Kel-Tec PMR-30?

My buddy Charles over at TacticalGunReview.com was telling me he’s supposed to get a Kel-Tec PMR-30 for testing. Hasn’t arrived yet, but since then I’ve read two articles on the gun. One at GunBlast, and the other just came through from The Box O’Truth (Ed Zone #123).

That prompted me to write.

It sounds like this gun is actually pretty positive. That it’s light but workable, good factory trigger. It uses .22 Magnum rounds (30 of them!), and TBOT did some penetration testing.

It got me wondering.

Could this be an effective pistol for self-defense?

I don’t think it would be as optimal as more traditional pistols, like those chambered in 9mm Parabellum, .40 S&W, or .45 ACP. But when some gun is better than no gun, could this gun be good for people that are recoil sensitive? The hard factor there, that I can’t judge until I can hold one in my hands, is that often if someone is going to be recoil sensitive they may also not be able to handle a long and/or heavy trigger or a large grip. It sounds like the trigger here isn’t heavy, but is it long? And just how big is that grip to be able to hold 30 rounds of .22 Magnum?

I’m not saying I’m advocating anything… at least at this point.  But there’s enough about this gun that make me wonder if it could fill a niche beyond plinking and small varmint control.

Kel-Tec…. if you’re reading this, I can give you my FFL’s address. 🙂

Is roller derby a professional sporting event?

Is roller derby a professional sporting event?

Before I attended my first Texas Roller Girls roller derby bout, I had to spend a good deal of time trying to figure out if I, as a concealed handgun license holder, could legally carry at the bout.

I spent time re-reading the Texas legal code. Specifically, PC §46.035 (b) (2) says:

(b) A license holder commits an offense if the license holder intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly carries a handgun under the authority of Subchapter H, Chapter 411, Government Code, regardless of whether the handgun is concealed, on or about the license holder’s person:

(2) on the premises where a high school, collegiate, or professional sporting event or interscholastic event is taking place, unless the license holder is a participant in the event and a handgun is used in the event;

So… is roller derby a professional sporting event? Does this apply to me?

I asked some people, one of whom even asked a lawyer. I spent a lot of time in Google searching around trying to see if the question had been answered. Maybe the Austin Convention Center had 30.06 signs (it didn’t, from what I could see). Could there be security restrictions in place at the entrance such as metal detectors (no), bag checks (no), frisking (no), or any other such measures (nope, nothing really, but there were some DPS troopers present along with venue “security”). But I had no idea if there would be or not, and if I could and then there was a metal detector would they allow me through (regardless, setting off the detectors gives you a Scarlet A for the rest of the night); would I have to go back to the car and store my gun… but that’s just a recipe for a break-in and my gun ending up becoming an instrument of crime (as well as all the hassle and hell of dealing with repairs and insurance paperwork).

So more searching to try to determine what is a “professional sporting event”. Can’t find anywhere in the Texas law code that defines it, so I guess we turn to what “reasonable people” would define it as. Competition, ticket sales, money involved especially the players and participants being paid. Hrm. Texas Rollergirls are a registered non-profit and lots of things point to the ladies NOT getting paid… but with all the ticket sales, merch, concessions, sponsorships, where is all that money going? maybe they get some sort of stipend or allowance to help pay for some things? I don’t know. How can I know? In fact if anything, I keep seeing conflicting messages if it is a professional sporting event or not. Sporting event sure, but professional? I’m not meaning any disrespect to the ladies involved, merely trying to interpret and understand the law.

And the list goes on and on and on and on. So many things to consider, but in the end, no one seems to be willing to become the court precedent. That’s a lot of time, a lot of money, and a lot of risk. Furthermore, this is only this one event. Any time and any where I go, I have to think about these things, consider these things, research these things. That adds up to a lot of time, money, and effort spent.

But you know what’s sad?

Bad guys don’t care.

I’m spending all sorts of time and effort to try to ensure I follow the law. Bad guys, by definition, don’t care about the law. They won’t spend any time on this. They don’t care. So what does that do? It means bad guys have the free reign to go anywhere and do anything they want. Good guys don’t.

