2011-12-14 workout

“200 pounds is always 200 pounds” – Henry Rollins

Indeed it is.

“Week 3”

  • 5/3/1 – Bench Press (working max: 210#)
    • 2x5x45 (warmup)
    • 1x5x85
    • 1x5x105
    • 1x3x130
    • 1x5x160 (work)
    • 1x3x180
    • 1x6x200 (PR)
  • Asst. #1 – Bench Press
    • 5 x 10 x 120
  • Asst. #2 – DB Rows
    • 5 x 10 x 50
  • DeFranco Agile 8

Today was good and bad.

The good was setting a PR of 1x6x200. Broke the 200# barrier on bench press. First in my life. Kinda cool. Yeah, 300 is in my sights, but first, 205. And 6 reps, I can take that.

I’ve been noticing, when I bench the large weights, I lose all lower body stability. Every other time I work hard to keep my feet planted and my legs tight. But I pick up that 200 and everything went south. I don’t know why. I catch myself and work to plant it, but it’s never as solid and tight as it should be. Something to work on.

But after that point, the workout went downhill. I just felt gassed. The 50’s on the rows felt so heavy today for some reason. I didn’t sprint, originally due to the fact it’s raining and very slippery out (almost wiped out on the sidewalk leaving the gym), but kinda glad to skip it if I’m so pooped… why further the exhaustion. On the Agile 8 I just wasn’t feeling it. I did get only 5 hours of sleep last night… kinda for a stupid reason. Went to bed late due to a need to talk with Wife about some stuff, but then woke up around 3 AM for a bathroom break and I didn’t let myself go back to bed because I knew if I did I wouldn’t get up until 5:30 or so and that means I wouldn’t be in the gym until 7 and that’s too late. I wanted to get in early today. So, likely a mistake on my part to not have rested up well last night.

I’m happy for the PR, but unhappy about the rest of the workout. Oh well. It happens. Chalk it up, move on.

I have been thinking about some adjustments to my program, what with my next cycle starting soon. Been reading the second edition of the Wendler 5/3/1 book and it got me thinking about a few things. I’ll probably have a rambling post at some point about it all. 🙂

2011-12-12 workout

Nothing like a fantastic workout to start the week off right. Set a fantastic personal record (PR), and everything just went awesome.

“Week 3”

  • 5/3/1 – Deadlift (working max: 295#)
    • 1x5x120
    • 1x5x150
    • 1x3x180
    • 1x5x225 (work)
    • 1x3x255
    • 1x8x285 (PR)
  • Asst. #1 – Good Mornings
    • 5 x 10 x 65
  • Asst. #2 – Hanging Leg Hip Raise
    • 5 x 10 x WT
  • GPP – Sprints
    • Tabata style (20 sec. sprint, 10 sec. walk)
    • 2 “laps” walking (warmup)
    • 5 “reps” (8 reps is one Tabata set)
    • 2 “laps” walking (cooldown)
  • Grip
    • 2x10xS, 2 sec. hold between reps
    • 3x5xT, 2 sec. hold between reps
    • 1 10 sec hold, No. 1
  • DeFranco Agile 8

Today just kicked-ass.

Set a great PR, 1x8x285. I don’t know if it’s because I love deadlifting, or if I love deadlifting because I get to move a lot of weight and there’s something just fundamentally primal about picking a shitload of weight off the ground as a show of strength (same with overhead pressing). Whatever it is, deadlift days are probably my favorite and today demonstrated why. Just strong strong strong. Everything moved well. I stopped at 8 reps because in fact I actually felt my back muscles say “OK, starting to feel exhausting, leave a couple in the tank.” which is different from past times where I’ve stopped for some other reason (e.g. last week’s deadlift stopping because of lightheadedness). Just went really well, and honestly I can’t wait to break the 300# barrier.

