Fractional plates

One of the hallmarks of the Starting Strength program is that you are constantly making forward progress, that you are always adding weight every workout.

Granted, you can’t always increase by large poundages. So maybe you start off increasing in 10# increments, but that’ll be sustainable only for so long. So eventually you drop down to increasing 5# increments. Eventually that won’t be sustainable, you want to drop down to maybe 2.5# increments. But that’s where a lot of people run into trouble. Most standard gyms and Olympic weight sets only offer 2.5# plates as the smallest increment, so you can only jump 5# at a time.

There are some places you can find 1.25# plates so you can do 2.5# jumps, but even then what if you want smaller jumps? On the SS program even if you can only go up 1#, that’s still progressing and what it’s all about.

So how to manage the fractional weights? There are lots of approaches.

You can get baseball bat weights, which can go down to being 8 oz. in weight, so that can allow you to move in 1# increments. I looked at these and while they’ll fit on an Olympic bar, they’re also expensive at $5 each (that was the price at my local store). So you’ll have to drop $10 for one set, and you’ll want a few sets to allow you to span a 5# distance in those 1# increments. That adds up. Plus, they’re bulky.

Some people go to the hardware store and are able to find large washers that will fit. If you can do this and find washers with reasonable matched weight, that’s not a bad way to go and generally isn’t too costly. Or if you’re at the hardware store, get small links of steel chain and make loops that you can hang off the end.

I even saw one suggestion somewhere (can’t remember the web page now) where someone used cloth and pennies, rolling the pennies into little “sausage link bundles” and then into a looped chain.

Whatever works! It’s just weight. Doesn’t have to be fancy.

But when I was looking around for a solution, I came across what are called “fractional plates”. I found 2 brands: one from Iron Woody Fitness, and the other from APT Pro Gear. Unfortunately everyone was out of stock, but I found some on eBay:

What I liked about these was the clean increments: 1/4#, 1/2#, 3/4#, 1#, 2 plates of each. So, you now have the ability to move in 1/2# increments and cover a 5# range. Sweet! Plus the color-coding is nice for quick reference. Just keep these in your gym bag and off you go.

Sure it’s not as home-brewed as other solutions, but I like this because it’s a “clean” solution. It’s not moving in 6 oz. increments or 1.333# increments. Really of course, it doesn’t matter… but I guess I just like the nice clean “round numbers”. 🙂

Bottom line: the program needs some way to do smaller increments. Whatever way you get there, so long as you do.

2011-06-08 workout

Today’s workout was another “first workout”. The exercises were squat, press, and deadlift.

While Monday’s workout didn’t have me leaving the gym feeling exhausted, I did feel worked. And no question, I worked something given the muscle soreness I had. 😉  Worst? my thigh adductors. The form Rippetoe describes for the squat brings those into play, which is good. But walking to the gym helped to warm things up and the first set of squats helped further warm and stretch things out. Felt fine after that.

It felt kinda funny today to spend it all at the squat rack, but that’s how it goes. 🙂

Went like this:

Squat

  • 2x5x45 (bar-only warmup, every exercise starts this way)
  • 1x5x45 (warmup)
  • 1x3x65 (warmup)
  • 1x2x95 (warmup, calculations should have been 90, but “plate math” was easier to just go 95)
  • 3x5x115 (work)

This was my second time squatting, so now I can actually follow the routine. The pattern will basically be like this, where I figure out what the work weight will be (right now, I’m going up 10# each workout, so Friday I’ll be doing 125# for my 3×5 work sets), and then the warmups are basically: 2×5 bar only, 1×5 40% of work weight, 1×3 60% work weight, 1×2 80% work weight. Those warm ups are good. Using the bar only helped me to get stretched and limber (esp. given my soreness) and also to just remember to work on form. I did recall the last warmup set thinking “ok, this is a little heavy”, and that’s what it should be: that it’s easy to do, but it mentally prepares you for the heavy that’s about to come. And sure enough, I put the 115 on my back and my brain went “whoa! cool!”. 🙂

I’m still getting used to the low-bar position, but I did much better with it today. The flexibility will come, just have to keep remembering to pull my elbow back to make the padding/pocket for the bar to rest on.