Does that seem right to you? Does it seem right to burden good people? To put good people at a legally mandated disadvantage? The law is supposed to abridge bad people, to make the burden so great that people wouldn’t want to do bad things. But all I see here is making a large burden for good people trying to do good things. How is that right?

Why would you deny a woman her right to choose?

An editorial in yesterday’s Austin American-Statesman about the “guns on campus” debate.

We are not supporters of the state’s 1995 law allowing qualified adults to get licenses to carry concealed handguns. But, as is often the case with hot-button issues, the extremes predicted by both sides during that debate have not materialized.

We have not, as opponents opined, reverted to some kind of Wild West existence with shootouts at high noon and other times of the day. Somehow, we have remained a fairly civilized society.

And we have not, as proponents predicted, seen a raft of incidents in which pistol-packing Texans stepped to the fore to protect themselves and others through their deft use of concealed firepower.

First, I’d say you haven’t been looking that deep as there certainly are reported incidents of both. But you are more likely to hear stories of shootings than of non-shootings? Why? Because crimes are reported, but non-crimes are not. I know of a person that pulled his car over to deal with a phone call. A man came out of the woods, heading towards the car with the wrong look in his eye. Driver noticed and bailed out of the car meeting the man with his drawn gun. The man thought better and left. No crime reported, no story to hear about. This sort of thing happens more often than you think. So it’s difficult to quantify such things because of what we are able to and not able to collect data on.

Nevertheless, we do remain a fairly civilized society. But “fairly” isn’t 100%. Bad things can and do happen, and responsible people who care about themselves and their loved ones take steps to be prepared to minimize the impact of bad things happening.

Despite what some advocates say, Patterson reminds us that “this is really not about the kid carrying a gun to class so he can defend himself against a mass Virginia Tech murder,” he said, referring to the 2007 incident in which 32 people were killed by a gunman at that Blacksburg, Va., state university.

“It’s about the nursing student that goes to class at weird hours at UTMB in Galveston and has to walk back to a parking lot in darkness, or the lady with a protective order against a former lover or spouse,” Patterson said.

We’d like to think that even people in those situations could find ways to feel safe without packing a pistol. Perhaps we are naive.

It’s easy to be tough from behind a keyboard, oh editorial writer.

How about you tell that tiny woman I recently encountered in class… tell her what she should do to not just feel safe, but do something proactive about her safety.

Tell my female friend that’s a teacher at a Texas college and thus has to walk alone to her car, to the classroom. She can’t have a 24/7 bodyguard. She can’t have escorts. And if you are so willing to tell a woman she’s not allowed to take care of herself, are you willing to take a huge step back in women’s rights?

I’d think the AAS would be all for women’s rights… rights to choose… it’s her body, she can do what she wants with it. So, why are you so willing, so steadfast, in denying women their rights?

Yes, I think perhaps you are naive.

Palm38 Tri-Plex ammo

I like snub revolvers. One challenge is finding the right/best ammo to carry in a snub. I have documented my snub trials, if you want to read them. So when I read over at The Firearm Blog about the Palm38 Tri-Plex Multi-Projectile .38 Special Cartridge, I was intrigued.

I read the specifications PDF. It looks… interesting. I’d like to see how it actually fares in something other than gel, and it’d also be nice to see it performing 1. in a lot more tests, 2. out of its intended firearm. From what I can tell, this ammo would NOT be good for use in the general sense (looks like it’s not very useful past 10-15 feet). But you see, this ammo is made by the people behind The Palm Pistol. So within that intended niche, the ammo appears to have promise. The Palm Pistol is designed for people who may have dexterity issues or arthritis and the like. In cases like those, the less recoil the better. But of course, if you reduce the kick going backward you also reduce the kick going forward. Furthermore, the Palm Pistol is single-shot, so anything you can do to make your one shot do as much work as possible, that’d be good. The Palm Pistol isn’t meant for distance, and aiming is either by point shooting or at best a laser, so distance isn’t too much of a factor. Within those parameters, this ammo could be a good thing.

It’ll be interesting to follow their developments.

Like free stuff?

I just saw this posted to TacticalGunReview.com

We will be holding monthly drawings for cool schwag for reviewers.

For every review submitted, you get your name added to the hat.

The more reviews, the better your chance of winning

We will have COOL stuff to give away, no crap you don’t want.