Good mornings were a bitch because I actually exhausted my back pretty well during the deadlifts. 🙂

During the leg raises I noticed… well, I’ve noticed the past time or two that I’m starting to curl all the way up, kinda gymnast-like. The way Wendler describes you to do things, you actually do it with straight legs and bring your toes up to the bar. Well, I can’t quite do it with legs extended, but the thighs and body are certainly in the proper position that if legs were straight they would be touching. I’m finding myself getting into the movement a bit more, still minimizing momentum, still trying to be as dead-hang as possible so it’s all me muscling through it, but increasing the full range of motion. This is good.

Sprints continue to feel better each time I do them, body is getting used to it, slow but sure. Same with the Agile 8.

On grip…. well, in and of itself it’s fine. But I picked up the second edition of the Wendler 5/3/1 book and of course I’m having some thoughts on how to tweak my program. Assistance work is supposed to help you work on weak spots, and grip/forearms are in there. So I’m thinking about things to do… many thoughts swirling in my head, no firm idea yet. But one thought is bringing “rest-pause” into the mix and maybe ditching the “light” day of my grip work (on bench press/row day) and instead doing something like pronated-grip/reverse curls to work the brachioradialis in a rest-pause set (1x5x50%, then 1×60% rest-pause style… after rows, and that’s all I add). Not sure, we’ll see. Just thinking a lot, no need to make a decision for a while yet.

Anyways, today felt awesome.

Speaking of the 2nd edition of Wendler 5/3/1, another thing I’m trying to do is change up the diet a bit more. I’ve been doing well on the “carb” thing, minimizing carbs from high-carb sources and worthless carbs, but lots and lots of veggies, green leafies, etc., tho I still have some carbs (e.g. oats in the post-workout shake) and other such things. But the bigger thing is more protein. One of Wendler’s templates has you chug 50g of whey just before a meal, then have about 30-50g of meat during the meal (followed by some other carbs and such) and do this 4-6 times a day. I’m working on about 4x a day because that’ll put me at about 300-400g protein a day, with minimal other stuff (fats are still reasonable, carbs kept minimal tho again lots of low-carb veggies). And we’ll see how it goes. I have been thinking I need to up my protein for various reasons, but I’ll have to watch it because I do not want to just get fat which has happened in the past when I consumed vast quantities of protein, but I think it was also because I didn’t mind my other macronutrient intake.

Just experimenting.

2011-12-09 workout

Set an awesome, but strangely anti-climatic, personal record.

“Week 3”

  • 5/3/1 – Press (working max: 140#)
    • 2x5x45 (warmup)
    • 1x5x55
    • 1x5x70
    • 1x3x85
    • 1x5x105 (work)
    • 1x3x120
    • 1x5x135 (PR)
  • Asst. #1 – Press
    • 5 x 10 x 65
  • Asst. #2 – Supinated shoulder-width grip lat pulldowns
    • 5 x 10 x 120
  • GPP – Sprints
    • Tabata style (20 sec. sprint, 10 sec. walk)
    • 2 “laps” walking (warmup)
    • 5 “reps” (8 reps is one Tabata set)
    • 2 “laps” walking (cooldown)
  • DeFranco Agile 8

Today’s PR was a significant one because I broke into the realm of 45# plates on my press. 🙂

But oddly, it was anti-climactic. Of course, I knew for weeks this PR day was coming and I knew I’d set a PR because that’s just how the program progresses. I was really looking forward to it for the fact I’d be using 45’s and while I don’t lift for ego, there’s no question the ego gets satisfied with things like that. Once you start moving 45’s, you start to feel like you’re moving real weight. So I’ve been looking forward to today for weeks. Even last night before I went to bed I was giddy with excitement. When I loaded the plates onto the bar it felt cool. I was smiling a lot. When I pulled the bar out of the rack, it felt a little different because there’s a change in how the weight feels with the larger plates (center of gravity and such), but really not a whole lot. And I just pressed like anything else. When I was done and racked the bar, I thought I might feel some elation and excitement, but it just felt like any old press set.

