2013-07-01 training log

I cannot wait to start eating carbs again…..

Wendler 5/3/1 program, cycle 21, week 1

  • Work Set – Press (working max: 145#)
    • 2x5x45 (warmup)
    • 1x5x60
    • 1x5x75
    • 1x3x90
    • 1x5x95 (work)
    • 1x5x110
    • 1x7x125
  • Assistance – Press, 30-rep
    • 95#
  • Assistance – Lat Pulldowns
    • 4 x 15/15/12/10 x 100
  • Assistance – Lateral Raises
    • 3 x 12/10/8 x 20 (with a drop set at the end)
  • Assistance – Rope Pressdowns
    • 3 x 15 x 40
  • Assistance – Hammer Curls, 30 rep
    • 30#

Yeah, I’m dropping the 7/5/3 approach. It’s just not going to work on this restricted diet. again, I got half-way through my pulldowns and my body just ran out of gas. Bleah.

I did opt tho to push the final set and crank out a few more than the prescribed reps. I didn’t push it tho… 7 was easy and I just stopped.

The 30-rep thing… well, it was cool on the curls, but I don’t think it’s going to work as well for the assistance pressing. We’ll see. Too soon to tell.

It’s been a week now of “no carb”. Oh sure, I get little bits, but there’s no explicit carb consumption. I about went ape-shit over the weekend and found some solace in a Diet Pepsi and 2 Diet Dr. Pepper’s, then a La Croix raspberry. Oh I hate that shit, but it helped. Frankly, what I really wanted was fruit: granny smith or gala apples, grapes, banana. Or most of all? Cantaloupe. It’s melon season and we just got a fresh-picked one in our CSA box… it smells so good, better than any chain grocery store melon because it was on the vine in the sun until the last minute. But I can’t have. *sigh*

Whatever diet protocol to take, because there’s millions and they’re essentially the same, I still have a few more days of “no carb”. Then restricted. I’m thinking about going back to Carb Back Loading because it’s a protocol that I think can keep me sane and would be something I should stick to, better than massive “fasting” or “denial”. I’ve been doing more figuring on macros, which I think is the real trick for me. Still figuring.

But I’ll say this much… there are pork ribs in the freezer, and they are going to be consumed this coming (long) weekend. 🙂

2013-06-28 training log

Gee… do I have to get out of bed today??

Wendler 5/3/1 program, cycle 21, week 1

  • Work Set – Deadlift (working max: 360#)
    • 1x5x145 (warmup)
    • 1x5x180
    • 1x3x220
    • 1x5x235 (work)
    • 1x5x275
    • 1x5x310
  • Assistance – Deficit Deadlift (1.5″ deficit)
    • 3 x 5 x 225
  • Assistance – Side Bends
    • Leg curls
    • Crunches
  • Foam Rolling

Yeah, the diet, the lack of carbs… it’s getting to me.

Didn’t want to get out of bed. Didn’t want to walk to the gym. Didn’t want to lift. Didn’t want to do a damn thing. But you do it anyways.

The 7/5/3 approach? Wasn’t going to happen. It may not happen because of the lack of carbs. Or maybe deadlifting. I don’t know… just not happening.

I did all deadlifting, save the top work set, without a belt. I also moved very slowly. I know one problem I have is my knees open up and my hips close. It should be that my knee joint AND hip joint both open up. So like, instead of stiff-legging the weight up, I should be squatting it up, y’know? That’s one reason I’m not upset about the reset AND trying to pick assistance work accordingly. Bottom line: my hamstrings are weak! So today I moved slower to try to ensure proper form, and really be sure to “sit back” and not let the hip angle close… squat it all up.

Oh I felt it.

The deficits? Shit. I thought I might do 5×10 @ 225. Ha! Just wasn’t going to happen. If I think 10 reps are important, I probably should drop down to 185. But it was more important to have the form, to really squat it up. I dunno if I’ll stick with this weight for lower reps or drop the weight and go higher. We’ll see… but I suspect may drop and higher, if that hits my hamstrings more.

I was feeling it back there, so called an audible and did a couple sets of higher rep leg curls superset with simple crunches on the floor. 2-1-2 sort of tempo. Oh, the hamstrings ached after this. I stretched and rolled for a bit before leaving, and I need to ensure I roll my hamstrings all weekend long.

I gotta keep going… .but man… I’m feeling out of gas. The next week is going to be rough.