At the end of the year we will put the monthly winners in a drawing for something VERY cool, like a gun or nice scope!

Spread the word

Guess I’m going to need to post more reviews… there, not here. 🙂

The dream of one-shot stop

I don’t want to say it’s a myth, because it can happen. So instead, I’ll call it a dream because sometimes dreams do come true.

The “one shot stop”.

A few days ago something happened that caused me to think about this topic again. Oldest shot a 255# boar. A big, tough S.O.B.. It was a perfect shot through the vitals, 165 grains of .308 Win Barnes TSX dead-on through the heart. About 2500 fps, about 2300 ft-lbs of energy. Massive damage, and right through the pump station. Yet, the hog still ran a good 25 yards.

So why is it that people believe one shot from a .45 ACP is going to drop someone in their tracks? I’m not saying it’s not possible, but it’s not something you should count on. Remember, all pistol rounds suck. Caliber only matters inasmuch as it affects your ability to get good penetration and shot placement. As long as your round can get down where it needs to be, and you can put it there on-demand, that’s what matters. But don’t think that one shot is all it’s going to take. If you’re in a self-defense situation, your goal is to stop the attack. Techniques where you shoot once, or “double-tap” and assess, they can lull you into a routine that may set you up for trouble. That hog was shot through the heart yet he still “kept fighting” long enough to potentially do some damage if we weren’t 60+ yards away from him.

One-shot stops can happen, but instead of wishing for your dream to come true, it’s better to keep working to make the reality happen. Keep fighting until the fight is over… because your opponent probably will do the same.

Sniper Hog Lights – The Destroyer, a review

Some long time ago I purchased The Destroyer, from Sniper Hog Lights. It was so long ago I forgot exactly why I settled on this light vs. the competition. But I finally got to use it on the hog hunt this past weekend.

I can say, it works as advertised. I’m very happy with it.

I purchased the light in red. They advertise 150+ yards visibility. I can vouch for that, and if you have a high quality scope with good “light gathering” ability, you’ll see even further. IMHO, that’s more than adequate for hunting hogs at night. I will caveat that I was using the light on the night’s of the “super moon” so there was a lot of ambient moonlight on a clear night. Still, I could see the red beam out to distance just fine. I would like to try it say on a new moon evening. I’ve tried it numerous times in my backyard and it lights up fine, but I don’t have a good empty country (i.e. no city light pollution) field to try it out in as much darkness as possible. Nevertheless, I’m satisfied with the throw. The throw is good, and I think the beam “shape” is good to provide a good focused beam but also enough spread for you to see what you need to be able to see.

I like that they provide numerous mount options. Generally I’m using the option to go on a rail, but it’s nice to have the “clamp” mount in my closet in case I wanted to use it on something like a shotgun or maybe my Savage bolt action rifle. I will say tho, there is some weight to the light so if you did clamp it onto the barrel, you best re-check your zero because even a tiny bit of weight out there could bend your barrel just enough to change your point of impact vs. point of aim. While a different specific issue, The Box O’Truth #51 talks about the effects of a rifle rest on your POI vs. POA; essentially the same issue, about affecting your barrel.

If there’s anything I don’t like, it’s the rechargeable batteries. They’re nice and all, but I just hate having to manage rechargeable batteries. Some can do X, some can’t. Some can be charged over and over no matter how much they’ve been used, some need to be drained all the way. It’s just a bother to me to try to keep everything straight. To their credit, theirs are fairly straightforward and simple; it’s just a personal thing. However, if you want to you can use CR123A’s, which is cool. I’m not sure how that affects the output nor the runtime, but to at least have it as an option is welcome, especially if you get caught out somewhere with dead rechargeables.

Another possible source of complaint. I got the tailcap switch with the button that would click on and click off. The click is loud. It’s very tactile with a lot of positive feedback, which I like. Plus you can half-depress it to momentarily enable/disable the light. But it’s still loud. That said, checking their website now it seems they have come up with a whole new switch which looks like it solves a lot of the problems. I obviously haven’t tried the new switch, but on paper it seems like a good version 2.0 improvement.

All things said, I like the light. Any nits are my own personal tastes or something they appear to have remedied. While the hog we whacked wasn’t taken at night with the light, we used the light frequently on the two evenings we were out and it served us well to scout and keep tabs on everything.

