Fishing spots?

Alright local folk. I’m looking for spots to go fishing. I need your input.

1. Needs to be relatively nearby (e.g. South/Southwest Austin, but anywhere that’s not too far a drive I’ll accept).

2. Needs to be accessible and fishable from the bank. I don’t have a boat.

3. Free is best, cheap is OK. I’m hoping this could be something where I could slip off to for a couple of hours on a weekday morning every so often. So, not having to spend a lot of money is a plus. Kiddos would probably go with me too, so again low to no cost is ideal.

And of course, if you have any specific input about what sort of fish are there, what they’re biting on, any particular good techniques for that body of water, all input welcome. 🙂

Thanx.

Bought a washing machine

So with the old washing machine dying, today we went shopping to buy a new washer.

At the urging of a friend, I avoided the big box stores. Went to a couple local places and ended up buying from Depew Appliances. Not a bad place, glad I went there.

We ended up with a Maytag Series 2000 (MHWE200XW).

Why that one?

Well, first it was one of the least expensive models they had on the floor. I sunk around $2000 into that Kenmore Elite HE3t 8 years ago expecting it to last me 15-20 or more years. If things are just going to break in 5-8 years and be too costly to repair, I just don’t see the logic in sinking lot of money into this stuff. Sure, I still want to get something that will take good care of my clothes, that has the cycles/features Wife wants, and that doesn’t suck. But $1000+ on a washer? I just can’t justify that outlay. So, low price tag was a plus. BTW, this washer ended up being about the same price as the replacement tub for the HE3t… couple that with labor and the rest of the parts? I could buy a couple washers. It’s a shame that “disposable” is how it is but working in the software world I understand “upgrade revenue” because if you make a product that lasts 40 years, while people will love it today’s business world can’t support that business model any more. Pity.

Second, ConsumerReports.org rated it a “best buy” (click to see the review, if you have a subscription), and I’ve generally had good experience when I buy something they rate well. So, I’m hoping the positive trend will continue. I will say, this is one huge reason why I finally got a smartphone. The ability to have “Internet in my hands” out in the field is invaluable. I purchased my ConsumerReports.org subscription while Wife drove to the stores, then did searches and researching on models and prices while in the stores. Hooray technology! It certainly helped me narrow down the choices to what appeared to be the best buy. What reviews I could find on this model were positive. So, here’s hoping.

And of course, it had the features and things that Wife wanted. So, all good there!

I admit, the price was listed slightly lower at HomeDepot.com and a few other online places, but I still bought from Depew. Yes, after showing the sales guy that I could get it cheaper elsewhere, he did give me a price lower than on the sales tag. Still a hair higher but it was in the ballpark so, good enough. I didn’t feel like getting into a haggle-fest. It was an acceptable price, and I’m happy to help out Mom & Pop shops.

We’ll see how it works out. Hopefully it won’t suck, and if it can last at least 5 years the well…. I guess I’ll be ahead of the curve. They deliver Monday.

On zero-tolerance policies

Nat Hentoff writes a good piece about public government schools and their “zero-tolerance” policies.

Policies. All about freeing the administration from thinking. It’s really just lawsuit protection and CYA. It’s bad policy. One that goes overboard. Hentoff tells of Andrew Mikel who, because of a spitwad, is being charged with violent criminal conduct and is no longer qualified to apply to the US Naval Academy. Or of  6-year-old Zachary Christie who was so excited to join the Cub Scouts, that he wanted to use his camp utensils to eat his lunch that he brought them to school… but we cannot tolerate such behavior so he must spend 40 days in reform school.

What? Excuse me while I pick my jaw up off the floor.

