resting as much as I can today and seeing how the rest of the week goes.

Apart from that tho, the session went fine. I was kinda expecting the deadlifts to peed out as well, but they went pretty strong. So, it was what it was.

5/3/1 Simplest Strength Template

  • Squats
    • bar x whatever
    • 120 x 5
    • 150 x 5
    • 175 x 3
    • 190 x 5
    • 220 x 5
    • 250 x 8
  • Straight-leg Deadlift
    • 160 x 10
    • 190 x 10
    • 220 x 10
  • Leg Curls
    • 30 x 20
    • 30 x 20
    • 30 x 14
  • Hyperextensions
    • BW x 17
    • BW x 17
    • BW x 15
  • Crunches
    • BW x 20
    • BW x 17
    • BW x 13
  • Standing Calf Raises
    • 50 x 20
    • 50 x 15
    • 50 x 13

2016-08-19 training log

Another day, another PR. But the good wasn’t without some bad.

Press has been the hardest movement for me to progress on, but I am making progress. I hit 150 for 8 reps today, which is a 8RM PR. And with a lifetime 1RM of 165, I feel pretty confident I could exceed that right now. So I’m getting stronger, which makes me happy (positive progress towards my goals). It’s also interesting for me to reflect on how during my big defatting project, I lost a lot of strength in my squat and deadlift, but only a little in my pressing (bench or overhead). And my pressing strength has come back faster. Not entirely sure what to attribute it to, but here we are.

I think that I may be finding a better setup approach. So that whole dizzy/light-headed thing while pressing, I tried it again today that just before I unrack the bar I take a mostly-full breath and go from there. I also found if I exhale on the press (after about halfway up), that helped a lot too. Breathe at the top, and kinda just let my body do what it needs to do — instead of pure Valsalva, allow myself to breathe as I press. For sure this is helping. I still think I can refine it, e.g. maybe I take a full breath but let it out as I press. Because for certain, the less-than-full-breath doesn’t allow me to start off as strong as I need to. But I’ll take a little less strong over passing out. 🙂 Anyways, this is a good sign so far, but I’ll have to keep playing with it.

As for the bad….

Something in my back is hurting. I can’t say exactly what, but it seems my Teres Major or thereabouts. It happens when I do pull-ups (or chin-ups, whatever). That first set, that first rep, it just hurts. After I do a few, after I get warm, no real issues. But it remains pretty sore. It was pretty bad today, so much that I only did like 3 reps per set and even dropped the last set entirely. I also cut my back work in half, just something to get a little work, a little pump/blood in the area, but not to stress anything.

I am pretty sure the problem is because I hit it with the pull-ups pretty cold. That’s 200+ lb. to suddenly pull, and it just has grown to hate it. I say this because it’s always on the first rep, first set, and over the sets things feel better.

What to do about it? I’m not sure.

My current thinking is next week no pull-ups at all — just do more band pull-aparts (to keep with a pulling movement between each set of pressing; and that doesn’t really stress the teres major much). Just give things a rest. See how I feel at the end of next week. If I need it, do this rest/deload on it another week. Just take it as it comes.

But then when I get back to it, my thinking is that I want to try a way of warming-up to it. It’s hard to do warm-ups with bodyweight like that. So my thinkinng is to do the same movement in pulldown form. So like if I’m doing pull-ups, take that same overhand grip, hands same distance apart. During my main movement sets, warm up, maybe pyramiding up — like first set is 100×10, then second is 120×10, third is 140×10 or something. Start light, ease into it, but work up to a little heavier to get used to that. Then during my big-assistance pressing, do actual pull-ups. I’d be curious to see if that might help me — a warm-up into it.

If that doesn’t do it then well, I’ll assess with that new information and go from there. Who knows. I may just have to drop “ups” for a while until things feel better, and do other back work instead.

Anyways, happy for the PR, and will be seeing how things go for my back.

Oh — and the music choice today was spinning the new Metallica track, “Hardwired”, like 10 times in a row. I’m digging it.