My son’s first hog

Oldest just passed a milestone — he bagged his first hog; in fact, he bagged his first anything. And it’s a doozy.

The Big Weekend

I’ve been trying, struggling to have a weekend hunt with my long-time friend Charles, of Tactical Gun Review. Something always comes up, usually on my part, and we can’t get together. Charles has a deer lease in the South Central Texas area, but what makes it a great lease is not just the property but that he has year-round access to it. Outside of deer season you can go fishing, dove hunting, turkey hunting, and yes… hog hunting. A few months back we set this weekend on our calendars as a “must do” and it happened. It wasn’t going to be just us tho, we brought our older sons with us as well, who have known each other for just as many years as Charles and I have known each other.

The goal for the weekend? Have fun. If we could bag a hog? even better. And while I would have loved to have bagged a hog myself, what I really wanted was for Oldest to bag one. He’s been out in the field with me before, sometimes a bust, sometimes we got something, but it was always me that did the work, he was just a spectator. This time, he was going to do the work. 🙂

Friday after work I packed my car with food, some clothing and essentials, a few rifles, and away we went. On the rifle front, I originally wanted him to use the 6.8 SPC. The whole reason I bought the 6.8 was for kids to use it because it doesn’t recoil that hard, shorter and thus easier to manage, plus some time ago I bought a powerful red LED flashlight to mount on the rifle precisely for hog hunting. But I changed my mind. Instead, I had him shoot the Savage bolt-action in .308 Win. My reasoning? It was a simpler manual of arms to operate (no gun, light, etc.), and that .308 would provide a much wider margin of error. Being as this would be his first time, he’d get excited, heart pounding, might rush things… never know. I figured the .308 would work out better for him. Prior to the hunt I had him work the rifle dry at home: get a feel for the trigger, learn how to work the bolt. He learned how to work the gun, but he had never live fired it. In fact, he’s never shot something as big as a .308; he’s had aversions to shooting rifles larger than a .22 LR because he doesn’t like the noise, but acknowledges that if he wants to bag something he has to. So, this was into the fire feet first. 🙂

First Night

We arrived Friday evening but with more than enough daylight to get us into the blind and wait. We parked our cars, pulled out the rifles, climbed into “The Beast” (an old Toyota 4×4 Charles keeps at the property for getting around) and headed for a stock tank on one side of the property where hogs had been seen. Unfortunately the pop-up blind blew into the tank, so we just plopped down on stools under a tree and obscured by tall grass. We waited. Night fell, but with that “super-moon” out you could see a lot going on, it was so bright.

We never saw any hogs. Some deer, an owl, lots of other critters. But alas, no hogs. We piled back into The Beast and checked out some other tanks, parking The Beast well away from the area and stalking up on it. It was obvious there was activity, just not when we were around. Ah well. We eventually headed back to the cabin for dinner and hanging out around the campfire drinking beer (boys – root beer, dad’s Dogfish Head brown ale) until the wee hours.

Saturday Morning

After a few hours of sleep we headed back out. Charles put Oldest and I at one of the stock tanks we visited Friday night, while he and his son headed to another area. The sun came up. A turkey was calling and showing and we watched him for a while. Then across the stock tank, probably 100 yards or so away, 2 does. No, 3 does… 4… 5… 6. It was nice to watch all those does grazing, but darn that the season is well-over. 🙂  After maybe 15 minutes or so we noticed the does spooked and took off. Seconds later we see why.

Hogs.

We were atop a high bank on one side of the tank. The opposite bank was probably 60 yards away, then up that bank 35 yards or so starts a tree line. Deep within those trees we saw all these little black masses running across the way. Yes yes yes! Hogs! But they were way back in the trees running in a manner that took them directly away from us with no chance of a shot. Oh man!

“Son, get your gun! get your gun! get it up! get ready!”

I of course went for my gun too, but I put it down. This was for him. Yes I’d love to get one myself, but this was for him. I was going to be the eyes, the coach.

Come on piggy… come on… please don’t run off…. yes!

We see the pigs turn and one by one start to run into the area. It’s a stock tank. Water. Plus there was a corn feeder at the far end. Food. A perfect ambush spot: at food and water. A swarm of piglets runs out. I don’t know… 30, 40, 50 of them? A lot. They all headed right for the feeder. Adults follow out of the trees but head down to the water.