What sort of lesson are you teaching children? Sit down, shut up, conform conform conform. Follow the rules, even the bad ones, even the wrong ones, because we’ll make your life even worse if you don’t. Better to hide behind a policy than think. We’ll ruin you for life for any simple mistake you make. Childhood is no longer a time to make mistakes, to learn, to tolerate and grow. No. You mess up, you’re done. This is what ‘is our children learning’. *sigh*

It’s another reason why I enjoy homeschooling our kids. My kids get in trouble when they do NOT have a pocketknife on them. Learning how to safely handle firearms is part of essential curriculum! But whatever infraction my children make, there’s no blind policy that leaves no room for understanding, no room for them to learn. Yes, we tolerate mistakes. As their parents and chief educators, we’re here to help our children learn and grow. We understand that childhood is full of more mistakes and failures than successes, because this is the early stages of learning and that’s just how it goes.

And people wonder why kids lose their childhood so quickly these days….

of tools and appliances

I was going to buy a chainsaw this weekend. But now, I’m buying a washing machine.

There’s a small tree in our front yard that needs to go. Just got the postcard from the city saying brush collection is coming up, and what with the 3-day weekend upon me I figured now was the right time to get that tree cut down. In the past I’ve borrowed chainsaws, but it’s come up enough and I’ve had enough offer from friends for firewood if I cut it myself so… time to buy a chainsaw I can call my own. STIHL appears to be the top of the heap, with something like their MS 290 Farm Boss model. But that also appears to be overkill for my needs, at least right now, so I’m thinking of instead of a Husqvarna or an Echo CS400, which should get me by for my needs and not cost me a fortune. When I end up living out in the country, I’ll get the STIHL. Either way, something greater than a 40cc engine, 16″ chain, should be enough for my needs right now.

So while I was researching chainsaws, the washing machine repairman came. We’ve been hearing this god-awful noise during the spin cycle, but not always. He wasn’t 100% sure of the exact problem, but he could tell the problem was going to involve the tub, which would have been 3-4 hours worth of labor, then parts, and he said it just wasn’t worth it for us to do it: it’d cost more to fix it than to just buy a new one. 😦  After he left, I hit Google just to find the specs on the washer (a Kenmore Elite HE3t, purchased 8 years ago), and to my shock… I found lots of people having what appears to be the same problem. YouTube videos of the same noise, of people disassembling their washer, forum postings, you name it. It all seemed to point back to the “spider”, which is this bracket on the back of the tub, failing due to corrosion. Hrm. When you see this much failure, you have to wonder about design flaw. I did see some stuff about class action lawsuits, but those tend to only serve to make the lawyer rich.

Either way tho, I’m out one washing machine. And so, the chainsaw has to go on hold (going to borrow one) and it’s time to go shopping for a washing machine. Quick searching last night seems to have good results for Samsung, and a few people I know own one and have had positive results with it. I’ve had more than enough experience with various brands to know that in some way they all suck and have problems, but I’ve never tried anything from Samsung before. People who use their stuff seem to be generally happy so, why not… it’ll be an adventure.

If you have any particular product recommendations (chainsaw or washer) post ’em now. I mean, sucks that I have to buy a new one, but it’s nice that it’s on a holiday weekend when there should be lots of sales going on.

ICE CREAM!!!!

(NSFW audio)

It may be the middle of February, but it’s still warm enough here in Central Texas for the ice cream man to come around.

I heard the jingle songs the other day but missed him. Today, as Eddie Murphy said, I heard that shit 10 blocks away. I took off running through the house and out the front door top speed after the ice cream man. Why? Because I’m a big kid and love the ice cream man. 🙂

Kiddos each got something, I got something, and even Wife picked out something for herself.

Ah. Simple joys in life like having over-priced cartoony frozen dairy treats. 🙂

What’s a Men’s Club?

Driving through town, Daughter in the front passenger seat. She’s looking at whatever’s on the side of the road as we drive. We pass a building….

Daughter: “Men’s Club?”

Me: (thinking to myself… aw crap, how am I going to explain strip joints….)

Daughter: “What do they do there? Shave?”

I laughed. I diverted her attention to something else. No, I’m not quite ready to explain that to her. 🙂

Reason #9682929 to not shop at Wal-Mart

Four Wal-Mart employees have been fired after management said they violated company policy by disarming an alleged shoplifter who had pulled a gun inside the store.