In a way, I was bummed… but then, I don’t know what I was expecting to feel because it’s just weight. But in a way, I thought it was kinda cool I didn’t feel anything special about it because it’s just weight. The body and muscles don’t care that it’s 45# plates, only my mind and ego.

So still, very cool. I’m happy to have cranked out 5 reps with it. And now, life goes on… next up, 140#. And so on, and so on.

One thing on a form factor, I continue to work with my breathing so I don’t get all light-headed. I am finding that just breathing regularly up to the bar, tighten up and hold breath and unrack, if I feel the need then exhale while I get into position but keep tight, take as many breaths as I need before I start doing the movement to get my head clear and solid (tho not too long, of course), and then get going. On Press it’s slightly different since I want to breathe at the top of the movement so, I breath, press the first rep up, then breath again and THERE I start my rhythm… so it’s a bit of an “off beat” but alright.

Everything else rolled OK. I am thinking that sooner or later I’m going to stop doing lat pulldowns and try going back to chin-ups. Not sure I’m ready for it yet, but I have thought about buying a band to help me if I can’t yet crank out enough reps. The goal is of course to do proper chins, and so who knows… maybe if I’m not there yet I shouldn’t just crank 5×10 across on my lat pulldowns but try to move it more to a 5×5 across to get the strength up. We’ll see.

2011-12-07 workout

I’m glad I’m repeating the cycle.

“Week 2”

  • 3 reps – Squat (working max: 240#)
    • 2x5x45 (warmup)
  • 1x5x120
  • 1x3x145
  • 1x3x170 (work)
  • 1x3x195
  • 1x5x220
  • Asst. #1 – Squats
    • 5 x 10 x 100
  • Asst. #2 – Leg Curls
    • 5 x 10 x 65
  • GPP – Sprints
    • Tabata style (20 sec. sprint, 10 sec. walk)
    • 2 “laps” walking (warmup)
    • 5 “reps” (8 reps is one Tabata set)
    • 2 “laps” walking (cooldown)
  • DeFranco Agile 8
  • I am glad I opted to fall back on squats and repeat my weights/numbers from the previous cycle. What with the sprinting, I think I need it. I repeated my performance from last cycle, doing 5 reps with 220. This actually felt better tho. I’m working on the “light headed” feeling by getting under the bar without much fanfare and extra breathing. Big breath in, tighten up, lift the bar, and keep myself tight as I back out BUT allow myself to exhale while I back out. The struggle here is letting the air out while maintaining tightness. Get into position, allow myself a couple breaths, then go. And that seems to be helping. Good deal.

    Sprints actually felt good this morning. Note that it’s below freezing outside. I still walked to the gym and then ran (all hail good warm Under Armour sweats!). Even after all the leg work, I managed to do alright with sprints. I think that I’m finding a good groove where I don’t need to kill myself but I’m still pushing myself. I may stick with 5 “reps” during next week, we’ll just see how I feel. No need to kill myself, this is a marathon (to mix metaphors).

    I’m also feeling better with the DeFranco Agile 8. Seems to be helping… at least my adductors don’t feel as tight.

    Looking forward to the week ahead. PR time!

    Start Too Light, Progress Slowly

    Many concepts in life are universal. We might learn them in one context, and when we remove the specifics of that context, we’ll find the concept applies to almost anything in life. While writing the last observations post, although it was about guns and shooting, some words from powerlifter Jim Wendler came to mind.

    I wrote of how I felt some students would be well-served to step back to a beginners/fundamentals class before progressing further. I mentioned how that sort of thing is hard, because it’s a blow to the ego. Jim writes about “starting too light”:

    My coaches emphasized this to me when I was in high school, but unfortunately, I didn’t listen. Hopefully you will. Starting too light allows for more time for you to progress forward. It’s easy for anyone – beginner or advanced – to want to get ahead of themselves. Your lifts will go up for a few months, but then they’ll stall – and stall, and stall some more. Lifters get frustrated and don’t understand that the way around this is to prolong the time it takes to get to the goal. You have to keep inching forward. This is a very hard pill to swallow for most lifters. They want to start heavy, and they want to start now. This is nothing more than ego, and nothing will destroy a lifter faster, or for longer, than ego.