2013-06-26 training log

Oo… I think the diet is kicking in. No gas.

Wendler 5/3/1 program, cycle 21, week 1

  • Work Set – Bench Press (working max: 210#)
    • 2x7x45 (warmup)
    • 1x7x85
    • 1x7x105
    • 1x5x130
    • 1x7x140 (work)
    • 1x7x160
    • 1x7x180
  • Assistance – DB Incline Press
    • 5 x 10/10/10/8/7 x 50
  • Assistance – DB Rows
    • 3 x 10/10/21 x 50
  • Assistance – JM Press
    • 3 x 15/12/9 x 95
  • Assistance – Face Pulls
    • 3 x 20 x 40
  • Foam Rolling

So this is the first day upon resetting, and trying a more “7/5/3” approach. Higher volume. All in all, not bad, but I wasn’t into it… just too much on my mind regarding work.

The more interesting thing? After set 2 of the rows, my body told me “out of gas”. My body said no more, we’re done. I wanted to do more, I wasn’t tired, wasn’t exhausted… I think I’m running low on glycogen now (it’s day 3 of “no carb”). My body was just telling me we’re almost out of gas, so you better stop now to preserve what we have. I of course kept going, but it was interesting. Heck, the walk home I was totally drag-assing it and kinda “condition white” spaced out. So yeah, I think I’m nearing the onset of ketosis. Huzzah.

In other news… it was a fun critter morning. Finally saw a skunk… and that owl was back, perched atop the house upon my return. Stopped and watched him for a bit, then he watched me and eventually flew off. I think seeing all the critters in the quiet of the morning is one of my favorite things about going to the gym in the early morning. Almost no people, but lots of cool animals. 🙂

2013-06-24 training log

Ego… it forced my hand, the gears change.

Wendler 5/3/1 program, cycle 21, week 1

  • Work Set – Squat (working max: 315#)
    • 2x5x45 (warmup)
    • 1x5x135
    • 1x5x160
    • 1x3x190
    • 1x5x205 (work)
    • 1x5x240
    • 1x5x270
  • Assistance – Pause Squat
    • 3 x 5 x 205
  • Assistance – Leg Extensions
    • 3 x 15 x 35

I had weird sleep patterns over the weekend, so I napped too late Sunday evening and thus couldn’t get to bed properly. Slept like crap. But I knew once I got under the bar all would be better.

For the most part it was.

I did as many sets without the belt as I could, only belting up for the last 2 sets. I liked that. But I could tell… this wasn’t going to happen.

Last couple reps of the last set? I didn’t hit depth. I was afraid of getting stapled. I shouldn’t have been afraid, either dump the bar, or if I only got 4 good reps then so be it. But alas, I didn’t.

In the end, I know it’s all ego. This cycle would have me squat 305 — breaking that 300# mark is HUGE in so many ways. Then if I keep going at 10# per cycle, that means next cycle is 315… 3 plates! Whoa! And if I look at my deadlift, I’m very close to 4 plates. I just want to keep on going! This gets me closer to my 1000# total goal, especially before the end of 2013.

I knew a reset was coming. I think it’s here.

I didn’t want to do it because I wanted to hit my numbers. I want to meet my goal. I don’t want to get derailed from my goals.

But to keep chasing them now is only going to lead to fail in some way or another.

I will get to my goal. Maybe not before the end of 2013, but if I just keep on, eventually I will get there. Does it really matter when? Well yes, to some degree because to get there 10 years from now really isn’t workable. But so long as I see the progress is right and reasonable, I will get there.

But I think a reset has to happen. Not just for the weights, but because…. of my weight.

I’m up to 240#. That’s not all muscle. In fact, I betcha I could stand to drop at least 40# of that — just fat. I’m tall (6’3″) and sure that doesn’t look like much but shit… that’s a wheel! That is a lot!

I can feel it. My gut is not where I want it to be. I hate feeling it when I bend over. I really am in love with AIWB carry and having a gut inhibits that.

I thought about all this really heavily over this past weekend. I think I’ve just been delaying the inevitable pending a good reason, and I think the good reason has arrived.

I don’t like the fat.

I am stalling and need a reset.

I think finally it’s time to let things come together.

So, I’m going to recalculate my maxes, drop back. Strive to build a little more muscle, but still lift heavy. To that end, I might try goign 7/5/3 instead of 5/3/1 — that we shall see. Yes, I’ll just start now. Leave this squat session in the books, and start with my benching on Wednesday.