5/3/1 Simplest Strength Template

  • Press
    • bar x whatever
    • 65 x 5 (warmup sets superset with band pull-aparts)
    • 80 x 5
    • 95 x 3
    • 120 x 5 (work sets superset with pull-ups)
    • 135 x 3
    • 150 x 8 (8RM PR)
  • Close-Grip Bench Press
    • 140 x 5 (sets superset with pull-ups)
    • 160 x 5
    • 185 x 5
  • V-Bar Pulldowns
    • 110 x 10
    • 110 x 10
    • 110 x 10
  • Face Pulls
    • 90 x 10
    • 90 x 10
    • 90 x 10
  • Lying Triceps Extensions (superset with curls)
    • 60 x 20
    • 60 x 18
    • 60 x 14
  • Close-grip EZ-bar Curls
    • 55 x 20
    • 55 x 18
    • 55 x 12

2016-08-18 training log

A PR a day is just… fun. 🙂

I think that’s one reason I’ve enjoyed switching back to 5/3/1 – there’s no question setting PR’s (rep PR’s whatever) is motivating and just fun. I haven’t had this much fun lifting in some time.

So deadlifting went well. Main thing I had to focus on for myself was mixed grip. I’ve been forgetting to go mixed grip, which has actually been cool because I’ve been doing well with double-overhand. But I knew it’d be a bit of a stretch today, so I made sure on my first work set to go mixed to get myself used to it again. The only problem I had was about 2/3 of the way through the top set I had to take a moment to reset the grip because of how skin was getting folded up in my palms/fingers. Otherwise, things went well.

And so setting a 10RM PR was quite nice.

Front squats also went well. I continue to work on their technique too, trying to “lean backwards” — not really, but it’s a cue towards helping me keep my torso as vertical as possible, that on the descent I drop down instead of back, etc. Really get what you’re supposed to get out of front squats.

All in all, a good day.

5/3/1 Simplest Strength Template

  • Deadlift
    • 135 x 5
    • 170 x 5
    • 205 x 3
    • 255 x 5
    • 285 x 3
    • 320 x 10 (10RM PR)
  • Front Squat
    • 155 x 5
    • 180 x 5
    • 205 x 5
  • Elevated Glute Bridges
    • BW x 20
    • BW x 20
    • BW x 20
  • Twisting Crunches (superset with bridges)
    • BW x 20
    • BW x 20
    • BW x 20
  • Seated Calf Raises
    • 35 x 20
    • 35 x 15
    • 35 x 14

Trying to improve my sleep

Lately I’ve been struggling to sleep well.

Why exactly? I’m not sure. Could be getting older. Could be life stress. Could be something I ate. It’s probably a little of each, but whatever the reason the result is the same – I’m not sleeping very well.

However, the past few weeks I’ve seen a measurable improvement.

Naps

Napping doesn’t actually help my sleeping, but it does help my recovery. I’ve found when I get in a nap, even a 20 minute nap mid-day, ultimately I wind up sleeping better because I have a better (less cranky) attitude towards getting enough sleep (or rather, when I don’t get enough). Naps are good.

Not waking until it’s time to get up

This is a big one.

Many years ago I used to wake up with the sunrise, or rather, I woke up when I woke up. This was great and I was always rested. Then a few years ago I had to adopt a different schedule, an alarm clock was necessary. And while I don’t strictly need the alarm clock any more, I still keep it because it’s been a rhythm, especially because it keeps me going to the gym in the mornings. I find that works best for me.

And while I’m an extremely early riser, it still sucks to wake up too early. You’ve done this. You don’t need to wake up until 5 AM, but you wake up and it’s 2 AM and you can’t get back to sleep. Or worse, it’s 11:30 PM — which is extra annoying because it’s not even the next day yet! This has been the big problem plaguing me the past many months, waking up too early. Over time that means less and less sleep every night.

A few weeks ago I made a change.

I told myself “Look, you set the alarm for 4:00 AM – if the alarm hasn’t gone off, it’s not yet 4 AM, so go back to sleep”. Don’t get up, don’t look at the clock, don’t anything but just continue to lie in bed. Even if you’re awake, still lie there and rest. The alarm will go off when it’s time, and THEN you can get up and on with it.

This has made a HUGE difference. I still find myself having some sort of waking-up before the alarm goes off, but now I don’t bother with it. Recently it’s become more of like a half-sleep: I’m somewhat aware that I’ve woken up, that the alarm hasn’t yet gone off, but for sure I’m not wide awake. I have dreams, I am aware and remember them, and when the alarm goes off, THEN I get up.

For sure this has helped on two levels. First, I’m just getting more rest/sleep. Second, I’m not caring that it’s early and getting frustrated and upset about having yet another night of less sleep.

Sleep Cycle alarm clock

I saw some people talking about this app, Sleep Cycle. I talked with them about it, and thought I’d give it a try.