    Forget that he’s talking about weightlifting. He’s talking about keeping your ego in check. Start lower than you think, start lighter than you think. Maybe you think you’re the best shooter around, but you’d still be served well to take the school’s intro class — even if it’s well below your perception of your skills, there’s something to be learned. If you try to jump in at too high a level, that’s just ego and will ultimately destroy you.

    I wrote:

    Sometimes improvement requires taking a step back and regressing down the ladder a bit, but only so you can make your foundation more solid. To expand upon that metaphor, if you realized your ladder was planted in sand, how high do you think you could climb? But if you started up the ladder, realized things were getting shaky, then climbed back down, poured some concrete around the legs, then climbed back up, how much higher do you think you could now climb? Don’t be afraid to back down and pour concrete.

    To bring it over to lifting, a hallmark of a good program is progressive/incremental resistance: the program always strives to add more weight, more reps. If you look at the Wendler 5/3/1 program, it’s divided into 4 week cycles. When the next cycle starts, you increase your weights by a certain amount (e.g. 5# on bench press) and continue along. While a 5# jump on your bench press every 4 weeks doesn’t sound like much, over the course of a year that can mean a 60# increase, which is significant!

    The reality of lifting, however, is that the linear progression will not always happen — you will stall. What’s the solution? Back down. There are numerous ways to calculate this. One thing Jim writes:

    You’ll eventually come to a point where you can’t make any more progress on a lift. You won’t be able to hit the sets and reps you’re supposed to hit, and the weights will start to get too heavy. When this happens, I simply take 90% of my max (either a 1RM or a rep max) and start all over again.

    […]

    If you’re really starting out with 10% less than your actual maxes, you can expect to go through 5-7 cycles at a minimum before you stall out. I’ve gone through 8 before having to back off.

    You see, it’s actually expected that you’ll stall, that you’ll have to back off. You don’t have to back off far, just “90%” of what you were doing, but paring yourself back just that slight bit helps you make longer term progress. If you allow your ego to remain in control, you’ll only try to forge ahead, will eventually hit a wall, you’ll never get over the wall, and ultimately you’ll fail to achieve your goals. If however you back off, if you go “beneath your skills” and maybe take a beginner class (again), you’ll come out of it stronger and able to progress further.

    And so, the same with shooting. Back down. If you get to an intermediate-level class and find yourself struggling, take the class again, or maybe take the previous class in the curriculum progression and reestablish some fundamentals. Ultimately this will allow you to progress longer and ultimately reach higher goals and loftier heights. If you continue to be ego-driven, you won’t achieve your goals. Taking 2 steps back so you can take 5 steps forward only helps you in the long run.

    It doesn’t matter if we’re talking about shooting, or weightlifting, or anything else in life. The principles are universal. Keep your ego in check, be honest with yourself. Never be afraid to take a few steps back if that means over the long term you’ll progress further.

    2012-12-05 workout

    Today was alright.

    “Week 2”

    • 3 Reps – Bench Press (working max: 210#)
      • 2x5x45 (warmup)
      • 1x5x85
      • 1x5x105
      • 1x3x130
      • 1x3x150 (work)
      • 1x3x170
      • 1x7x190
    • Asst. #1 – Bench Press
      • 5 x 10 x 120
    • Asst. #2 – 1 Arm DB Rows
      • 5 x 10 x 50
    • Grip
      • 3x10xS, 2 sec. hold between reps
    • DeFranco Agile 8

    Nothing really to report. A good workout in general. I tried wearing my belt during benching but it’s the same thing with presses: I tighten my midsection instead of pressing out. I just have to take the time to adjust and get used to it… to make the mental shift. Tho I’m probably not going to focus on it too much more since “week 3” heavy week is almost upon me. Just do what I do and during deload and into the next cycle I can continue to work on it.