I felt worked, but not exhausted. The work sets weren’t killer, so I know I’ve still got big progression in me for a bit longer.

Rest? I didn’t rest much during the warmups… just enough to figure out the plates I needed and put them on. I don’t recall how much I did rest between the work sets, but probably 2-3-ish minutes. I just recall making sure I felt fresh and like I could do it.

Press

  • 1x5x45
  • 1x5x55
  • 4x5x65

This was my first press, so I started with the empty bar and went up 10# each set. When I hit 65# I thought that was good enough to start with. I did feel like I could have done more, but I realized as I was going along that I was forgetting some key things about my form, like moving back under the bar as soon as it clears your head. Just a lot of points to remember and I didn’t remember them all, tho that one was probably more key than any others. Basically by the 4th set I’d remember it on my 2nd rep and finish out the last 3 reps properly. That also got the squeeze at the top, like you never stop pressing. I opted to do a 4th set just to help reinforce the movement and form.

The weight is conservative, but that’s fine. I need to get form right. Weight will come.

Deadlift

  • 1x5x95
  • 1x5x105
  • 1x5x115
  • 1x5x125
  • 1x5x135

This was my first deadlift, so again it was just a basic 10# progression. I started at 95# tho because of the nature of the deadlift: needing to have the bar somewhat off the floor. The gym has 25# and 45# plates, so I figured to just start at 95# and that’d get me going. I probably should have put some risers underneath the plates to bring them to 45-plate height, but meh… I’m not sweating it. Yes I noticed form was a lot better on the 135 due in part to the height of the bar, and if the gym had bumper plates I’d use them. But, I’ll manage. Besides, it gets me to stretch my hamstrings a little more, which is good.

Another case of feeling like I could have done more, but again, let’s be conservative. This is one where I need to spend more time working on my form. I wasn’t bad, but I betcha a video of the lifts would have been ugly. 😉  I got better as I went along, but basically I need to review the DVD and book again on press and deadlift form, do more “dry work” at home (I have a 6′ rattan staff from my Kuk Sool days, which offers no weight, but it’s a bar and enough to help me work on form). I’ll get there.

Overall, the workout was good. I’m trying to be conservative, focus on form, and that weight and such will come in time.  I do like the utter simplicity of this workout plan. And that it’s so proven and tested gives me a lot to look forward to.

 

2011-06-06 workout

Finally! Back to the gym. I can’t remember the last time I looked so forward to going to the gym (any gym, be it weights or martial arts). I’ve been really looking forward to starting Starting Strength. And today I did.

I’ve been reading the Starting Strength book and watching the DVD. I haven’t gotten through all of it yet, I wanted to focus on what was needed at the time: squat and bench press, as that’s todays workout. Between now and Wednesday I need to read and watch press and deadlift. But it was evident that the true SS program wouldn’t work for me, primarily because the gym I go to just doesn’t have the space nor proper equipment setup for doing power cleans. Shame. So instead, I’m doing Rippetoe’s Practical Programming novice routine. You can quickly see the programs at the SS wikia. But as well, I can’t do the PP routine exactly as-is either because I can’t do chin-ups/pull-ups because I’m just not strong enough. So instead, I’m doing inverted rows, which are a recommended exercise for building the strength needed to do full-fledged chin/pull-ups. I put the Smith machine on the 3rd peg from the bottom, which is just enough to allow me to hang with my back just off the ground, feet on the floor. Once I can do 3×15 of that, I’ll reevaluate my strength and determine from there what to do.

Today, being the first day, is about determining weights. Start with an empty bar, do a set of 5 reps, move up in 10# increments, lather/rinse/repeat until the speed of the bar slows down, there’s your weight, do 2 more sets and you’re done. Next workout will move up from there.