I’ve only been using it about a week.

Honestly, I can’t tell if it’s really monitoring my sleep, if it’s really making a proper qualitative measure of my sleep quality.

But what I do know it’s doing? It’s tracking my sleep – at least when I go to bed, and when I wake up. Looking back on the past week, that level of tracking has made me care about my hours a bit more AND be more aware of my hours.

For example, I might get in bed by 8-ish, but not really get to sleep until 9 (reading or whatever). That adds up – or rather subtracts – a substantial portion of rest. Over time, the cumulative effects are not good.

So being able to fully track this and see how much sleep I’m (not) getting at night has been a big help. The past few days I’ve found myself making more of a concerted effort to get to bed AND to sleep sooner. Couple that with waiting for the alarm clock, and the past couple nights have been some of the best nights I’ve had in a long time.

In fact, last night apparently there were huge thunderstorms, woke everyone in the house up, but I had no idea. I’m the only one that woke up refreshed. 🙂

I’ll take that.

So anyways, it’s still early. I have no idea if this Sleep Cycle app will help, but so far it seems useful (and I love all the data and graphs) so I’ll keep at it for now. And I certainly will keep with staying “asleep” until the alarm goes off. Throw in a little nap every now and again, and I hope to be back on track soon.

2016-08-16 training log

Today just felt good, on many levels. 🙂

First, 10 good reps with 225. Well, 9 good reps and on 10 form started to break down, so I racked it. Racked it anyways because the 10-rep threshold. But whatever. That’s a great PR for me on bench press. After logging it in RepCount I checked stats and it said my 1RM calculates to 300#. I know that’s not true, but it was kinda cool to see “300”. As well, for comparison against prior bench sessions for sure it’s progress — hell, that’s obvious just hitting 10 reps at 225 (a 10RM PR)! What I do believe tho is that my lifetime 1RM PR of 255? That I’m pretty sure right now I could exceed that number.

I was also really happy because technique was pretty darn solid today. Heck, unracking the bar a few times and the bar felt lighter than the prior set. Leg drive was good, chest positioning, everything was just “on” today. That felt good.

Everything else just chugged along well. No complaints.

One thought I have had is that next cycle I might swap out shrugs. I’m making good progress with this particular program, so I really see no reason to change it much. If anything, changes are minor things like trying to not create or aggravate problems (e.g. elbow pain, so I ditched chin-ups and do pull-ups instead), or trying to ensure “well-roundedness” (e.g. added in a bit of calf work, despite calves not being addressed in the original SST). In this case, I’d like to get my shoulders a little more work, so I’m thinking about swapping shrugs out and upright rows in (I get good anterior and posterior work, so this is to add a little medial; again, well-roundedness). But a particular flavor of upright rows. Some time ago I read something from Mike Israetel about dumbbell upright rows. I’ve always done upright rows with a barbell, and I’ve wanted to try out a DB-variation. As well, I’d like to try really light weights and have the form be very shoulder-only. Usually with the BB the row is truly a row, getting all the arm into the mix (I’ll get a good biceps pump). Well, I want to try just moving the shoulder and upper arm, with the arm muscles only involved to hold onto the dumbbell. And I think DB will be better here than BB because it should give a freer range of motion. In the past this exercise has hit my traps and medial delts (and biceps) pretty well, so I’d like to try this variation and see what it does for me.

Anyways, great way to start the day!

5/3/1 Simplest Strength Template

  • Bench Press
    • bar x whatever
    • 95 x 5 (warmup sets superset with band pull-aparts)
    • 120 x 5
    • 145 x 3
    • 180 x 5 (work sets superset with neutral-grip pull-ups)
    • 205 x 3
    • 225 x 10 (10RM PR)
  • Incline Press
    • 140 x 5 (sets superset with neutral-grip pull-ups)
    • 160 x 5
    • 185 x 5
  • Cable Rows
    • 110 x 20
    • 110 x 16
    • 110 x 12
  • Shrugs
    • 215 x 20
    • 215 x 18
    • 215 x 14
  • V-bar pressdowns (superset with curls)
    • 55 x 20
    • 55 x 20
    • 55 x 14
  • Hammer Curls (alternate, across body)
    • 25e x 20
    • 25e x 20
    • 25e x 12

2016-08-15 training log

Well, running “10s” had to end at some point. 🙂

I didn’t hit the 10-rep threshold on my top-set of squats today — only got 8. Still, I’m good with this.