    I didn’t sprint today due to lack of time, heavy rain, and icy cold wind. Plus I drove to/from the gym. Wuss, I know. I also find the DeFranco Agile 8 can wind me some…. is that right? Or is my aerobic capacity just that crappy? *sigh* It makes me think that I might want to change up my cycle a bit and see about focusing on weight loss for a time… but, the reality is if I stay steady on the sprints and keep my diet in check, that should help me shed the flab. So, I just need to give it more time before I change things up too much.

    Nothing much to report. Just another day at the gym.

    2011-12-02 workout

    Today was a good, but abbreviated, day.

    “Week 2”

    • 3 reps – Deadlift (working max: 295#)
      • 1x5x120 (warmup)
      • 1x5x150
      • 1x3x180
      • 1x5x210 – oops (work)
      • 1x3x240
      • 1x10x270 (PR-ish)
    • Asst. #1 – Good Mornings
      • 5 x 10 x 65
    • Asst. #2 – Hanging Knee Curl/Raises
      • 5 x 6 x BW
    • DeFranco Agile 8
    • Grip
      • 2x10xS, 2 sec. hold between reps
      • 3x5xT, 2 sec. hold between reps
      • 1 10 sec hold, No. 1

    I had to cut today short. I had an early appointment to tend to, so time was critical this morning. I drove to/from the gym, I supersetted the assistance work, I didn’t sprint. Not what I wanted to do, but it shaved off 30 minutes and that was important time. Just how it goes sometimes.

    But I think it may have played well into mental outlook on the workout. First, I wasn’t distracted with the workout. The mindset wasn’t wondering about the workout, it was “just get in there, lift, leave”. As well, I figure since I didn’t feel a need to worry about having energy for other things, I put everything into it. Hitting 10 reps @ 270# isn’t a pure PR, but the last true PR was 1x8x275; 10 reps with 270 isn’t something I’ve done before, and when you “mathematically compare” those two amounts of work (for whatever equations are worth), today was more than the true PR. I don’t really care about being a true PR or not, just that I know I’m getting stronger and better. I attribute this to better mindset, improvements on my sleep issues which contributes to better recovery, and just a desire to break that 300# work weight barrier. 🙂

    Frankly the only reason I stopped at 10 reps is because well… that’s still a LOT for what should be a “>3 rep” set, and I just got to a point where my head said “enough” because all that breath holding was getting me a little light headed. Needed a break. 🙂

    Supersetting the GM’s and curls is probably something I should stop doing. It seems my right shoulder isn’t happy with that, because it goes from this extreme position of flexion in the “squat” position to being at an extreme extension/hang/stretch with the curls. It’s just a lot of extreme stress on the shoulder and it told me so. Before the 5th set I took about 30 seconds of rest between the two and my shoulder was much happier. So, that’s how it goes. Still, I feel good about the curls, really getting my full body into it and getting my knees way up there and really curling my body into a fetal position… not just raising my legs up and stopping with thighs parallel. Feels good! In fact, today was so good that for a moment I thought “gee, so that’s how the gymnasts do it”. Not that I feel I’m anywhere near things, but for a fleeting moment I didn’t feel like such a wuss.

    Alas, no sprints or anything else today. I did manage to do the grip work since that’s not too difficult to do while I do some other things around the house (instead of on my walk home, since I didn’t have one today). Just how it goes sometimes. I’ll resume on Monday.

    2011-11-30 workout

    Something new has been added!

    “Week “

    • 3 reps – Press (working max: 140#)
      • 2x5x45 (warmup)
      • 1x5x55
      • 1x5x70
      • 1x3x85
      • 1x3x100 (work)
      • 1x3x115
      • 1x6x130 (PR)
    • Asst. #1 – Press
      • 5 x 10 x 65
    • Asst. #2 – Supine shoulder-width grip lat pulldowns
      • 5 x 10 x 120
    • GPP – Sprints
      • Tabata style (20 sec. sprint, 10 sec. walk)
      • 5 “reps” (8 reps is one Tabata set)
      • walked 2 “laps” to warm up, then 2 at the end for a cooldown
    • DeFranco Agile 8

    Today was good. I set a PR on Press. I’ve done 130 before but got 3 reps. Today I got 6. Stronger. I should have no problem hitting 135. Confidence is high, repeat, confidence is high.

