Art of the Dynamic Shotgun – outtakes

Outtakes from Magpul’s latest, “Art of the Dynamic Shotgun

Yeah… I want to get that DVD. As much as I’m a proponent for the AR-15 man… something about the shotgun is singing to me.

Combative Pistol 2 – Hitting things

I spent October 23-24, 2010 with Tom Givens of Rangemaster taking his Combative Pistol 2 course, hosted at KR Training. While my general AAR is here, there were some things that came up in class that I wanted to speak about in greater detail. What follows is inspired by something Tom said or we did in class, but is ultimately my take on things and how thoughts gelled in my head. I would encourage you to train with Tom Givens, if you ever have the chance. Reading my blather is no substitute.

Hitting Things

Yes, we need to “shoot things“. But more importantly, we need to hit things.

If you have to shoot, you have to hit.

So sayeth The Givens.

It seems so simple, it seems a “no-brainer”, but is it really? Look at how many times we shoot and miss. Oh sure, maybe you hit paper, but look at how we’ll rationalize our crappy shooting to satisfy our egos. Can you get your hits inside an 8″ circle at 25 yards? or a 3″ circle at 5 yards? 3 shots in a 3″ circle at 5 yards in 3 seconds? Can you do it on demand? Always?

You have to have the ability to deliver fight-stopping hits. The goal is not to kill, it’s to get the other person to stop. If you can do that without ever firing a shot? Great. If you can do it without drawing your gun? Great. If you can do it by avoiding the area and situation entirely? Great. But if you have to shoot, you have to hit.

It’s not just fight-stopping hits, but that you are responsible for any bullet that doesn’t hit the intended target. A good number of the confrontations Givens’ students were in? Public areas. Shopping malls. What are in shopping malls? Lots of non-involved people. You don’t need one of your bullets ending up in one of them.

During one qual course I shot one weak-hand-only shot that totally missed. It hit paper, but completely outside of any target area. There was no excuse. I saw the sights, I called the shot, but I still let the round go… because of pressure, because being ingrained that the shot has to get off, whatever. And all I kept thinking to myself was: oh shit! That wasn’t just a miss… that was a potential hit on an innocent person… maybe even my Wife or Kiddos.

Let that sink in on you.

When you practice, don’t shrug off your misses, because those misses could have even greater cost and impact than your hits.

Train to eliminate missing. Train to improve your ability to hit. Givens mentioned how almost every qual course out there he can clean. Seems a reasonable goal to strive for, doesn’t it? You can’t clean it if you miss even one shot.

Combative Pistol 2 – Shooting things

I spent October 23-24, 2010 with Tom Givens of Rangemaster taking his Combative Pistol 2 course, hosted at KR Training. While my general AAR is here, there were some things that came up in class that I wanted to speak about in greater detail. What follows is inspired by something Tom said or we did in class, but is ultimately my take on things and how thoughts gelled in my head. I would encourage you to train with Tom Givens, if you ever have the chance. Reading my blather is no substitute.

Shooting Things

What do you do? Do you shoot at things? or do you shoot things?

Stop shooting at things. It’s the wrong mindset.

I don’t punch at the guy, I punch the guy. You don’t throw the football at the receiver, you throw to the receiver. You don’t shoot the basketball at the basket, you shoot the basket.

Shoot things.

Combative Pistol 2 – Training to Averages

I spent October 23-24, 2010 with Tom Givens of Rangemaster taking his Combative Pistol 2 course, hosted at KR Training. While my general AAR is here, there were some things that came up in class that I wanted to speak about in greater detail. What follows is inspired by something Tom said or we did in class, but is ultimately my take on things and how thoughts gelled in my head. I would encourage you to train with Tom Givens, if you ever have the chance. Reading my blather is no substitute.

3 Shots, 3 Feet, 3 Seconds

The phrase goes something like that, that on average a gunfight is 3 shots, within 3 feet, and lasts 3 seconds.

Is there truth to that? To a degree, and of course it makes for a catchy mantra.

But here’s the problem with that.

It’s an average.

If I have two incidents, one with 1 shot, one with 5 shots, that averages out to 3. Another two incidents, one with 0 shots and one with 6, that averages to 3. If I have three incidents, 1, 4, 4, that averages to 3. You get the idea. Three may be the average, but that doesn’t mean it will be what it will be.

I touched on this in my previous article, “Jenny’s Got a Gun“. She read a web comment saying:

who really needs a 20-round magazine when you’re defending against a stalker? “Six or seven bullets will do you just fine”

She should have Googled further to see if 6 or 7 would be just fine (answer: maybe, but it’s your life… play with it as you wish. I carry 15+1 and a spare mag).

Tom Givens recounted to us a story of a man in prison. He had nothing better to do with his day and had access to a law library. So he worked up a case to sue the police claiming they used excessive force against him.

