The weather rock

Do you know what a weather rock is? It’s a fantastic device for telling you what the weather is. Quite accurate too, far better than those weathermen on TV.

Linoge tells of his weather-rock like story.

I have a similar one.

Wife loves to follow weather. She knows all about the science of it, can even decently predict things. She’s kept an accurate count of how many days have been over 100º in Austin this summer. She really digs weather.

But whenever it looks like rain, she must go look at the radar. Either the dedicated radar channel on the cable TV, or pulling up a web browser and looking at a website with a radar feed.

I just look out the window.

So it’s a fun little joke between us… she can’t confirm if it’s raining or not without looking at the radar. I confirm it by going outside and getting wet or not.  I might be the technology geek, but sometimes old-school techniques work just fine. 😉

Some thoughts on socialization

Heather, the Swiss Army Wife, points out an interesting article in Psychology Today magazine.

Here’s a direct link to the article.

The article is about how, at least here in the United States, we’ve built a cultural and social structure that created this thing known as the teenager. A state where they have a lot of freedoms and abilities, but yet they don’t. Where mentally and physically they are capable of many things, yet we’ve put massive restrictions and burdens upon them. As a result, we’ve created a lot of the “teenager vs. parent” conflicts and generalized teenager angst. It’s an interesting read.

One reason Wife and I choose to homeschool is because of the breadth of people our children are exposed to. Our kids are not locked in school rooms with 25-35 other kids about their same age and development level, day in and day out for the majority of their young lives. In fact, much of the time you go through each grade in school surrounded by the same people. Then many of them are involved in after-school activities, and often those involve the exact same people the kids see during the day with perhaps some specific variance but still generally divided by age/grade. So it’s really just this small slice of folks that the kid interacts with, all around the same age and development. It’s the blind leading the blind with sometimes far too often the only external guideance coming from less desirable sources like TV, movies, and other bits of popular culture. Granted you can expose children to folks of other ages and development levels, but “with our busy lives these days” that doesn’t often happen.

Homeschooling tends to lend itself to children being exposed to a cross-section of people of all ages. My children attend Daily Mass, which is mostly attended by elderly. When doing things in their 4-H program, they’re working with kids from ages 8 to 18. Even just in daily schooling the 3 kiddos are with each other, all of their different ages and development stages. There’s much to be learned from this, especially exposing kids to older folks (role models) and allowing your kids to sometimes be the older folks (role models). From the article:

Teens in America are in touch with their peers on average 65 hours a week, compared to about four hours a week in preindustrial cultures. In this country, teens learn virtually everything they know from other teens, who are in turn highly influenced by certain aggressive industries. This makes no sense. Teens should be learning from the people they are about to become. When young people exit the education system and are dumped into the real world, which is not the world of Britney Spears, they have no idea what’s going on and have to spend considerable time figuring it out.

This isn’t to say that homeschooling is the only way to get kids exposed to the right people, but it does show what homeschooling can offer, especially when the biggest concern folks have about homeschooling is “socialization”. Regardless of how your children are socialized on a daily basis (homeschooling, private school, public school, etc.), don’t worry so much if they are being socialized; if the children interact with other humans on a regular basis, they’re being socialized… even us homeschoolers let our children out of the dungeon once in a while. 🙂 Instead, concern yourself more with the quality of the socialization they are getting.

Austin Water implements Stage 2 water restrictions

The Stage 2 water restrictions for City of Austin officially starts today.

For a list of what this means, click here.

If you live in Austin or a surrounding community, please stick to this. Actually, I shouldn’t have to ask… it’s city ordinance and failure to comply will be a Class C misdemeanor punishable by a fine up to $500.

The time to conserve is when you’ve got it… by the time you’ve not got it it’s too late to try to conserve. If this drought continues (we’re at almost 2 years now), we’re going to be in a world of hurt.

Spreading the word that the restrictions are in effect.

Man with a gun

Many gun bloggers like to post “man/woman with a gun” posts from time to time. The blogger is someone with a concealed handgun license, and the point of the posting is how they go about their daily lives — with a gun. That means they are legally carrying their gun and might go to the grocery store, thus they’ll post about a “man with a gun at the grocery store.” Or they might go to the park and post about a “man with a gun in the park.” Or maybe they had to take their kid to a birthday party and it’s “man with a gun around young children at a birthday party.” You get the idea.