    One change. Because weights are getting heavier, I’m going to wear the belt more. I’ve been wearing the belt only for my work sets on squats and deadlifts, but I’m going to start wearing it for my work sets on presses and bench press too. Why? All the torso stability from the Valsalva Maneuver. Funny thing tho… because I’m not used to wearing it during pressing, today when I wore it it did me no good: I tighten my torso, I don’t press out like Valsalva requires. Of course, the pressing out lends to much better stability, so I’m just going to have to train myself to do it. I’m going to start wearing the belt for all sets of pressing and benching (warmup, work, and BBB assistance) until I retrain myself.

    On the assistance work, it was a breeze because I got a lot of rest between sets. The gym was a little chattier than usual this morning, so I was chatting a little more between sets. All good, but a little more rest than I wanted. No worries tho, it happens. Rest is good.

    On sprints, I opted to not start out at 100 MPH. My problem the past few times is I start running and try to just sprint right out of the block — it’s caused me some pain in my right hamstring and even today is still a little sore. So instead, start at 0 and just accelerate quickly, ease into it. That was a lot better, I found a better groove. Did 5 reps today and will continue at 5 for the next “week” of the program. My feeling is hit 6 during the work week and stay at 6 during deload week since it’s deload week.

    I also started doing the DeFranco Agile 8. The hamstring pulling motivated me — I need to improve that hip area flexibility, and this is recommended to help. Good thing. I will say, I had no idea a foam roller would hurt so much. 🙂 Not sure what that indicates but wow, my muscles went “OW!”… guess they’re that sore and in need.

    2011-11-28 workout

    Blah. This sucked. 😦

    “Week 1”

    • 5 reps – Squat (working max: 250#)
      • 2x5x45 (warmup)
      • 1x5x100
      • 1x5x125
      • 1x53x150
      • 1x5x165 (work)
      • 1x5x190
      • 1x5x215
    • Asst. #1 – Squat
      • 5 x 10 x 100
    • Asst. #2 – Leg Curls
      • 5 x 10 x 65
    • GPP – Sprints
      • Tabata style (20 sec. sprint, 10 sec. walk)
      • 4 “reps” (8 reps is one Tabata set)

    Well, today sucked.

    You can see on my work set that what should have been >5 reps was only 5 reps. I know why tho. You know how I’ve been having “light headed” issues when I pick up heavy weights? That happened. I’ve been trying to experiment to find ways to mitigate it, such as not doing any deep breaths before I get under the bar, deep breath, tighten up, lift bar, assume position, then breathe a couple of times to get my head back, then start reps. Well, I did that and thought things were well enough, but as each rep progressed I could feel my head hating it and things getting worse. I don’t know why. By the 5th rep I knew there was no way I’d make the 6th, so I racked it.

    I’m annoyed, but I’ll live with it because it happened. Plus I have been debating backing off due to the addition of sprints. Given what happened today I am going to back off the rest of this cycle to the previous cycle’s numbers. I don’t need to exceed the numbers, at least work to meet them. Because again, I’m trying to ensure my body can adapt to the sprint workload. That’s a bit more important.

    Or, I could make an excuse that I was lifting heavier today because I know I put on 5# from eating over the long Thanksgiving weekend. 😉 Yeah, I slacked on eating because I took the long week as a mental health break. It worked well, not only napping, but a bit of improvement in my sleep schedule (getting more sleep at night). The only reason I feel bummed today is 1. it’s back to the day job, 2. I didn’t get enough reps on that last set. But oh well.

    And sprints today…. I’ll be sticking with 4 for a bit longer, tho oddly I felt like I could have gone 5. I only didn’t because I already had quite a leg workout and don’t want to push it too hard and affect recovery. I’ll try going for 5 on Wednesday.

