Chicago lawmakers want to put more guns on the street… sorta.

Chicago Democrats want the Illinois National Guard to be deployed to help with the violent crime on their city streets.

Chicago Democrats John Fritchey and LaShawn Ford said they want Quinn, Mayor Richard Daley and Chicago Police Supt. Jody Weis to allow guardsmen to patrol streets and help quell violence. Weis said he did not support the idea because the military and police operate under different rules.

“Is this a drastic call to action? Of course it is,” Fritchey said. “Is it warranted when we are losing residents to gun violence at such an alarming rate? Without question. We are not talking about rolling tanks down the street or having armed guards on each corner.”

What he envisions, Fritchey said, is a “heightened presence on the streets,” particularly on the roughly 9 percent of city blocks where most of the city’s violent crimes occur.

So what they’re wanting is well… more guns on the streets. If you put more police, or national guardsmen in the street, that’s what you’re wanting: to put more people with guns on the streets!! Only these people are assumed to be good, law-abiding people.

“I’m open to anything that reduces violence. But I have concerns when you mix law enforcement and the military,” Weis said.

Really? So how about improving your gun laws for law-abiding citizens?

Yet the lawmakers said they are coming together because gun violence should be a priority to all Chicagoans.

“No help is too much help” Ford said. “This is not just about the murders. It’s about the crime. It’s about people being stabbed, robbed and in the hospital on life support.”

This isn’t about gun violence. This is about degenerates committing anti-social acts, acts of violence, all because they are able to wield power over the citizenry because the almighty powers that be feel the citizens cannot be trusted to defend themselves but we your almighty caretaker promise to keep you safe — a promise impossible to fulfill. It’s not about guns. If guns were the problem, then why are you proposing putting more guns on the street?!?! Guns are not the problem, it’s the people using the guns that are the problem… or in this case, are part of a proposed solution.

So let’s stop talking about it in a way that falsely demonizes inanimate objects. Let’s look at the real problem, and let’s look at real solutions. Allow your citizens to not be victims. It won’t make the evil go away, but it’s a proven good step in the right direction.

New Critical Defense loads

I just saw in my latest issue of American Rifleman magazine that Hornady has expanded their line of Critical Defense ammo. The new offerings are .357 Magnum, .40 S&W, .45 ACP and…. 12 gauge 00 buckshot.

I’ve written about Critical Defense before. I think the concept is interesting and shows promise, but there’s just not enough data out there. What data there is is Hornady’s marketing. Granted, they wouldn’t irresponsibly bring something to market (I hope not!) nor would they bring something to market without a lot of research and study. Plus Hornady has a reputation for good products and performance ammunition. But I’m just not sure I’m ready to bet my life on Critical Defense… not until there’s more third-party data and study of the round. Hopefully with the ammo now being offered in the remaining popular self-defense calibers, we may see more testing.

So don’t get me wrong, I’m not down on Critical Defense, I just want to see more data.

I’d be happy to produce that data myself, but I don’t have the money nor means.

The buckshot is interesting. The big deal about Critical Defense is the use of the FTX bullet, and of course buckshot isn’t going to have that. But they did use a special wad that helps keep tight patterns. That’s good, and really that’s what you want. I know a lot of people think it’s better to blow a big cloud of shot in a self-defense shotgun, but it’s not. You do want a little spread, sure, but you really want a tight pattern because you want to ensure all of that shot hits the target and nothing else.

I would be curious to know if the buckshot loads are normal or reduced recoil. IMHO, reduced recoil would be the way to go. The intended purpose for this load is self-defense, home-defense. Given that, most folks aren’t going to need more than maybe 25 yards or so of range. With reduced recoil you can still get that range, get that necessary energy, but not beat up the person using the shotgun and allow faster follow-up shots since recoil will not be so pronounced.

BUG transition practice

Do you carry a BUG (Back-Up Gun)?

Do you practice with the BUG? By that I mean all the same skills you practice with your primary piece.

Do you practice drawing the BUG from where you carry it? Do you carry your BUG in an ankle holster? Do you practice drawing from it? Maybe you can’t at the range, but at least you can dry practice it at home. Can you draw from this location? Do you carry in a pocket holster? Can you get the gun in a good grip, out and on target in time? If not, reconsider your BUG carry location, or at least acknowledge to yourself the limits and constraints of the location and work within those bounds. Or perhaps you just may need more practice.

Do you practice transitioning from your main carry gun to your BUG? In the heat of a confrontation, transitioning to the BUG may involve dropping your carry gun on the ground and going for the BUG. If the S is H’ing TF, I don’t care what happens to my main gun (i.e. hits ground and breaks), but in practice I do care. I will practice this sort of transition over the bed, so when I drop I know my main gun is landing safely. This isn’t practicing so much about dropping my gun as it is drawing the BUG, but I also want to allow myself to know “yes it’s OK to just drop the gun… don’t waste time trying to find it a home like in the holster… the ground is a perfectly acceptable home when the fur is flying.”