Full story.

So we have four “security” employees. They are doing their job when they observe someone shoplifting a netbook computer by detaining him. Then the criminal — who turns out to be a convicted felon — pulls a gun.

What is the Wal-Mart policy?

…the company’s “Investigation and Detention of Shoplifters Policy.” The policy instructs employees to retreat if an individual brandishes a weapon.

“If during an approach or investigation, it becomes apparent that the suspect has a weapon or brandishes or threatens use of a weapon; all associates must disengage from the situation, withdraw to a safe position, and contact law enforcement,” reads a copy of the policy available online. “If at any point the suspect or any other involved person becomes violent, disengage from the confrontation, withdraw to a safe position and contact law enforcement.”

Ah I see. Be a coward. Be a victim. Retreat and be killed like a fish in a barrel. Because law enforcement is going to arrive within seconds, right? they will come to save the day (have we learned nothing about responding to active shooter situations?) Then when the scumbag decides to go shooting up other customers, just let more people die. Oh wait that’s right, Wal-Mart doesn’t care about anything other than potential lawsuits. Fan-fucking-tastic policy there, Wal-Mart.

But then you have to love the following part of the policy:

The next paragraph instructs employees to “put people first,” stating that protecting the physical well-being of “suspects, customers and Wal-Mart associates is your first priority.”

Well-being of the suspect? Sorry. If someone pulls a gun on me, the last thing I care about is their well-being.

If employees are to “put people first” and protect the well-being of their customers, then I’d say these 4 (former) employees did exactly that. They went above and beyond to protect not just themselves, but all of the customers in that Layton, Utah Wal-Mart. I’m not saying Wal-Mart policy should force employees into harms way, but these 4 people prevented what could have been a far greater tragedy, and the thanks they get is a trip to the unemployment line.

So tell me, Wal-Mart corporate management? Would you rather have to be cleaning up blood? Would you rather have a store closure while the police clean up after a mass murder at your store? Is that good for business? Do you want the lawsuits from all the families of the slain customers?

A statement from the management said:

 

In a previously released statement obtained by The Deseret News, managers defended their actions, saying the four put their safety “and potentially the safety of our customers and other associates in jeopardy.”

 

As if some loony with a gun was so much safer.

I want to end with some sort of snarky comment, but I can’t think of one… I’m just too disgusted.

Off the wagon

I fell off the wagon *sigh*

Been trying to shed a few pounds, but  stress has taken its toll and I’ve fallen off the wagon. I haven’t really gained, but I haven’t lost either. *sigh*  It’s really only 20# to go, but still….

A few things need to change:

First, I need to pick back up on regular exercise. That will help. But the hard part there is motivation. Again, stress from work and other things has got me down (also why my blogging’s been light). I know this would help, not just with the weight-loss but also the stress management and just general fitness.

Second, I need to sell my motorcycle. The guy that said he would buy it, he’s not responding so I’ve given up on him. I need to start formal work to sell the thing (if you’re in the area and interested, drop me a line). Once it’s out of the garage, that will actually help on the exercise front because I’ll have a whole bay that I can use for workouts.

All a matter right now of time, which is currently my most precious and scarce commodity.

Organic and natural

Just because something is “organic” and “natural” doesn’t mean it’s good for you.

Take arsenic for instance.

Hemlock.

Lead.

They’re all organic, they’re all natural. They’re even dolphin-safe! But they aren’t good for you. 🙂

(OK, arsenic and lead don’t have a carbon-basis, but I’m talking marketing terms here. Regardless, a heaping bowl of organic hemlock sprinkled with 100% natural arsenic won’t do your body good.)

Kitty Hat

Daughter is so cool.

She started to learn how to knit, but then left it for a while.

A few days ago she dug her stuff out and started again.

So what did she do? She knitted a hat for one of our cats. 🙂