As I’d read this posts I found them annoying. I’m not exactly sure why. But the most I thought about it, the more I realized that there’s a benefit in telling such a thing.

It demonstrates there are lots of people out there, normal, law-abiding people out there. These people just so happen to carry a gun, for whatever reason they choose. And nothing happens.

There’s no blood on the streets.

No one died or got hurt.

No children were harmed.

No gun spontaneously lept to life and started shooting.

And it just happened all around you. You were probably blissfully ignorant of it the whole time. It was no big deal. There was nothing to be afraid of, and there’s still nothing to be afraid of even now that you’re aware that there are folks carrying guns around you. The only thing that changed was your knowledge of the situation; it’s no more dangerous now than it was before.

Life just goes on.

Some might say if nothing happened, then that demonstrates you didn’t need a gun in the first place; things were obviously safe enough. No, not quite. The point is to say that the mere fact a man with a gun was out and about doesn’t mean bad things will happen. That just because you might be in proximity to someone with a gun, doesn’t mean you’ll die. That because someone chooses to carry a gun doesn’t mean they’re a bloodthirsty killer. But it also does mean that there are at least some people out there that understand when situations arise in life, you can handle situations better when you’re prepared for them. Furthermore, that many times the right tool make it a lot easier to solve a problem. It’s easier to hang a picture if you’ve got a hammer and a nail.

So know there are folks carrying guns all around you. The ones legally doing so? You don’t have to worry about them. The overwhelming odds are they’re a good person. Life remains good and peaceful, with the knowledge there’s sheepdogs out there.

Updated: Joe Huffman provides a quote that ties in nicely.

I guess I was lucky

Back from our shopping day. I guess the gods were smiling upon us.

First stop was JC Penny’s. They’ve come a long ways and overhauled their image and merchandise. We actually managed to knock out most of our shopping there, racking up a hefty bill. When we got to the car I took a moment to look at the receipt to see how much we didn’t spend (note: not “save” because this isn’t saving, it’s just not spending as much) and I noted that we were charged tax! I knew we’d have tax on a few little things, but I checked the math and we were charged tax on everything! That’s not right. I went back in and pointed it out. Seems they had some problems with a bunch of registers charging tax. They thought the register I checked out on was working, but apparently not. In comes the manager. The only way to fix it was to totally void the transaction and start over. So, on the faulty register she voided it all out, then we had to haul all our stuff to a register in the back of the store at the exchange/returns counter and have everything rung up all over again. Yeah, a pain… but, no big deal.

You see, here we go again with the InSights ABC’s: Always Be Cool. Smile on my face, taking it easy, no big deal. And it really wasn’t a big deal. Sure it was a bit of an inconvenience, but the manager kept apologizing and I just looked at her and said “Hey, shit happens… no big deal.” and smiled and relaxed. I could have pitched a fit, but what good would that have done? Frankly, I was in a great mood, I had no desire to complain, so ABC was just natural. Just be cool. And what did I get for being cool? Well you see, there was a coupon in their sales flyer: spend $50 and get $10 off, or spend $75 and get $15 off. That should apply to the whole transaction. Well, for whatever reason (I can only assume good customer service, and because I was so understanding and cool about the problem), the manager opted to ring up the whole of my purchase in $75 increments and give me the discount each time. 🙂 Score! That’s not a normal thing and not how things are to be done, plus it’s a lot of little transactions, but hey… Always Be Cool. It pays off.

In the end, I we didn’t spend about $120 due to the lack of sales tax and then the nice manager. That was well worth it… both shopping today and well, being cool. 🙂

Went to a couple more stores.

Let’s just say Burlington Coat Factory aims for a different demographic. The sort of clothing they sell… nothing really there for my kids in terms of style.

Old Navy still has a store. I thought they were closing up and Levi’s was eliminating them for Gap stores or some such. But we went there and were able to round a few things out.

In terms of how much we truly didn’t spend, that’s hard to gauge. The original JCP receipt said we saved a few hundred bucks. My guess is that’s totalling the actual sticker prices vs. the price we paid. There was a lot of sales, 30% off, buy one get one free, buy one get one 50% off, clearance discounts (about 75% off original price). So yeah, I feel we did OK on things. But if I walked into the store during an off day, I’m not sure they’d still be selling any of that stuff for sticker price. So how much we really didn’t spend I don’t know, but the sales are aggressive this weekend and compared to what else I’ve seen I think we fared OK. Frankly in total we spent a little less than we normally do for kid clothes shopping, but I know we came home with more clothes for them and even Wife and I picked up a few things for ourselves. Plus then the flat out non-spending on the sales tax, the bonus discounts and such…all in all I think in the end we did alright.