First, running 10’s had to end sooner or later.

Second, 8 is still quite good. I mean, it’s programmed for 1+, so anything after 1 is gravy.

Third, comparing things out, I’m still making progress, still moving forward. So really, this is what matters most.

Fourth, I may have actually been able to hit 10, but I wouldn’t have been happy with the 10. After rep 6 I started to feel technique slipping. I would have a lean forward out of the hole — not getting my chest up, not “driving my head back”. And it wasn’t just once because it happens, but I could tell on rep 8 that it was happening because I was starting to tire. I know I could have cranked out a 9 and maybe a 10, but it would have been sloppy. What’s the point? So I racked it. Leave a little in the tank, especially when form is definitively breaking down.

I’m good with it all.

5/3/1 Simplest Strength Template

  • Squats
    • bar x whatever
    • 115 x 5
    • 140 x 5
    • 170 x 3
    • 215 x 5
    • 240 x 3
    • 270 x 8 (8RM PR)
  • Straight-leg Deadlift
    • 200 x 5
    • 230 x 5
    • 260 x 5
  • Leg Curls
    • 30 x 20
    • 30 x 18
    • 30 x 12
  • Hyperextensions (superset with crunches)
    • BW x 15
    • BW x 15
    • BW x 15
  • Crunches
    • BW x 20
    • BW x 15
    • BW x 12
  • Standing Calf Raises
    • 50 x 18
    • 50 x 15
    • 50 x 13

2016-08-12 training log

Progress is good. Press is always a tough one for me — especially after last night seeing footage of Andranik Karapetyan at the Rio 2016 Olympics. Horrific, and I hope he’ll be OK. But boy… trying to keep that image out of your mind while you’re Pressing is tough.

The biggest thing for me is continuing to find a way to make my setup work so I don’t pass out. It’s just a weird thing with breath for me. I tried full breath, unrack, exhale a little bit, and in a way it worked but it really didn’t because it was too much loss of tension in the “rack” position thus starting off less than optimally. Today I tried the opposite, about a 90% inhale before unracking, which is enough to get tight, chest upwards, lats out, etc., but still a little room for some from oxygen. Well, while in the rack position, I just couldn’t get that last little inhale. I kept going and it actually seemed to work — I didn’t feel the dizzy. However, my body didn’t like it. It’s natural for the body to want to take a “big breath” before such exertion, and I’m cutting that short. So it felt odd, my body wanted to fight me. But it actually does seem like it could be promising. So I’m just going to have to keep playing with it.

Only other thing of note is on face-pulls, lowering the weight. When I start off with face pulls, I pick a weight that seems about right, but after a couple sessions I adjust. Face pulls aren’t some max-effort movement, but rather I want it to really be about just contracting the muscles of the upper back and shoulder — minimizing involvement of my arms, and that it’s really just my back muscles “reverse flying” my upper arms out. So usually I end up lowering the weight some to help me really get into feeling it and doing that. Always works out for the better.

Next week — 5/3/1 week. Huzzah! And yes, planning on doing 6-week cycle so it’ll be right into the next one.

5/3/1 Simplest Strength Template

  • Press
    • bar x whatever
    • 65 x 5 (warmup sets superset with band pull-aparts)
    • 80 x 5
    • 95 x 3
    • 110 x 3 (work sets superset with pull-ups)
    • 125 x 3
    • 140 x 10 (10RM PR)
  • Close-Grip Bench Press
    • 130 x 8 (sets superset with pull-ups)
    • 150 x 8
    • 170 x 6
  • V-Bar Pulldowns
    • 110 x 20
    • 110 x 16
    • 110 x 11
  • Face Pulls
    • 90 x 20
    • 90 x 15
    • 90 x 13
  • Lying Triceps Extensions (superset with curls)
    • 60 x 20
    • 60 x 17
    • 60 x 12
  • Close-grip EZ-bar Curls
    • 55 x 20
    • 55 x 15
    • 55 x 12

2016-08-11 range log

In about a month I’ll be a student in the Rangemaster Advanced Instructor Course.

Time to prepare.

Really, there’s only so much you can to do prepare. I’ve been through many classes with Tom Givens, and the best thing to do is not psyche yourself out. But that said, I know there are some things I want to do to get myself ready.