I’m also going to have to get hard on my diet. This is my killer.

I don’t know what I’ll do precisely. Anabolic Diet? Apex Predator Diet? Carb Nite? Carb Back Loading? whatever. In the end, they’re all about the same: high protein, high fat, almost no carb, but occasionally you refeed on good carbs (and maybe a little junk). I still am not settled on which route to take, because having a protocol that I can follow and fits the other aspects of my life, great. But right now it doesn’t matter because they all basically start the same way: 1-2 weeks of no carb to get the body into ketosis. The main question for me is… how much?

I see 2 ways to calculate it. So if I need 40% protein and 60% fat (essentially) well… I can figure “needed kcals” and that’s supposedly for me something like 4350 a day. Then I figure protein and fat from there? Or do I figure that I need say 250g of protein, then figure that is 40% of what and calc from that end of things? That I don’t know yet…. but htere’s no question, I cannot “just eat” I do need to figure the amounts right…. because the world we live in has been so anti-fat for too long and so has my own diet, that I really need to figure out and ensure I get enough… else I know these dietary approaches fail.

Anyways, it all just starts now.

No figuring. No stalling. No delaying. No more thinking about it and figuring.

I need to do this shit now, because I’m tired of it. 1000# will come, just not as soon as I want…. and it’ll be even sweeter because I’ll be lighter and leaner, with better form, and better overall strength. So hey, life’s journey rolls on.

2013-6-21 training log

30-rep… interesting

Wendler 5/3/1 program, cycle 20, week 4

  • Work Set – Press (working max: 160#)
    • 2x5x45 (warmup)
    • 2x5x60
    • 2x5x80
    • 2x5x95
  • Assistance – Press
    • 95# for “30 reps”
  • Assistance – Lat Pulldowns
    • 3 x 15 x 100
  • Assistance – Lateral Raises
    • 10# AMRAP/RP
  • Assistance – Rope Pressdowns
    • 30# AMRAP/RP
  • Assistance – Hammer Curls
    • 30# “30 reps”

Just a deload day, but I tried a little fun.

I just read this article about a different way to do 30 reps. Instead of 3×10 with like 60-90 seconds of rest between sets, what you do is pick a weight you can do for about 6 reps. Do as many reps as you can (probably 6). Rest for 30 seconds. Pick up the same weight and do as many reps as you can (probably less than 6). Rest 30 seconds. Repeat, and just keep doing this until you total 30 reps.

I thought I’d try it.

I did estimate pretty light, cranking out a lot more than 6 reps on my first sets. But that’s fine. I got the idea. I really liked this. I really do hate doing “lots of reps” with light weight, or going too heavy and not getting enough volume. I want more reps, I want heavier weight, and I like pushing things. This really works to that. I dug it and might keep it around for some of my assistance work. We shall see.

Anyways, that’s about that. Just chugged along and frankly, I’m happy deload week is over. I cannot wait to get back to proper lifting. 🙂 But that said, I know my body appreciates it. I feel better, I got a LOT of sleep this week (much more than usual). It’s all good for me.

2013-06-19 training log

Deload is boring… but so good for me.

Wendler 5/3/1 program, cycle 20, week 4

  • Work Set – Deadlift (working max: 395#)
    • 2x5x160 (warmup)
    • 2x5x200
    • 2x5x240
  • Assistance – Hyperextensions
    • 3 x 15 x BW
  • Assistance – Side Bends
    • 3 x 15 x 50
  • Foam Rolling

Deload. It’s boring, but good for me. I even overslept today. Rest, recovery, all good.

I did think about something tho. When the weights get really heavy, my butt comes up first. The weight clears the floor for sure, but certainly I find my hips opening up before they should. I am sure this is primarily a technique issue, but I think it’s also a weak-point. I do not have this problem with lower weights, and obviously the rest of me is strong enough. Again, I do think it’s mostly technique, but… well, it’s something for me to chew on right now.

2013-06-17 training log

Front squats. Interesting….