Here’s how things went for me (hrm… wordpress.com’s nested list support seems to be screwed up… even if you edit in raw HTML mode it reformats and screw things up).

Squat

  • 1x5x45
  • 1x5x55
  • 1x5x65
  • 1x5x75
  • 1x5x85
  • 1x5x95
  • 3x5x105

Bench press

  • 1x5x45
  • 1x5x55
  • 1x5x65
  • 1x5x75
  • 1x5x85
  • 1x5x95
  • 1x5x105
  • 3x5x115

Inverted rows (chin-up position)

  • 1x7x0 (bodyweight)
  • 1x6x0 (bodyweight)
  • 1x4x0 (bodyweight

One thing to note is rest periods: I didn’t do much. If I’m reading Rippetoe correctly, there isn’t any sort of hard line about how much rest to take between sets: it’s whatever is necessary. During the warm-ups sets you may only need enough time to change the weight on the bar then get back to it. During the work sets, you may need 3 or 5 or 7 or more minutes between sets. The bottom line seems to be, take whatever rest you need (within reason) to get the 5 reps. Since this is my first workout, I don’t really know where things lie, so I just kept moving: do 5, change the weight, get back under the bar. Once I got to a point where I felt “ok, this is the work weight” I took a little more time between sets, but never more than 2 minutes. Is this too little rest time? Well, probably. At this stage of the game, no it’s not. It’s constantly pounded into you to be humble, don’t let ego drive you — realize that on this program, it’s only a matter of time before you’ll be lifting heavy ego-satisfying weights, so just be patient. It’s better to start too low than too high. So I figured the worst that could happen from too little rest between sets is I might not get as high a weight as I could, but I saw no harm in this. I’m trying to be conservative. That said, things will change now that I know my starting weights.

Yes, my squats were less than my bench, which isn’t how it should be, but not unheard of for a n00b. I actually felt like I could have done a lot more, but again, let’s err on the conservative side. Plus, Rippetoe keeps saying that 85# is a typical starting point for most people, and kinda pounded on getting too far from that to start isn’t good. I wasn’t sure if that was for pure novices or what (because before my layoff I was doing 105 for a lot more reps, so certainly I know I could do more), but again… screw it, be conservative. I’m going to go up 10# a workout and you do squats every workout, so I’ll get up there in no time.

I did my best to stay with form that Rippetoe lays out. Makes a big difference! Of course, I still have a lot to refine and work on, but boy…. I could tell. It did feel odd in some respects, but it felt better in others. For instance, I’ve been doing high-bar squats and having a dog of a time getting the weight off the balls of my feet. Trying low-bar squats now feels so much better, so much more balance, but it’s also rather awkward since it’s a new movement. Plus, it’s going to take a few weeks for my arms and shoulders to get more flexible to have them pulled closer together and further back; wasn’t bad today, but there’s a lot of room for improvement.

I also need to get used to the Valsalva Maneuver. Spent all my life doing the “exhale on the exertion, inhale on the return” and I need to overcome that habit. There was a lot of stuff today to have to think about, so I tried to focus on the main things e.g. in squat to lift with my hips, but then I’d forget to do things like stare at the floor in front of me. I’ll get it all eventually, which is another good reason for not just warm-up sets but also starting light.

I got in and out of the gym pretty quickly too. I liked that! I know that won’t last, that workouts will get longer, but still it’s nice to get in and get out.

Anyways, I’m digging this. Progress should be slow and steady, but I’m sure will get more interesting in a few weeks.

A few random notes to myself:

  • on the bench press, putting my ring finger at the “groove” in the knurling gives me the best range of motion
  • watch your head on the squat rack. 🙂
  • 3rd peg from the bottom of the Smith machine for the rows
  • I might want to find out an iPod solution, because I’ll need something to do in between those long sets. 🙂
Can’t wait for Wednesday.

