Nancy Pelosi and The Pope

So I read by way of Robbie that Nancy Pelosi and The Pope had a meeting. I’m glad to hear this happened.

My wife is a devout Catholic so abortion topics, including Pelosi’s take on it, are a topic of conversation from time-to-time around our household. I don’t want to talk about abortion here so much as I want to talk about integrity and consistency. If you believe in abortion and have all of your other beliefs, ideology, philosophy, outlook on life, behavior, etc. all in line with each other, that’s one thing. But along comes Nancy Pelosi saying she’s “an ardent practicing Catholic”, but then supports abortion. Folks, that doesn’t jive. She goes on to say that the Catholic Church doesn’t even know when life begins! Watch her say this and read the transcript yourself.

Frankly, I don’t see why The Pope doesn’t deny Holy Communion to her or any other Catholic that behaves in this manner. It’s simple. If you’re a Catholic, you adhere to a certain set of beliefs. If you don’t adhere to those beliefs, you’re not a Catholic… especially not an “ardent practicing” one. This is a matter of integrity.

I think Robbie said it best tho:

Ms. Pelosi says she’s a Catholic. But she also supports abortion. Which makes her a pretty shitty Catholic. Kind of like every single professed Catholic who voted for Obama (who in turn voted to allow the murder of babies born alive that were supposed to be “terminated” before birth).

Texas Legislation Alert: HB 1301

In the Texas Legislature, SB 730 has already been introduced. Now HB 1301, the House companion bill, has been introduced.

If you live in Texas, contact your State Representative (and your State Senator too, if you haven’t chimed in on SB 730).

Where’s the change?

I have to agree. Where is the change? There are lots of broken promises sure, but that’s not change… that’s pretty par for the course.

Robbie seems to be starting a nice tally of the broken promises.

Name me one success

I find it fascinating that people turn to government (local, city, state, federal especially) thinking it will solve their problems. Number 3 on Anthony G. Martin’s list of 10 Conservative Principles notes that usually government is the problem.

So I’ve been curious. Can someone name for me something the government (and for purposes here I’m talking US Federal Government) has done that has been good? That has been run efficiently, has been properly accountable, has done a better job than the private sector, has left the majority of people as “satisified customers”. I’m honestly looking to find something the Feds have done that one could say was great. If you know of something, please add a comment and some evidence to support it.

They say the definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results. So, when you have failed government program after failed government program (e.g. FEMA), why do folks keep turning back to government expecting success?

10 Key Conservative Principles

Today’s popular definition of “conservative” means little more than “that group of people/notions that stand opposite to what the ‘liberals’ stand for”. And even then I’m not sure how often they’re actually opposing.

Anthony G. Martin has a nice summary of 10 Key Conservative Principles.

Continue reading

No consent

Mike-istan didn’t consent.  Maybe he’d be interested in what’s going on in New Hampshire.

 

Updated: My wife passed me this link, which lead to this link, which lead to this link. Interesting stuff, folks.

Didn’t read but still got an A

I remember back in 11th grade I was supposed to read Invisible Man by Ralph Waldo Ellison. The assignment was for each student in class to read some book, then on a particular day we were going to have a 2 hour writing assignment in class on the book. So since I didn’t read it, I naturally got to spend two hours sitting at my desk attempting to look busy. I wrote some b.s. on the paper, knew it wouldn’t fool the teachers, and naturally as a result I got a big fat zero (0) on the assignment.

But it would seem that not reading the assignment is a Good Thing for our (out of control) public servants.

The sad part is, they’ll eventually receive a grade for their work, but it’s going to hurt us a lot more than it’s going to hurt them.