Why?

Because they shot him 62 times (I believe that was the number).

Let that sink in a moment. Because you see, that he was working up a counter lawsuit? That means he got shot 62 times and lived. Apparently gunfire from both handguns and rifles.

Yeah.. those 6 or 7 bullets may not be just fine. The human body is pretty resilient, and your pistol rounds suck. Of course, 62 times also means he wasn’t shot in any vital area, but that’s another topic. (BTW, his case was thrown out because protocol is to keep shooting until the threat stopped… on shot 62 he stopped, the police stopped, case thrown out).

Another story from Givens. One of his students was sitting in a chair on the lawn with his mother, little children playing in the yard around him. Some teenage boy came up, student told the boy to leave. Boy leaves, goes home, retrieves a gun and starts shooting it across the street at them. Student gets up, moves behind cover (car), returns fire and hits the dude in the chest ending the confrontation.

It was a 22 yard shot.

The student recounted that he never thought that he was the statistical anomaly, just that he had to take care of business.

Another story of a husband getting attacked in the driveway of his home. Wife retrieves the gun, goes to the second story window of their house and shoots the attacker from 15 yards away.

Go measure your house. Pace off various distances within your home. I bet some of those are beyond average (be it 3 feet, or the 0-5 yards often quoted for self-defense shooting). Now picture your spouse or child being held across that room. Make that shot, you have only one shot, one chance.

Averages tell us something and we can certainly learn from them and should not ignore them. But we must keep in mind they are averages and that means there are some on one side of the average, some on the other, and some at the extremes. Don’t get caught in training just to the averages.

Perceptions of people who carry guns

Ask your average person on the street about the ability of people to carry a gun.

Generally speaking, they will believe that a person whose job it is to carry a gun, like a police officer, will be highly proficient with their gun. They will generally believe that a private citizen will be of lesser skill or has no business carrying a gun because they’ll only be a danger to themselves and others.

The reality? One’s profession or lack thereof has no bearing on one’s ability or fitness to carry and/or utilize a gun.

Police departments require their officers to qualify with their guns. How often? Depends on the department. Some may only require them to qualify once a year. That qualification test will consist of 50 rounds. While yes there are some officers that will train to a higher level, a lot of those officers will never shoot beyond their required qualification: thus, 50 rounds per year, visiting the range once.

Think about that.

Could Lance Armstrong win the Tour de France by pedaling around his neighborhood block once a year?

Could Michael Phelps win 16 Olympic medals by just dangling his feet in the kiddie pool on a single hot summer day?

So what makes you think someone who begrudgingly visits the gun range once a year, shoots 50 rounds in a required course of fire, then never touches their gun again will be able to perform under pressure when YOUR life is on the line (let alone their own life)?

Don’t get me wrong, this isn’t to say all cops are inept at gun handling, but the public shouldn’t be under the blind illusion that just because they’re a cop that they’re some sort of super badass.

On the other hand, just because someone doesn’t wear a badge doesn’t mean they have no ability with a gun. Look at the number of competition pistol shooters out there. Most of them are just private citizens and are extremely skilled. In the past Combative Pistol 2 weekend, there were 9 students in the class. I don’t know the full skinny on the scores, but at one point Tom Givens remarked how the class average on one of the qualification courses was 99%. That’s 9 very proficient shooters… from computer engineers to veterinarians. We don’t wear a badge, but it doesn’t mean we’re inept with guns.

Skill is not bestowed by your profession. It comes from your desire to learn, your desire to improve, your desire to excel.

Combative Pistol 2 – Practice

I spent October 23-24, 2010 with Tom Givens of Rangemaster taking his Combative Pistol 2 course, hosted at KR Training. While my general AAR is here, there were some things that came up in class that I wanted to speak about in greater detail. What follows is inspired by something Tom said or we did in class, but is ultimately my take on things and how thoughts gelled in my head. I would encourage you to train with Tom Givens, if you ever have the chance. Reading my blather is no substitute.

Ballistic Masturbation

That’s what a lot of people do, and call it “practice”. You’ve seen it, and you’ve probably done it too. You go to the range, throw some lead downrange with no particular goal or purpose. You might feel good afterwards, but you’ve accomplished nothing.

When you go to the range, you need to practice with a goal and purpose. One drill we did in the CP2 weekend involved a target with 3 sections: 8″ circle, 6″ circle, business-card-sized rectangle. The intent of the drill? To teach cadence. When the target is smaller you have to shoot slower, but cadence should still be good. This target taught us transitions and changing up cadence. For instance, start on the 8″ circle and fire 2 shots, move to the rectangle and fire 2 shots, move to the 6″ circle and fire 2 shots. Those first two shots should be fast, the second two slow, and the third two in between.