    2011-11-25 workout

    Realized some things today….

    “Week 1”

    • 5 reps – Bench Press (working max: 210#)
      • 2x5x45 (warmup)
      • 1x5x85
      • 1x5x105
      • 1x3x130
      • 1x5x140 (work)
      • 1x5x160
      • 1x10x180
    • Asst. #1 – Bench Press
      • 5 x 10 x 120
    • Asst. #2 – Dumbbell rows
      • 5 x 10 x 50
    • GPP – Sprints
      • 2 “reps” of walking the course (90-ish yards each way)
      • Tabata style (20 sec. sprint, 10 sec. walk)
      • 4 “reps” (8 reps is one Tabata set)
      • 2 “reps” of walking for a cooldown
    • Grip
      • 3x10xS, 2 sec. hold between reps

    Today a few things hit home.

    First, I’ve found myself saying “gosh, the weights felt heavy today” a lot. I think I have to come to accept something: the weights are always going to feel heavy now. I read about guys squatting 1000# and they say that it feels like you’re being crushed by all the weight. Sure I only squat a fraction of that, but the point remains: it’s just going to be heavy because it is heavy. You are going to feel all that weight upon you. So, I have to stop thinking “gosh it’s heavy” as if in some way expecting it to maybe feel light… because it won’t ever again (except maybe on deload weeks, relative to the week prior).

    On that same token, I need to increase my rest periods. On the 5/3/1 exercise, warmups can rest enough to change the plates and move on. On the work sets, no more “2 min max” rest, instead go for a 3 minute minimum and more if I need it. On assistance work, at least 1 minute but no more than 2.

    Both of these things come from a simple place: inexperience. Never in my life have I moved weights this heavy. I’ve never been here before. I just don’t know what to expect. Plus, all lifting I’ve ever done has always been “bodybuilder style” lifting, where you want to keep rest periods short. Now I’m about strength building (with muscle mass a secondary consideration), and that just means I will need more rest, especially as the weights get heavier. So it’s a bunch of changing my habits, changing my perceptions. The timer during my work sets isn’t to say “start lifting when the timer gets to zero or just prior”, but instead “you can’t even think about starting to lift until the timer hits zero, and take more if you need it”. Assistance work is to build some mass, so a little less rest is going to happen there, but I still want to allow myself to rest if I need it…. just not too much.

    So on that….

    The work sets of benching went well. Pushed out 10 reps with the 180 and felt good there.

    On assistance benching, I’m going to start pausing at the bottom of the rep to give myself a little more work. Due to that, I almost didn’t make it through the sets today. 🙂

    Rows felt good. Keeping my arm at about a 45º angle (instead of upper arm “pinned” to my side) and that feels like it’s hitting my back more in the way I need it. I think about moving the elbow up, not pulling the weight up. That gets more back involved, less concern about my arms.

    Sprints… felt a little more comfortable with it all today, but I am still going to need time to catch my stride and feel comfortable with it. As I type this, my calves/shins are hurting… I really don’t want shin splints to happen, thus the new running shoes. But my body still needs to adapt to it all, so I’ll stick with only 4 “reps” for now until my body adjusts and adapts. On that note, I had been thinking about keeping my squat work this cycle at last cycle’s work levels because of this extra leg work. I’m not sure now, due to my change in attitude about the rest periods. I’m going to go ahead and let the next workout progress as normal (i.e. 10# jump over last cycle) and we’ll just see how it goes. If it slays me and I have recovery problems, I’ll back off. Else, press on!

    I also opted to change my grip workout a bit. I’m going to do the “heavy” grip work on deadlift day since that puts a lot of grip work in with the deadlifts and the hanging leg/knee raises. But then, I’ll do the “light” grip day on bench day. I get some grip work on this day, so I think light day can happen here. This also allows more recovery time then between grip workouts instead of spreading things across every workout and risking impacting recovery in a negative way. We’ll see how it goes.