Wendler 5/3/1 program, cycle 20, week 4

  • Work Set – Front Squat
    • 2x5x45 (warmup)
    • 2x5x95
    • 2x5x120
    • 2x5x135
  • Assistance – Leg Extensions
    • 3 x 15 x 30
  • Work Set – Bench Press (working max: 240#)
    • 2x5x45 (warmup)
    • 2x5x95
    • 2x5x120
    • 2x5x145
  • Assistance – DB Rows
    • 3 x 10/10/25 x 45
  • Foam Rolling

So this front squat thing. Yeah… curiousity is getting the best of me. I figured I would try it and see. Go really light, see how technique would go, etc.. What’s the harm on a deload week.

No question… my quads feel it more. I also went VERY deep, so I am feeling it in my glutes and hams a bit too, but not really in my lower back.

I don’t know. I might actually dump the leg extensions in favor of a few front squats. So squat, pause squat, then front squat light for like 3×10 or something. It’s mostly an effort to find the technique, the groove, know what I can do in really good form (esp. staying upright).

Interesting stuff.

Otherwise, it was just a simple deload day. Keep it light and simple.

Has it been 2 years?

It’s been over 2 years since I started going to the gym, but it’s been just over 2 years since I started on strength training programs. I started with Rippetoe’s Starting Strength (well, closer to a Practical Programming Novice program), hung on that for about 2 months, then switched to Wendler 5/3/1. I just finished up my 20th cycle on 5/3/1. So how do things look?

On my first day(s) of the PP/SS program, I worked my way up to:

Squat– 105 x 5
Bench – 115 x 5
Deadlift – 135 x 5
Press – 65 x 5

About a year ago I finished cycle 10 with these numbers (some were PR’s, some not):

Squat – 250 x 4
Bench – 205 x 6
Deadlift – 315 x 6
Press – 140 x 6

At the end of cycle 20 of 5/3/1 2 years later:

Squat – 295 x 3
Bench – 230 x 2
Deadlift – 380 x 3
Press – 155 x 3 (set on cycle 19)

And all those numbers are true PR’s, the best/most I’ve ever lifted in my life. Not too bad I reckon.  If you look at some strength standards I’m pretty much in line with where I should be… tho my squat still needs work.

That’s one thing that gets me. My squat. I used to hate it, fear it, and it caused one of my worst plateaus around 230# (what caused me to move off Rippetoe and onto Wendler, and even then). Now? Well, I’m still not saying I love squatting, but I can say that the day before I hit that 295×3 I was so excited and looking forward to the gym like never before. I was looking to crush that weight, not letting it crush me. 295 for a triple is happy.

Am I meeting my goals? I think so. My primary goal is to get stronger, and it would seem I’m doing that. My larger goal along this path is to have a 1000# total. And while on paper my calculated 1RM’s are almost there, again, that doesn’t matter. I want to MOVE that weight. I’m also not worrying about 1RM’s, so if it’s the weight I used for a triple or whatever, then so be it. Yes it takes me longer to get there, but I’ll be even stronger for it. I did want to hit 1000# by the end of 2013, but I’m skeptical if I’ll make it, just doing the simple math. But that’s OK, because I’ll get close and so long as I’m progressing well… then I’ll get there eventually. What probably makes more sense is for me to not look at the calendar year but training year, which would probably be “June to May” given when I started.

I am figuring I won’t make it before the end of 2013 because I’m slowing down. I’m not knocking out the rep PR’s. I’m backing off to prescribed reps only (tho I’ll allow myself some fun on 5/3/1 days). I’m getting beat up. I do feel better by scaling back, but a reset is likely to happen sooner or later and yes, that does drop down the total, thus I am suspecting 1000 in 2013 won’t happen. But again, that’s alright so long as I continue to make good progress.

The thing is, all of this is coming to a head. Am I still on the right path? I’ve been reading more Brandon Lilly, Dan Green, and other such guys. Cube Method is very interesting to me. Even the fact I ran a 5/3/1 cycle twice with the 2nd being for rep PR’s is alright for me (Clint Darden was even recommending such things). I’m reading more about how the strongest guys like Kaz or Ed Coan did a lot more rep work, like heavy work on 6-10’s, 5’s and triples, rarely going for singles unless peaking for a meet. There’s no question I have more muscle mass than ever before, but is it enough to sustain me? Do I need to gain more?

There’s a saying that the best program is the one you’re not doing. I originally took that to mean a “your program sucks” type of thing. And while perhaps it could mean that, it can also mean that nothing works forever. That perhaps I need a change.