The final drill of the class involved 9 rounds. Actually 8 live rounds and 1 dummy. It had a par time of 15 seconds. It’s a fairly simple drill:

  • Setup: Take 5 live rounds and 1 dummy and put them into a magazine, with the dummy mixed in somewhere (not the top round, not the bottom round). Have one reload on your belt, at least 3 rounds in it. Target is whatever you want, but we used a typical “man-like silhouette” target (you could use something like an IPSC or IDPA target) and I believe we were at 7 or 10 yards… I honestly can’t recall right now.
  • Draw and shoot the target. Eventually you’ll hit the dummy, so fix the malfunction and resume shooting. Once you hit slide-lock, reload, shoot 3 more.

That’s all there is to it. It’s a very simple drill. Once you can clean it consistently in 15 seconds (or if you establish your own par average), then try to do it faster. The first time I ran the drill I had one shot just outside the target zone (went too fast) and had to run it a second time. On that second time I did it in 10.7 seconds (Givens did it in about 8.5). So I need to get it down to a consistent 10.0, then 9.5, and so on. The thing is, to accomplish that drill correctly requires a great many number of things, and was the culmination of all we learned that weekend:

  • Draw
  • Present
  • Grip
  • Trigger
  • Sights
  • Movement
  • Malfunction clearing
  • Reloading
  • Not blowing the first shot (because you have 3 first shots in this drill)
  • Accuracy
  • Speed

So much, packed into one little drill. Really only 8 rounds. Take a box of 50, you can practice this drill 6 times, and it’ll probably take you 5 minutes to run it those 6 times including setup time. So in 5 minutes you’ll get more done than going to the range for an hour and casually throwing lead downrange. Which is more worth your time?

When something unexpected occurs during practice, roll with it. A great example was in the CP2 class, Tom was demonstrating a weak-hand-only shooting drill. He didn’t know how many rounds were in his gun so he got one shot off, slide locked back, and he immediately performed a one-handed weak-hand reload and got back into action. That the demo didn’t go off as planned was fine, because it presented an opportunity to demonstrate an important mental skill: being aware of what’s going on and immediately addressing it.

Do you have magazines that hold a lot of ammo? Instead of loading your mags all the way full, load them somewhere less than full and to random amounts. You do that, you’ll get a lot more practice on your reloads.

Do you have something you hate? Something you suck at (e.g. weak-hand-only shooting)? Spend an entire session working on it. So what if the guy in the stall next to you looks at your target and thinks you suck. What does his opinion matter? Work on what you hate until you love it… that when other people would groan about shooting WHO, you grin and revel in it.

When you go to the range to practice, have a goal in mind. Have a purpose. Have skills and drills to work on. Don’t just waste time and money throwing lead downrange. Work with a purpose, always improve.

More M&P blarg

Continuing from my previous blarg on the S&W M&P

Earlier this afternoon I started a dry fire session. While doing so I noticed along the side of my trigger finger a callus. There’s only one way the skin in that area could be callused: it’s rubbing the frame. I hypothesized it, and I think the callus is pretty good supporting evidence. So yes, if the M&P gives me enough clearance for my fingers, good sign.

I looked at the S&W website a bit. One thing I have mixed emotions on? The magazine release button. It’s reversible, but technically only one-sided. Sure, 99% of my work is my right thumb pressing the left-side button on my XD. Due to the way my fingers wrap around the gun? My left index finger can come in contact with the right-side button… and I have dropped mags. So in a way, to lose the ambi-release is good. But it’s also bad in case I might need it, say in one-handed reloading situations. So, mixed emotions here, but I think the loss will generally be an improvement.

I’m just thinking more and more about switching to the M&P. It’s just fine details at this point. I intend to shoot an M&P again soon to look further into these things.

Combative Pistol 2 – The Ready

I spent October 23-24, 2010 with Tom Givens of Rangemaster taking his Combative Pistol 2 course, hosted at KR Training. While my general AAR is here, there were some things that came up in class that I wanted to speak about in greater detail. What follows is inspired by something Tom said or we did in class, but is ultimately my take on things and how thoughts gelled in my head. I would encourage you to train with Tom Givens, if you ever have the chance. Reading my blather is no substitute.

Previously I wrote about The Grip. This is relevant to…

The Ready

There’s a position called the “Ready Position.” It doesn’t matter what you’re doing: playing tennis, throwing a ball, shooting a gun. There’s a ready position. What is a Ready Position? That position you’re in so you are ready to do whatever you need to do. If you’re playing tennis, it’s the position you’re in so you are ready to return a serve or volley or hit a groundstroke. If you’re shooting a gun, it’s the position you’re in so if you need to shoot, you are ready to do so.

There are many types of ready positions in shooting. One had the gun extended at arms length but pointed low, say at the target’s belt-line. Another has the gun pulled back, in draw position #3, and may call this a “compressed ready”. Other shooting disciplines can have their own variants. But the bottom line remains: it’s the position where you are totally ready to go.