And to boot? Had to run a little errand when I got home. Walking back past the grocery store I poked my head into the entrance just to try to buy a Coke from the vending machine. The Coke guy was filling up the machine and I asked if I could get one while he was filling it. He handed me a bottle. I asked how much I owed, he said “nothing… it’s cool.” Really? Yup. Wow… that was nice.

Always Be Cool.

Today was a good day. 🙂

Wish me luck

Texas has a “sales tax holiday weekend” designed to help with back-to-school shopping.

It’s this coming weekend, Friday through Sunday.

We’ve never bothered with this. The main reason is we don’t want to deal with the crowds and chaos. And unfortunately, we fear people are going to be petty, rude, and ugly because they all want the best deals for themselves. We’ve experienced this during “big shopping weekends” before,  and we just choose not to deal with it. Plus since we homeschool, we don’t always need to be on the same clock and schedule as the rest of the world.

However, we decided to give it a try this time around. The kids need clothes, we know every retailer in Texas will be stocked up and prepared for this event (I even got an email from Waco Harley-Davidson promoting this weekend), and there will be sales and lots of aggressive pricing and discounting and so on as retailers jockey to attract customers. Then the sales tax alleviation on select items. The kids need the clothing they need so buy it now or later, they still need it. If we buy it now, I expect we’ll be able to lower our total bill. By how much I don’t know yet, but I expect any reduction in the overall bill will be welcome. 🙂

Being the planner I am coupled with my desire to get in and get out as fast as possible, we’ve figured out all that the kids need. We know what pants, shoes, socks, skirts, shirts, underwear, and whatever else they may need. We figured out what sizes of everything to get to minimize the slow down that comes with fitting rooms. Plus we figured out quantities. I think that’s a key factor at keeping cost controlled… you know you need 5 shirts, you get 5 shirts instead of saying “gosh at this price, we can get 7 shirts” which then just jacks up the total bill. If last night before you saw the prices 5 shirts was enough, then today after seeing the prices 5 shirts is still enough.

And going with the fact we aren’t on the same clock as the rest of the world, the plan is to go at the time we feel will have the smallest crowds: first thing Friday morning. Most people will have to be working, most people aren’t morning people. So if we can be on the road at 8 AM and done by lunch, awesome.

The geek in me is also wondering if the iPhone will come into play. If I’ll be able to comparison shop, look up prices, product reviews, or any other sort of on-the-spot information gathering.

Finally, I suspect there will probably be a man with a gun wandering through all these crowds, through all these retail establishments, being around lots of children…. and I’ll betcha nothing will come of it. 😉

So, onwards we go. Hopefully tomorrow won’t suck. 🙂

Winners and losers

When you have kids, sooner or later you have to teach them about winning and losing. What a winner is, and what a loser is. This isn’t just in the scope of say games/sports and sportsmanship, but just about anything in life and having a truly winner attitude so they can succeed in life in anything they do.

Some people grow up and never learn what it is to be a winner; they’re content being losers. John Farnam just wrote a piece discussing how as an instructor he encounters winners and losers in his classes.

Winners are unafraid! They spend their time finding a way to win, rather than looking for an excuse to lose. Winners fear neither victory nor failure.

Losers are deathly afraid of both!

Yes, losers are afraid! Fear ever haunts the base of their being and prevents them from ever walking upright, confidently, proudly.

Losers mumble! They don’t speak clearly, nor with conviction. They can’ t even seem to speak in complete sentences, because their thought processes are confused and perverse. They are afraid of truth, afraid of reality in all forms. They doubt their ability to handle life, so they hide their faces from the light of day.

Losers are bitter and resentful! They are angry with everyone. They can’t handle correction. They savagely defend their every mistake, every blunder, every crime like a lioness her young! Their elaborate rationalizations are sadly comical.

Losers are afraid of growing up! They prefer to be “taken care of.” Accepting full, personal responsibility for anything is unthinkable.

Losers snivel, whine, and make excuses! They take personal responsibility for nothing, always blaming others and “bad luck” for every gloomy hand they’re dealt.

Losers surround themselves with enablers and coddlers who never challenge them! Losers associate only with other losers!

Losers are chronically unproductive! They run their mouths continuously, but habitually shun productive work.