My programming has been centered around 5/3/1 with mostly a “Boring But Big” approach. I have been experimenting with assistance work, but I’m really not at a point of having weak points or really being able to determine what they are; thus, assistance work tends to be ‘whatever’ which is why BBB works out (just keep moving and getting bigger). But I am starting to understand a few things, like I am pretty sure I need more quad work to get my squat numbers up there. And I’m finding that some higher-rep work and a little more of it on assistance stuff is good to my body overall. So I’m not really following any particular Wendler-made template, more following principles.

But I think about how a reset could be a blessing in disguise, doing more heavy rep work, working up more.  I even see how in many respects what I do with 5/3/1 isn’t that different from Cube… but I see where there are differences and how it could benefit me. I’m not sure I want to go to the Cube Method just yet, but I am very interested in it.

I do think I need some more bodybuilding work in my assistance efforts. And while the past some whiles I’ve been trying stuff like 100-rep work, that’s been very beneficial for me, especially on the kinesthetic front.  But I want to get heavier… 12-20 reps sort of thing, 3-4 sets, no more than 60 seconds between sets, etc.. try to get 50-75 total “heavy” reps instead, build more mass, hopefully that will carry over.

I just want to be a little less beat up, but keep on the road to 1000. I really don’t want to change my plan too much. But I do find myself being less dogmatic about 5/3/1 and sticking more to principles. I guess after 2 years of it, constant reading and rereading, and learning as much as I can… yeah, you start to figure it out on  the deeper and more important levels. But there is something to be said for starting out with a very specific plan, sets, reps, percentages, templates. I think some vets forget what it was like to be a beginner and get annoyed at such questions. I can see how it gets important to move beyond that, but beginners need to start somewhere and I think Jim gets that in his presentation of his program. I think I’m moving a little beyond it, but not quite there yet. That may be part of why I’m intrigued by Cube but not ready to go there yet.

So what’s going forward?

Primary goal remains strength. Secondary, mass building. Tertiary goal, keeping my fat levels in check. I don’t want to get lean, but I don’t need to blimp out either. Because when I hit 1000#, I am going to shift to fat shedding as the primary goal. What that program will be remains to be determined when I get to that point. For now, onwards to 1000.

My workouts going forward will probably be like this:

Squat
Pause Squat
Leg Extensions
Planks

Squat because that’s what you do. Pause squats because they seem to be the best thing for fixing “out of the hole” issues for raw squatters, and I’ve only done them one cycle and would like at least a couple more to see what they do for me; I’ll continue on the same 3 sets of 3-5 reps at moderate percentages (per Paul Carter’s suggestions). Leg extensions because I want to see about building my quads up more. They will be 12-15 reps, focused on extending the knee purely by contracting the quads, squeeze at the top, etc. (not about weight, about muscle). I suspect down the road pause squats and extensions will be replaced by front squats. Based on what I see in my squats and deadlifts, I’m suspecting I need some quad work. Planks for the abs, and they are a LOT more friendly on my elbows than some other ab work I’ve been doing.

Funny thing. While I was composing this, I read a posting in the Facebook Cube group. Someone was posting the results of their mock meet and they had a rather large disparity between squat and deadlift (small squat, big deadlift). Hrm, that looks familiar. A knowledgable person posted what I’ve been suspecting: quad weakness is attributed to such a thing. Solution? Deep front squats for sets of 8-12 reps. Heh.

I think I will stick with what I’m doing a little bit more tho, just because pause squats are kinda cool and I’d like to see what they do for me.

Bench Press
Incline DB Press
DB Rows
JM Press
Face Pulls

Bench is the main movement. Incline DB’s because I’ve read enough about DB work and incline work to convince me to try these as a way to build a little more mass, have more range of motion, and just overall improve for this movement. I think my shoulders will benefit too. I’ll do them heavy-ish, like 6-10 reps. DB rows will be Kroc-style, 2×10 to warm up, then 1 last set repping out. If I can hit 25 reps, time to increase the weight. JM Press and Face Pulls appear to have been helpful to me, but whereas before I was doing 100 reps straight, I’m going to break it down now to something like 3 sets, 12-20 reps, appropriately “heavy” weight.

Deadlift
Hyperextensions
Side Bends

That’s all for this. Deadlift. Then hypers for like 12-20 reps 3-5 sets. And side bends for about the same. I’m finding that the combo of hypers and side bends really knock the crap out of my erectors. So I’ll keep this combo up for a little while and see how it goes for me.