Why does grip enter into this?

Is your grip ready to go when you are in the ready? Be honest. Mine always wasn’t. What would happen? I’d be in the ready, then when it was time to shoot I’d bring the gun up/out and tighten my grip at the same time, which would cause the sights to shift, and if you look at the correction chart you’ll see how that grip tightening will cause you to not hit your target.

Your grip must be all the grip you need to have from the get go. There is no time nor chance to correct it. When you go to draw your gun, you get all the grip you need on the gun before you remove it from the holster. Do not remove the gun from the holster until the grip is solid and correct. Get the other hand on the gun, grip it fully, then proceed.

But it’s even more than grip, it’s mindset.

All through the CP2 weekend you hear Tom Givens say “DRAW TO READY!” and he means that. But it’s not just “move your gun into the arms out, pointed down position”; in fact, that’s really the least of the concerns. It means you need to move yourself into a Ready Position and everything that means. It means the gun is out in the proper place. It means your grip is solid. It means your eyes are looking in the right place. But most of all? It means that your mind is ready to do the job. You need to draw like you mean it, draw like your life depends upon it because it does. You need to have the mental focus and readiness to handle the situation. If that means to assess, assess. If that means communicate, communicate. If that means move, move. If that means shoot, shoot and shoot well.

The Ready Position is far more than just placement of arms and gun. It’s a whole mind and body state of preparedness to tackle the job before you.

Who is not in touch with reality?

The Dallas Morning News has an article discussing cautious optimism at getting concealed carry on Texas college campuses passed in the 2011 legislative session.

What stood out to me in the article was this:

 

But Colin Goddard, assistant director for federal legislation for the Brady Campaign to Prevent Gun Violence, who survived the massacre at Virginia Tech, says allowing guns on campus is a bad idea.

“If there’s someone coming in to shoot a bunch of people in a classroom, you’re already lost,” said Goddard, who was shot four times. “To think you can react and effectively shoot the target … These people have seen too many movies. They’re not in touch with reality.”

 

 

I wonder how many movies Mr. Goddard has seen.

Tom Givens of Rangemaster has had nearly 60 students survive self-defense incidents because they were carrying concealed.

They were able to react and effectively shoot the target.

They were very in touch with reality — that’s why they carried their guns. That’s why they lived.

 

The Smith & Wesson M&P

Back when I was first deciding on a carry gun, it came down to two choices: Springfield XD, Smith & Wesson M&P.

By all accounts, I liked the M&P, and I bet I would have gone with it. But why didn’t I? It was brand new to the market. It was unproven. S&W had their whole Sigma fiasco, and was this going to be another Sigma? I was buying a gun to bet my life on, so I felt it was better to choose the proven model. Thus I went with the XD.

Now, I’m not unhappy with the choice, but having shot multiple thousands of rounds through it, held it in my hands for a long time, well… I can see how it’s not a 100% perfect choice for me. The main thing? It’s one-size-fits… someone. Now that interchangeable backstraps are all the rage, I can feel how the XD doesn’t quite fit my hand right. The backstraps were a big reason I wanted the M&P. And I have said that if I was buying an XD now I’d buy the XD(m) because of its changeable backstraps.

Over the Combative Pistol 2 weekend, I got to try out an M&P with a trigger kit job by Apex Tactical Specialities. I’m not sure I like it, but I can see the difference. There’s a lot of “springy” takeup, but the distance between that break and reset? Wow. I can see how this can be a fast gun with that trigger. I’d have to shoot such a gun for a while to get used to it, and apparently you can change different parts in the kit to get different feels. So… much playing would have to be done.

As well, Lynn Givens was carrying an M&P. I noticed she had a light texturing job done to her backstrap. I liked it. One thing I don’t like about my XD is the grip isn’t very grippy. But getting something like a stipple job from Springer Precision? even his mildest is too aggressive for a gun carried IWB against the skin. The XD(m)’s grip is better. The job Lynn had? I liked.

Lynn also pointed out something critical. One problem I have (and it was evident all weekend long in CP2) is I shoot slightly left. I know the problem. It’s how my trigger finger enters the trigger guard. It’s the angle of how everything meets, my physiology, my finger enters the guard angled slightly downward angle, and so my finger rides slightly on the frame and pushes it left. But on her M&P? I had no problems. There was no contact. I’d need to do more shooting with the M&P to verify that, but gosh… ain’t that a plus?

Now that the M&P has been on the market for a while, it’s being picked up as the duty gun in many police departments (Austin PD is now standardizing on the M&P in .40 S&W), Team S&W is winning lots of pistol competitions with almost stock M&P’s (might just have better sights and better trigger, but that’s all), it’s got a lot behind it. So, the one reason I didn’t want the gun? no longer an issue.

All I need now is the money fairy. 🙂