First, I’ve been working on a lot of things from a competition standpoint. I need to shift to a defensive standpoint. Really in most respects it’s the same stuff, but there are some differences in how you do things, how you approach things. Plus to also remember that this is Tom’s class and to do things Tom’s way. For example, he will want “ready position” to be a low ready (whereas I normally use a high-compressed ready). So it’s just getting into that mindset.

Second, I know there will be some skills that I’ll want to brush up on as much as I can. Only so much can be done in a month, but every bit helps.

What would those be?

15-25 yard shooting.

One-handed shooting, especially weak-hand.

Of course, “everything” matters, but I’m pretty sure in terms of my weak-points, those are what I need to work on (given what I know that’s coming…).

So with that, today was about shooting from a defensive standpoint. For example, using my carry gear (IWB holster) instead of competition gear. Shooting from concealment instead of open carry. And I wanted to run a bunch of drills as diagnostics to see what’s what.

Started with the “3M Test” (my favorite). Ran it in 7.88 seconds clean. Happy with that. I did look at the draw time, splits, reload, etc. and well, for sure I’m running slower, but it was still pretty solid. I know with time and improvement I’ll break the 7-seconds barrier.

Shot “3 Seconds or Less”. While I generally run this fine, I’ve been experimenting with grip changes on my one-handed shooting, but only in dry fire. This showed me that perhaps those changes didn’t work, or will need more work before I can bank on them. I dropped almost all the one-handed shots. For the rest of the session when I had to do one-handed work I reverted back to my old technique and was fine.

Did the “Rangemaster Instructor” qual. Blew a few things from rushing (e.g. got a bad grip), but very happy with my 15 and 25 yard performance

Then came the (new/2013) FBI qual. Did fine on that, and again happy with my 15/25 yard shooting.

Then I shot a couple drills that I wasn’t planning on, but Karl wanted me to shoot because he’s going to bring them into this weekend’s AT-4 class. One was Ken Hackathorn’s “The Wizard”, which is a very simple drill but sufficiently challenging. The other is LAV’s “The Test”, which is another very simple drill but sufficiently challenging. I had no problems with either drill, but I think they will make a good addition to AT-4 this weekend.

Each of these drills I shot 1 time. They were enough to get me into a mindset, and showed me things I needed.

First, I went slower than I had been — at least when shooting. Buzzer hit and I’d still move quickly to get the gun out of the holster and, from concealment, still broke sub-1.5 second draws many times. But I did find that overall my draws were slower, my splits a little increased. Why? Well, in “gaming mode” sometimes a fast-C is better than a slow-A. But here, it’s 5 seconds (or whatever) for the string — no extra points nor penalty points for using the full 5-seconds, but for sure you lose points if you hit outside the A-Zone. So I eased off the gas pedal a bit so I could ensure A-hits.

But I need to still go a little faster. Basically not as fast as competition stuff, but I feel like I’m settling into “my old habits”. I started to speed up on some of the later COFs, and it was like a middle ground: faster than before, slower than the comp stuff. I’m good with that. I’d rather be semi-fast and have consistent A-zone hits.

Second, I still need to work on mechanics, like reloading… and not flubbing that first shot after the reload.

Third, my distance shooting is better but still needs work.

One thing I haven’t documented but that I’ve been doing is ending my sessions with some group shooting. It’s been super helpful. No time limits, just shooting 5-shot groups from whatever distance.

So well, that’s what the rest of today turned into.

I set up an IPSC target. I put a 3″ “shoot-n-see” dot in the head box (which is 6″ x 6″ square). The goal was to put everything inside the 3″ dot (or better), but for sure everything at least had to be within the 6×6 box.

I started at I think 10 or 15 yards and was sucking, so I moved in closer to 7 yards. Drilled that out just fine. So I moved back to 10. Things were a little wide, then I just kept shooting 5 shot groups until things got tight. Then I’d shoot a little more to ensure I wasn’t lucky, then move back. From 10 I went to 12.5 yards. From 12.5 I went to 15. I ended up staying at 15 for some time. I never got all 5 within the 3″ dot, but I’d get close (e.g. drop 1). Even tho it wasn’t meeting the standard, it’s HUGE improvement. I wanted to keep shooting so that I could learn “what to see”. For sure, even slight movements, slight deviations were enough to throw things off. Heck, it’s a little breezy out today, and I’d even find when the breeze picked up, it would be enough to move the gun and throw things off. Had to be patient.