Too much marketing

I mentioned I’m changing my fitness goals. At first I thought doing the StrongLifts5x5 would be good, but then I changed my mind and I’m going with Rippetoe’s Starting Strength. I mentioned “less hype-y bullshit” and given what came in my inbox I want to expand upon that notion.

In order to get the SL5x5 program you have to give the guy your email address. That’s the first sign of marketing. But, I bite and give it to him. I then get an email with a link to the “Secret 5×5 report”. When I download the report it’s a 211 page PDF. And boy, when you get it, it’s a lot of marketing chaff and not a lot of wheat. Heck, starting on page 66 and going to page 207 is nothing but testimonials. Page 2 to 33 is a lot more marketing hype, which isn’t all crap, but just read how it’s put together and he’s being a total pitch-man as to why this approach — and his approach — are awesome and the be-all-end-all. Do the math there on page count and you can see there’s little wheat amongst lots of marketing chaff.

Each day I’ve been getting an email, and it’s always trying to be a tidbit of information, but then a P.S. with some sort of tease about what’s yet to come. I did wonder where his promised tracker spreadsheet was, and the emails finally started to say “it’s coming”. And so this morning I get the “here’s the spreadsheet” email (which of course has a P.S. about more information still to come, just stay tuned!)

And what happens? You go here and it’s a big survey. Yeah, you can’t get something for nothing… you want his spreadsheet, you need to answer his questions.

Now, don’t get me wrong. The StrongLifts.com website is a decent website with some good information. There are lots of articles, there’s even a forum… but why is the forum closed to new members? Oh I see, because if you want to join you have to give him your email address. Plus, it makes it seem more exclusive and somehow better. Marketing crap. I see nothing wrong with how someone wants to run their business. He’s doing nothing wrong, I just find what he’s doing annoying. This style of marketing bugs me because well… it doesn’t come across as genuine, just as some guy trying to pitch and sell and make money. I see nothing wrong with making money, but there’s an air of “slime” in this approach that just doesn’t sit with me. Front Sight does this as well, and it bugged me there too. USCCA did it too, but I hear they’ve gotten better. Heck, even some of the marketing stuff done by my day job company bugs me. It doesn’t mean the product vended isn’t good, but the way it’s gone about doesn’t sit well with me. It comes across like their priorities in life are backwards, but they’re just backwards from mine.

But that’s me. Here I am writing on my blog about lots of topics, and I’m more than willing to give a lot of good information away for free. Why? I’m more a teacher than a marketer. I’m more out to educate people than to get rich. I don’t feel a need to charge people or that I always have to get something that benefits me before I’ll give you something that benefits you. Some people would probably call me stupid for doing that, but I know what I’ve reaped based upon what I’ve sown and the yield is high.

Starting Starting Strength

I’m glad I opted to not do much “work” over the long weekend, because it gave me a lot of time and ability to read, to think, rethink, and reevaluate.

I am changing my fitness goals and I do believe a more straight-up strength training program is in the cards for me. No matter what, it seems that route will lead me closer to where and what I want. My goals may change again later on: maybe I realize I didn’t want this, that I don’t like it, that I want something totally different, or this is good but just needs refinement or has a hole that I need to fill. Either way, the bottom line is to shut up and lift.

Before I can lift, I need to figure out how.

While originally I was leaning towards the StrongLifts 5×5 method, I’m thinking I may instead do the “original” system of Mark Rippetoe’s “Starting Strength”. I ordered his books and DVD, and since he’s up in Wichita Falls I reckon the should get here within a few days. Meantime, I’ve been reading through the SS wikia. Why his? Frankly, there’s more information and a lot less hype-y bullshit. It’s old-school, proven, and straightforward. Plus, there’s a lot more support and resources for learning how to do things right, which is key. Just watching some YouTube videos of Rippetoe discussing proper form on squat taught me a LOT that I didn’t know, and apparently a lot of people don’t know since I’ve obviously gotten a lot of wrong advice over the years.