Press
Press again
Lat Pulldowns
Side Laterals
Rope Pressdown
Hammer Curls

Press is the main movement. Then do more pressing, but like 5 sets 6-10 reps; I just can’t think of a good replacement but why? This seems to really hit my shoulders well so long as I ensure I press fully, head comes forward, etc.. Side laterals because I do want to see if I can boost my medial delts a bit. Rope pressdowns for like 3 sets 12-20 to hit my triceps (rope works well, since I can then twist the wrist a bit for more squeeze). And hammer curls are just a favorite.

Generally speaking, striving for prescribed reps tho on 5/3/1 week I can try for up to 3 more if I really feel it. Work otherwise to get some reps at heavier weights, build muscle, get stronger.

Eat well.

Sleep well.

And 1000 will eventually be mine.

2013-06-14 training log

Failed to PR, but I think I have a setup that may help me avoid the dizzy spells.

Wendler 5/3/1 program, cycle 20, week 3

  • Work Set – Press (working max: 160#)
    • 2x5x45 (warmup)
    • 1x5x65
    • 1x5x80
    • 1x3x95
    • 1x5x120 (work)
    • 1x3x140
    • 1x2x155
  • Assistance – Press
    • 5 x 10 x 85
  • Assistance – Lat Pulldowns
    • 4 x 15 x 95
  • Assistance – Lateral Raises
    • 3 x 15/12/12 x 15
  • Assistance – Rope Pressdowns
    • 3 x 20/15/12 x 30
  • Assistance – Hammer Curls
    • 3 x 15/12/12 x 20

Straight up, I failed to PR. I repeated the weight from last cycle and there I got 3 reps, here I got 2. But something cool happened.

When I started to warm up, I didn’t intend to do this but it just happened and I went with it. I am working to find better set-ups for each lift, and I’m getting pretty close to a good setup for deadlift. It was really good a couple days ago, so I guess fresh off that I was inspired to hit that today. Walk up to the bar, stand there, relax, let my weight drop. Well, I placed my hands on the bar, tightened up, deep breath and hold… and the dizzy started. But this time, I didn’t unrack the bar. I just left the bar in the rack, but stayed tight with my breath held, let the dizzy pass, kept tight, new breath, then unracked the bar and went. It wasn’t perfect, I need to still get timing on it (can’t wait too long, but gotta wait some), but I was sure a lot more stable. The downside is that I’m sitting there holding a tight isometric hold for what feels like 10-ish seconds, and I wonder if that’s taking a rep out of me? I felt on the last 2-3 sets that I just didn’t have it in me. In fact, on the final set I started and couldn’t get the bar up more than half way!! I re-shouldered it, fresh breath, retightened, and cranked out 1 rep… hated only getting 1 so I ground out a 2nd.

I think I need to work on it, finding the right time to “recover” from the ‘dizzy’ feeling, but well… if this helps me work it, then so be it. I’ll keep at it.

One interesting other thing that happened then during the assistance pressing was of course I continued to work on the exact same setup, but I would find on the last 3 sets on the last some reps, it got tough and I felt a tightening in my torso like never before to keep things going.

So you know…. I didn’t PR, but I still think I progressed.

Vetting your supplements

Do you take any sort of supplement?

Multivitamin?

Caffeine?

Coconut Oil?

Alcohol?

Creatine?

Whatever. We all like to ingest things beyond straight food in hopes it will help improve things for us. It could be our mental alertness, our physical strength, our general well-being, longevity, stave off disease, and the list goes on.

Trouble is, is the supplement you’re taking actually doing something? other than emptying your wallet, that is.

It’s hard to know. It’s hard to find useful information presented in a consumable manner (that doesn’t require you to be a scientist).

A few weeks ago I found examine.com and it’s a collection of research and information about all sorts of supplements (and nutrition). I like that they give the names, other names, how to take it, what it can mix with, what it won’t mix it, warnings, issues, what studies have actually found. I like the use of a matrix as a visual tool to help you scan for information. It’s really well-done and put together.

I also appreciate that if you go to their about page, you see pictures and bios of the people behind it. It’s not just another nameless, faceless website, but people standing behind it to try to actually make something solid and respectable.

Anyways… give it a try. It seems to be a good resource.

And yes… most of the stuff you can buy at GNC? You’re wasting your money. 🙂