When I moved back to 25 yards, I changed the goal. I put a 3″ dot in the middle of the 8″ IPDA -0 circle. The goal tho was similar: strive to group in the 3″ dot, but at least within the 8″ circle. What got me here? A few times I tried to “snatch” the shot – because you will move, there will be wobble, and trying to “snatch” the shot as the sight picture goes perfect? That’s a great way to wind up in the -3 zone…. :-\   But when I just let things happen, I actually did pretty well. I’d say never smaller than a 5″ group, but that’s a HUGE improvement over how I’ve been before at 25 yards.

And remember, when I was shooting a few of the drills earlier in the day, I’d be getting A-Zone hits at 25 yards. Probably still a “bad group” (couldn’t tell given all the other prior holes in the target), but at least I was getting in the A-Zone. So yeah, this is happy improvement for me.

I called it after this figuring to just end on the good note and the slower “Zen” moments of everything.

So, back to dry fire. What to work on there?

Continue to work on draws at 15 yards, but 1. from concealment, 2. occasionally work draws at closer distances too so I don’t get myself too locked into always needing an “ideal” sight picture.

Continue to work on reload mechanics, but again from concealment.

Focus on something like a 1″ dot but also just “blank wall” and work on trigger press mechanics and other “group shooting” and trigger-control sorts of things. Small targets, trigger presses, etc.  And even try using tiny targets like this and doing draws. Sure it might take me 2 seconds to break the shot, but fine. Just make sure it’s doing all the things right.

That should keep me busy enough for the next few weeks.

2016-08-11 training log

Another short day because of other commitments for the day. But at least this time I got up a little earlier and was able to ensure I got in my front squats!

I think the main thing of note is that I keep forgetting to go mixed-grip. I guess that’s not a bad thing tho, because grip is getting stronger for sure.

5/3/1 Simplest Strength Template

  • Deadlift
    • 135 x 5
    • 170 x 5
    • 205 x 3
    • 235 x 3
    • 270 x 3
    • 305 x 10
  • Front Squat
    • 145 x 8
    • 170 x 8
    • 190 x 6

2016-08-09 training log

A solid day, but had a precarious moment.

I knew I’d have no problem with the top set this morning, as I’ve moved heavier weight and hit the 10-rep threshold, so I knew today would be no problem. That is… until I unracked the bar.

As soon as I unracked on the last set, the bar started to slip. It was simple: sweat.

I thought my hands were pretty dry, all things considered. I say that because it’s like 110% humidity right now, and at the time I’m at the gym there’s no A/C, no ventilation, no air movement, so it’s pretty stifling in there. Plus, it’s warm, humid, and so I just sweat profusely (everything is drenched by the time I leave). Still, I dry my hands as I can, but I guess the layer of sweat built up on my palms pretty quickly. I unrack, the bar moved, YIKES! I should have racked, dried, and continued. But no… I just kept going. It went alright, got the reps, but for sure I was primarily focused on not dropping the bar so I noticed other technique slipped. Which tells me — my technique is improving, but it’s not “part of me” yet, especially in the leg-drive area. So, in the end I learned something. I’ll take that.

Also, I didn’t wrap my wrists until later on. It started intentionally, then I was in the groove of not wrapping so I forgot. And my wrists felt alright! I’ve been working on improving my posture — especially my typing — because for sure that’s been a contributor to my wrist and hand pain. I’m actually not sure I want to fully drop the wraps, but at least I might defer them to just heavier sets.

Otherwise, things went generally well. Upped the weights on some assistance work, fair progression.

I also weighed in at 230 this morning — dropping carbs is a great way to debloat yourself. 😉 Going to stick with this and see how much more I can shed. I’m still eating carbs, just not being as stupid as I have been.

5/3/1 Simplest Strength Template

  • Bench Press
    • bar x whatever
    • 95 x 5 (warmup sets superset with band pull-aparts)
    • 120 x 5
    • 145 x 3
    • 165 x 3 (work sets superset with neutral-grip pull-ups)
    • 190 x 3
    • 215 x 10
  • Incline Press
    • 130 x 8 (sets superset with neutral-grip pull-ups)
    • 150 x 8
    • 170 x 6
  • Cable Rows
    • 110 x 20
    • 110 x 15
    • 110 x 12
  • Shrugs
    • 215 x 20
    • 215 x 16
    • 215 x 12
  • V-bar pressdowns (superset with curls)
    • 45 x 20
    • 45 x 20
    • 45 x 20
  • Hammer Curls (alternate, across body)
    • 25e x 20
    • 25e x 17
    • 25e x 15