The one catch? I will not be able to do the original SS program (A – squat/bench/deadlift, B – squat/press/power cleans). Instead, what I’m going to have to do is his Practical Programming Novice program: Mon – squat/bench/chin-ups, Wed – Squat/press/deadlift, Fri- squat/bench/pull-ups. Why? There’s just no way at the gym I go to that I can do the power cleans. Not enough room, consideration for other patrons, etc.; if you saw the gym, you’d understand. Kinda sucks, but there we go. I’m actually not even sure how deadlifting will work out given the room factor. Regardless, I think things should work out alright.

Another thing I’ve decided is to fully track my progress here, including weights. There’s an ego thing involved for sure because hey… we’re men, we’re supposed to be strong, and lifting weights less than 3 digits (or really, 135#… meaning a proper olympic bar with 2 45# plates) is a hit to the male ego. To post that today I only benched 85# is like proclaiming to the world in a tangible, measurable way how wussy I am. But… screw it. We all have to start somewhere. My strength is what it is. The difference? I’m doing something about it. If this program works out as it should, I’ll be putting on more weight every workout, I’ll be growing stronger by the day, and it won’t be all that long before I stop working with “wussy weight” and am moving around more weight than I ever imagined. But I have to be humble. I must check my ego. I must remember the long-haul. In the end, it will all pay off.

Getting concrete…. I may stay out of the gym this week and instead work on form and movement at home. Why? Well, one simple thing is I just gave blood so I need to wait a few days to let me arm heal up. But more importantly, I still have a lot of information to digest. Plus, it’s difficult to refer to my laptop while in the gym. Instead, I can watch videos, read instructions, and work on the basics at home so I’m not wasting time (mine and of others) in the gym. Mental. Visualization. Preparation. Get it right, get form down. That’s been my biggest issue so far, so why continue to fuck around and do it wrong?

Onwards and upwards.

Lack of fitness, but a change of goals?

I must like going to the gym because I hate that I haven’t worked out in over 2 weeks. I caught something (I’m thinking when I went to the Lazarus A.D. show), sore throat, then turned into a wicked sinus infection. It’s taken 10 days of antibiotics and finally I can breathe normally (take my last tablet tonight). Still a bit of hacking up crap, but geez… this sucked! Anyways, I finally feel well enough to go to the gym. Thing is, I won’t be going back for a few more days as I’m going to donate blood tomorrow so I’ll need a few days off. I think it’s a worthwhile trade.

While the time off has sucked, it’s also done me well. I was doing a very simple full body routine. It was a good routine to get me back into the groove, but I knew it wasn’t a routine I could stay for the long term, just enough to get my body used to lifting again. I was thinking about what to do and was thinking about taking a traditional 2-day split working 4 days a week, doing something like upper body Mon/Thu and lower body and abs Tue/Fri. I’d keep with the same basic compound exercises I’m already using but then add in an isolation exercise per bodypart, like keeping bench press and add in dumbbell flies, or expanding to hit other muscles in the group, like keeping barbell rows and adding in lat pulldowns. That was my plan.

But I’m not so sure I want to keep on it.

I was flipping through old bookmarks and went to the Beast Skills website. There was a video of the guy in a powerlifting competition and he mentioned how he used the “Wendler 5/3/1 method”. Never heard of that before, so off to Google I went.

Very interesting stuff. I like his approach, simple, no bullshit. You can Google for all the information you want, or pick up his eBook. I bought the eBook, it’s a quick read, but is full of a lot of useful information. Found a bunch of other useful information out there too.

So I tossed around the notion of trying his method, but the more I read the more I realize no, it’s not right for me. I’m still a beginner (some classify a beginner as anyone that can’t yet squat 1.5x his bodyweight; so, I’m a beginner); it’s a routine meant for later. But as I dug around I started to read about guys like Mark Rippetoe and his “Starting Strength“, and even found this StrongLifts 5×5.