If you carry a BUG, by definition it’s a second gun. That means the likely way you’ll get to it is because your first gun is no longer operational, thus transitions are something to practice. And don’t forget, practice going the other way too (BUG to primary) because sometimes it may go that way.

The Metal Detectors Cometh….

I heard this was a definite go but still had questions. While the Austin-American Statesman article has an obvious bias, it at least seems to answer the question.

And, under an exemption approved Tuesday as a part of a new security plan, Texans with a concealed-handgun license will be able to take their pistols into the statehouse as well.

So this sucks that we’ll have metal detectors, but at least CHL holders will not be abridged. Of course I don’t really care for that either because concealed means concealed. But as soon as you have to notify the guy working the detector, you’re going to stand out, you’re going to get some sort of special treatment (e.g. won’t have to go through the detector), and it’s going to make the sheep scared and cause problems.

*sigh*

And in the end will safety really be improved by this? No. It won’t be any more or any less safe. It makes some legislators feel better about themselves (tho, good for Rick Perry for being the only one to vote against this measure), but that’s all.

We’ll see how this pans out in reality.

So Paul, what are we supposed to do?

Over at Sebastian’s place, “Carl from Chicago” posted a comment. The comment was in response to a Daily Show segment on open carry, which had Paul Helmke of the Brady Campaign on as a guest. Carl received this email from Helmke regarding the segment, and in the email wrote this:

While The Daily Show pokes fun at those who carry guns openly, it just doesn’t make sense for the safety of our families to have more guns being carried by more people in more public places. It’s the wrong direction for this country to head.

As I said in the clip, gun owners should leave their guns at home. Let’s keep them out of places like coffee shops, sports stadiums, and schools.

So what you’re saying is, in an effort to increase safety of our families, gun owners should leave their guns at home.

That doesn’t make sense, if you look at facts and data.

If you consider actual violent crime statistics, about 85% of violent crimes happen outside the home. That means violent crime happens in coffee shops (like the 4 Lakewood police officers killed in a coffee shop). That means violent crime happens in sports stadiums (like at a Long Beach high school football game). That means violent crime happens at schools (Columbine, and numerous others).  Yes, those events involved guns, but the guns didn’t leap up on their own and kill innocent people. No, there was someone evil using the gun. They were acts of evil people, not acts of evil steel and evil lead.

Paul, if you’re willing to work against bad people being able to do bad things, I’d be with you. But you’re against good people doing good things. How can I support that? Furthermore, the constant refusal to look at the actual facts and data, to look at the actual Truth of the matter? Well… that just leaves us with “reasoned discourse”.

I know it’s not a coffee house, but it is a Waffle House. The fact two men were open carrying? It prevented the Waffle House from being robbed — known because when the thugs were arrested they flat out admitted seeing the two citizens with guns is what kept them from robbing the place (at least while the citizens were in the restaurant). Yes, open carry prevented a violent crime from occurring.

So tell me Paul, if we did follow your wishes and us good guys left our guns at home…. please tell me, what do you then propose to do to actually make our coffee shops, sports stadiums, and schools safer? Because the fact is, the bad guys aren’t going to leave anything at home, and the bad guys don’t like to come get us in our homes… they want to come get us at the coffee shops, the sports stadiums, the schools — this I know, for the data tells me so. Please Paul tell me, in light of the facts, what is your plan?

Leatherman MUT

I love my Leatherman Wave. One of the handiest tools I have, and I carry with my always.

I see Leatherman has come out with a new product, the Leatherman MUT. (h/t Uncle)

Here’s a link to their PDF brochure.

I don’t think I’d use this as my EDC, but in the range bag or taking with me (in addition to the Wave) into the field? It could be useful.

And just for the TXGunGeek I have this little quote from the brochure:

The MUT comes with a wrench accessory that features 1/2” and 3/8” 12-point heads for adjustment to optics systems. Built to military performance specifications, the ballistic nylon MOLLE sheath features extra wrench and bit kit accessory pockets. When not in use the sheath can hold a double-stack 9mm clip.

Clip. *sigh*

Shooting a pistol from the benchrest position

A friend of mine has begun pistol shooting and he was asking me about shooting his pistol from the benchrest position. I went looking for some resources online, especially pictures (this friend lives in another state so I cannot physically demonstrate and teach him things), and surprisingly didn’t find a lot about pistol benchrest shooting. However, I did find a few things worth sharing.

The above image is from this article by Barbara Baird on the BassPro.com website. Ms. Baird is an NRA Certified Instructor, and as an NRA Instructor myself I can say what is being demonstrated above is the NRA taught technique.

It’s not the best technique.