YES!

One goes to drink but is head-on facing us. “No son, can’t” Come on… turn… turn…

More big hogs come down to drink.

“SONSONSONSON! There!  That one!”

A big one. Drinking. Perfectly broadside. And… holding still. You see, hogs almost never stop, they are almost always in motion so windows of opportunity for a shot can be hard to come by. But drinking? He stopped, he was still. Perfect opportunity.

“You got him?”

“Got him.”

“OK, let it rip!”

And the rifle roared.

He got him.

The hog ran for maybe 25 yards, did a circle and dropped.

High fives all around.

I don’t know if I’ve ever seen Oldest so excited. 🙂  He was wired. Electrified!

Once we confirmed he was down, and of course all the other hogs scattered from the sound of the gunshot, we left the blind and headed over to see him.

I thought he was maybe 150 lbs? But I’m terrible at such estimates. We snapped copious amounts of pictures. We sent text messages to Wife (and kiddos back home), to Oldest’s grandfather and uncle (Wife’s family, life-long hunters). Much happiness.

While waiting for Charles to come get us, another hog came through the trees! I snapped up my rifle and knelt down, got a bead on him and was prepared to take the shot, but a clear shot never presented itself. Either the hog wasn’t positioned well or there were trees/brush in the way. Eventually the hog got close enough, noticed us, and took off running. A second hog would have been nice, but no matter.

Heaving this big boy into the truck was a chore, even with a winch. But we got him back to the cabin, hoisted him up and weighed him.

Just over 250 lbs..

That’s big.

We gutted him (I got more practice at cleaning an animal) and while looking at the organs I saw the heart. The bullet had fully penetrated the heart. Right through the shoulder — and the massively thick “shield” (and his was a formidable one), right through the heart, and complete passthrough. Based upon how the entry and exit wounds looked, it looks like that Barnes Bullet functioned as advertised. This is why I love Barnes Bullets. For the record, it was a Federal Premium P308H Vital Shok (165 grain Barnes TSX). I figure he was shot at about 60 yards, so he got hit with that 165 grain bullet going about 2500 fps and probably hit with 2300 ft/lbs or so of energy, with that Barnes Bullet expanding and dumping almost all of that energy inside the body.

The Rest of the weekend

After we dressed the hog, we put him in a walk-in cooler because we were tired and not in the mood to clean him fully. Went fishing, and Oldest caught a nice bass. Best I did was get some nibbles and got one on but he jumped and threw the hook. Charles landed a nice one, and his son did too. But fishing didn’t last long as it was getting hot and we were all tired and hungry. Back to the cabin, eat, nap.

Upon rising, Charles and I went back to the task of cleaning the hog. That was a chore. Son, next time you need to shoot a small hog. 🙂 I’ve never shot a hog this size or dealt with one this size this close up. It was constantly amazing to me how thick his shield was. The entire side of this hog was just armor, thick, and very heavy. You need a solid and strong bullet, all hail the mighty Barnes. We spoke with the ranch manager and he contacted a local guy to see what we could do with the head. We’re going to see about having a European mount done. We don’t need to make a trophy out of everything, but this is not just his first but yes it is a big one. Might as well have something more than just memories. 🙂

We went back out that evening but we didn’t see anything. Charles and his son did have an opportunity, but the hog ran off and they were unable to connect on the running shot (it’s not easy). Oh and Charles’ son had a bummer earlier. While we were cleaning the hog, Charles’ son was still out in the field. Hogs came by, he stalked up, knelt and took aim and… click. The round didn’t go off. Bad primer? hard primer? who knows, but no bang. He was quick enough to work the bolt and chamber a new round, but alas by then the hogs were off. Bummer that he didn’t get the shot off, but he did everything right from staying in the field to stalking to remedying the malfunction. I say that’s well-worthy of praise!

Had to get home early on Sunday so we left before sunrise, leaving Charles and his son sleeping in the cabin. Bummer we had to go so soon, but we were both tired and drained and ready for a shower. 😉  Charles has the bigger cooler and will drop the meat off on his way home. I’ll take it to the butcher in a few days and we’ll have lots of sausage in the freezer.