I got to thinking.

All my life whenever I lifted weights I did it in a bodybuilding manner, so naturally when I started up again here I was taking that approach and mentality.

The more I think about it? I don’t want to do that. Well yes, I do want to look good… I don’t want to look like a fat blob that can move a lot of weight but can’t tie his own shoes without getting winded (Jim Wendler’s whole reasoning for coming up with 5/3/1 resonates here), but I also really no longer care about worshiping Joe Weider. I want functional strength. And yes, I want to move a lot of weight. Sorry, CrossFit doesn’t appeal to me (sorry Dave!). For the first time, powerlifting holds some appeal in my book.

So I think I’m going to throw it all out the door and start over. From what I can read, the SS or SL5x5 would be a good place to start. And really, SS would be THE place to start, but I’m going to start with SL5x5. Why? Because they’re both based upon the same theory, but SL5x5 is actually better for the pure rank beginner, especially since I don’t have a strength coach to help me out. Even the SS wikia promotes this approach (it’s a wiki so take it for what it’s worth, but still. Updated: apparently that blurb comes straight from Olympic Coach Glenn Pendlay, so I reckon that’s some sound backing). In trying to sort the wheat from the chaff, the only real downside to the SL5x5 is that I’ll probably stall out faster and want to back off to SS (e.g. from 5×5 to 3×5) or SL does have a “SL3x5” and “SL1x5” sort of deload progression so, there’s something to it all. But either way, they should get me going. Then once I truly stall out on these, then something like Wendler’s 5/3/1 can come into the picture. When will that be? Who knows… everyone’s different.

But I think I want to give this a try. I’ve been rolling it around in my head for a few days and while initially it’s going to feel like a big step back, the ego check will be good because well… I think reading Wendler’s book gave me a lot of perspective, to consider the real long term goals: on his system you’ll only go up 5#/month on bench/overhead and 10#/month squat/deadlift, but that’ll add up to around 50# and 100# at the end of a year, and over the long haul, that’ll amount to some amazing gains. But it’s all about the long-term, not about the instant ego gratification. I’m older now, I think I’m willing to accept that. 🙂

I’m also going to order some of Rippetoe’s books.

We’ll see how it goes.

2011-05-16 workout

No workout.

I woke up this morning feeling less than optimal. My throat is very sore, and I’m just overall not feeling it. Not sure what gives. If I am coming down with something, I need rest more than I need a workout… workout will just break my body down more, and if I’m already down, a workout really won’t help.

If I’m feeling better tomorrow, I’ll work out tomorrow. Else I’ll save it until Thursday.

2011-05-12 workout

Today’s workout was different.

Last workout, owner/trainer saw I was leaning a little too far forward when doing squats. I worked to correct that then, but even more so this workout. In fact, I dropped the weight slightly so I could be stricter. The thing is, when I squat without anything on my shoulders, I still lean forward; it’s just how my body structure is to maintain balance. That said, I can still improve my form and did. I “pushed back” so my weight was more on my heels than my toes. I felt my quads working a LOT more. One side-effect was that I worked slower. My reps weren’t powering through, but going slower, probably from 1 second to 2 seconds per rep. There was much more focus on feeling the main muscles contract. I focused harder on just letting that muscle do the work. That is, say on bench press instead of just moving the weight up, I was really intensely focused on just letting my pecs contract and the weight moved up because the contraction pulled my upper arm in. It’s a different mode of thought and movement. I try doing this all the time, but today the focus on that was much more intense than any past workout, and held throughout the workout.

So squats started it off, but it just carried into the entire workout. So yeah, some reps or weight might have dropped compared to the previous workout, but the intensity level was higher and THAT is more important.

This is why I don’t want to rush into a new workout routine yet, because I know I’ll focus more on that routine than these sorts of minute details. The details matter more.