I’m not going to say it’s wrong, because I’m unaware of any “One True Way” to shoot a pistol from benchrest. But there are two problems. 1. Look at what is supported: hands and wrist. Is the gun itself supported? The point of shooting from a rest is to remove you (the shooter) from the equation as much as possible. You strive to do everything you can to reduce or eliminate the gun moving so you are shooting from the most stable platform possible. In the above picture, just a tiny movement of the wrist is all it would take to move that gun. The gun itself is just not that well supported. 2. The shooter is using a semi-automatic handgun, and resting in that manner puts upward pressure on the bottom of the magazine. This can cause the magazine to be pushed further upwards into the gun and could cause feeding problems. It’s not horrible to do this, but just be mindful that your shooting position doesn’t interfere with the function of the gun.

Compare to this picture (and ignore the revolver vs. semi-auto aspect):

The above picture is from the ChuckHawks.com website article on shooting a handgun from a benchrest. What do you notice that’s different? Look at how much support that gun has. The gun frame is cradled in a sandbag. The shooter’s wrists are supported by sandbags. The shooter’s elbows are supported by sandbags. It’d be great if the shooter could have been all the way up against the bench, his chest pressing into the bench, but looking at the width of that bench and I don’t think there’s enough room. Nevertheless, this demonstrates the key: support! The gun and the shooter are as rested and supported as they can be. As much movement as possible has been eliminated without interfering with the function of the gun. That’s the key.

One thing both pictures demonstrate? The shooting position is as close to a “normal” shooting position as possible. That is, the standard two-hand Modern Isosceles stance, but instead of standing just resting on the bench. Isosceles, Weaver, whatever it is you do, just note to continue to do it from the bench.

The reality is, life does not always hand us ideal situations. My friend’s gun is a Taurus 709 slim and there’s just not a lot of “frame underside” by which to support the gun, especially when you compare it to that big revolver in the second picture. Furthermore, the range you’re shooting at may have tables only so big, may have restrictions or limited equipment. Sometimes you just have to make do with what the situation provides you. Just remember, the key is to support the gun as much as possible to eliminate movement and other “shooter influence” from the process of shooting.

Do give a read to Ms. Baird’s article (it’s fairly straight-up NRA Basic Pistol material), the Chuck Hawks article, and also this article from Guns & Ammo Magazine. They all contain good information on pistol benchrest shooting.

How to handle your mistakes.

When you make a mistake and flub something, what do you do? Do you stop and start over? Or do you just keep going?

Whatever you do, it’s been my experience that most people always do the same thing no matter the context. Today I write to say we need to consider how we recover from mistakes and choose the right approach based upon the context.

For example, I was doing dry-fire practice working on drawing my pistol from a concealment holster. Typical ways to flub the draw are the shirt doesn’t get out of or remains in the way, or your strong hand gets a poor initial grip. What do you do? As soon as you notice the flub do you stop and start over? or do you acknowledge the flub but proceed and work to recover from it to still reach your end goal? I used to stop and start over, but now I want to keep going. My reasoning? If the day comes and my life is on the line, I could well flub things. In a situation like that, what should my ingrained response be? Recover and move on? Or go “damnit! I screwed up!” reholster and ask for a do-over? I don’t think the latter is reasonable for the situation, so the only option is to recover and move on. Thus I must train myself to acknowledge the flub (must know what went wrong so I know what course of action to take to recover) then immediately recover from it, keeping my cool the whole time. This is the response I would want to have if my life depended upon it, so that’s how I must train.

Let’s consider my martial arts practice, specifically working on forms. If I was working on a form because I was entering a competition, I’d probably want to train myself to recover and move on. You’re performing, and the show must go on! But these days I do not participate in martial arts tournaments, so if I’m working on a form it’s because I want to get it correct, because there’s something in my own body and soul I wish to feel. Plus I’ve been away from Kuk Sool for almost a year and I admit some things are slipping my mind. Thus stopping and fixing is fine for me here because the context may dictate it (i.e. I forgot) or perhaps because I came to a point in my practice where I realized something and wish to focus on it. My goals here are different, and how I contend with mistakes must serve the end goal.

This reminds me of when I was in undergrad and played in a rock band. We were doing some basement recordings. We only had so much tape, so when we’d screw up I’d tell the guy running the board “Rewind and erase that.”  But he never listened to me and kept tape rolling. In my mind there was no point in keeping bad takes, especially when we had a finite amount of tape. However I’m glad he kept the tape rolling because it captured some gems. Looking back I can say we should have handled it both ways. When we’re working out a new song, sure we have to stop when mistakes are made because we’re still learning. But once the song is known, when we’re doing rehearsals for gigs, just keep going… unexpected things could happen during the gig and we wouldn’t come to a halt on stage, so practice accordingly.

Be clear on your end goal(s) and ensure you work towards it. One part we overlook is how we handle our mistakes. The way we handle our mistakes may need to change based upon the context, so be sure to analyze, figure out the plan, and behave accordingly… especially as you practice. Train yourself to handle your mistakes as the context dictates. Your life may depend upon it.