My take

I’m so happy.

Oh sure, if I bagged one that’d be nice… but this was so much better. It’s great to see my Son so excited, so ready, so happy. But also, so disciplined. He took instruction from me so well, from studying anatomy charts, to listening to me talking about visualizing success, imagining the hog there, calming yourself, finding the target (“Aim small, miss small, right Dad?”), don’t take too long but also don’t rush it, smooth trigger press. He did everything right, and it paid off.

What all did he take from this? I don’t know. He doesn’t really know either, other than the immediate payoff of the joy of the accomplishment along with lots of meat. As his uncle congratulated him, “You put dinner, lunch, and breakfast on the table!”. I’m thinking more about the long-term. Will there be something in his life that will be able to be traced back to this weekend, to that moment? We’ll just have to wait and see.

Meantime, I have guns to clean. It’s all sandy out there and there’s grit and sand in everything. You work the bolt on that rifle and it just grinds and makes me cringe. I can’t expand/collapse the stock on my 6.8 without it sounding like sandpaper. I think that was the only bummer of the weekend was all the sand and dust everywhere.

I must give big thanx to Charles. His support and generosity made this all possible. Thank you, my friend. Y’all go visit and support his site, Tactical Gun Review.

Son, you did good. I’m proud of you.

Legislative progress

Sorry. Overwhelmed. But some good news from the Texas Legislative session regarding the gun bills.

SB 321 (parking lot) passed the Senate floor. Nice.

HB 681 (parking lot) is out of committee. Apparently there were some changes, so we’ll see how it fares on the floor and reconciliation. But so far, so good.

CHL on campus (HB 750) was heard in the House committee and passed out. Looks like HB 86, HB 1167, HB 1356, HB 2178, all variations on the theme, were left pending in committee.

Looks like SB 354, Senate version, is going to be heard in Committee on Tuesday March 22.

Range bill passed Senate committee. Good.

Looks like things are moving along nicely.

Support the TSRA. If you’re a gun owner in Texas, you owe a lot to the TSRA.

Why should we learn lifesaving skills, like CPR?

The local chapter of the American Red Cross has this babysitter boot camp. It’s a two-day course that teaches not just stuff about babysitting (and certifies you in that), but there are aspects of how to run a business. While that’s good, the “boot camp” adds CPR and First Aid certification. It was an opportunity that knocked, and I enrolled Oldest and Daugther in it.

Daughter wanted to be there. Oldest was made to go. I want Oldest to take the course because no only do I think it will help his gift in working with small children, but First Aid and CPR certified? To me, that’s worth it.

I think about the notion of CPR and the notion of First Aid. Why do we encourage people to learn these skills? Here’s what Citizen CPR of Tulsa, OK says on their website:

Why Learn CPR?

Cardiovascular disease is very common — it’s the #1 killer in US and in Oklahoma.
Heart attacks can happen suddenly, especially if you and your family have one or more risk factors (family history, overweight, poor diet, smoking, etc).

Most medical emergencies occur in a person’s home or other place of recreation.

You can’t count on medical personnel to be nearby when you have an emergency, because chances are greater for sudden cardiac arrest to occur at home. If your family and friends don’t know CPR, life can be lost in mere minutes while waiting for help to arrive.

The reasons for learning CPR and first aid are simple: because when a situation that requires those skills happens, the fastest person to respond is the person right there when it happens. In a case like CPR of course it has to be someone else. For first aid, the situation may be something you can perform on yourself and certainly no one can be closer to you than you nor respond faster to you than you.

So we seem to grant and acknowledge that life-saving skills are important to know. That the more people we have on our streets with those skills, the better it is for society in general. Just ask Howard Snitzer.

With that in mind, let’s do a little word substitution. Same sort of importance about life-saving skills, just a different skill:

Violent crime can happen suddenly.

You can’t count on law enforcement personnel to be nearby when you have an emergency, because chances are greater for sudden violent crime to occur anywhere. If your family and friends don’t know how to defend themselves, life can be lost in mere minutes while waiting for help to arrive.

If we believe it’s important to know how to save lives, why are there people who say saving lives with CPR is permissible but saving lives by carrying a firearm is not?

Syd said it best.