Losers know right from wrong, but conduct their lives as if they didn’t! They’re into “situation ethics,” offering up endless excuses for lying and other misdeeds.

Most of all, losers are ashamed, and should be! They cheerlessly watch themselves missing out on all the best life has to offer, but personal vanity and cowardice ever prevent them from sincerely repenting, and then boldly claiming their own magnificence.

This isn’t the new-agey “everyone’s a winner” sort of b.s.. This is truly having a positive attitude, one geared towards succeeding. As a father, it’s my duty to ensure my children grow up being winners. As a member of my community, it’s my responsibility to help the children I work with (Scouts, 4-H, etc.) be winners.

Take a moment and share the above with your children. Help them learn to be winners. If it can improve our own attitudes as well, all the better.

The quest for simple beer

I love a good beer.

My first exposure to beer was Dad drinking Budweiser. “Dad, can I try a sip?” “Sure.” “Bleck, eww, that’s gross!!” But yet somehow that sowed the seed. When it comes to beer, wine, or liquor, my preference is beer. Used to be a heavier drinker (college and all that), but now I really don’t care to get drunk. I just enjoy a good beer now and again, like any beverage (find me a good lemonade and I’m really happy). I try to pair my beer with the meal I’m eating, and many times I don’t finish the beer because it’s not that important to me… we don’t always finish the glass of water or soda or tea with our meals, so why should there be any pressure to finish the beer? It’s just a beverage, the alcohol just happens to be there (tho I of course mind it because it will affect you). I’m not a drinker, I just like the taste of good beer.

I recall back in college (or maybe it was high school?) when Sam Adams came out, and drinking it was the first foray into “hoity-toity” beer (no more “Beast” here!). From there, you try other “fancy” things, eventually discovering Guinness and then life is never the same. I certainly love going to brew pubs, micro brewerys, discovering odd beers, adoring all things Belgian styled, preference for ales. I know what it is to be a beer snob. I can appreciate that these days beer lovers have more choices than ever before.

But that’s also part of the problem.

Yesterday I went to Spec’s. What a fantastic place to go as the selection is unmatched. But at the same time, it’s also overwhelming. You can spend hours there just looking at all that’s available, trying to figure out what you’d like to try, talking with the employees to get their opinions, maybe taste tests, maybe you can take home a pack of various singles to try them out. It’s actually quite the adventure.

On the same token, it also demonstrates that things are getting kinda silly. Everyone is on a quest to make some serious sort of beer. There’s gazillions of IPA’s out there, wheat beers, fruit beers, heck… I just discovered a “barley wine style ale” (very strong, very bitter, but good). Then trying to go for some sort of special line that’s even more special than their normal special beers, hand-crafted in small batches, blah blah blah. There’s just so much available, but it’s all trying to be more complex than the next guy, more trendy than the other micro-brewery.

What happened to simple beer?

I’m not talking Beast (piss-water is still piss-water). I’d still like the beer to taste good and have some meaning in the mouth. But can we put away the beer snobbery and try to make something simple? On a hot Texas afternoon, I just don’t find IPA’s to be refreshing… they can be very delicious, but it’s not just something I want to knock back when I’m hot and tired, or just standing around the BBQ pit with my buds while the brisket smokes. I’ve actually found myself drinking Pabst Blue Ribbon lately because it’s simple and refreshing, but still has some decent taste to it.

Maybe it’s the engineer in me that appreciates true simplicity. That to make something complex just to be complex, well, almost anyone can do that…. it’s easy to keep adding things. But to take things away, to strip down until you get to the true essence of something, to have the self-control to do so… there’s a greater beauty and challenge in that, I think.

So to my readers… can you suggest a good, simple beer?

First week iPhone impressions

I just returned from a business trip to Chicago. I must admit that this trip was the event that pushed me over the edge to finally buy an iPhone. A combination of needing a dedicated mobile phone for staying in touch with Wife, for work folk to get/stay in contact, and all of the data support. In fact, I knew I wanted the iPhone more for data functionality than phone. I was correct in that area.

I love wireless computing. I love the 802.11 network in my house and how I can sit on the couch or out on the back patio and ‘pute. The one bummer has been that while technically it is wireless I am still ultimately tethered to a general location by the range of the wireless base station. I can’t do things on the road. Having the iPhone and Internet access via AT&T’s 3G network puts the world at my fingertips almost anywhere I am. There is great power and convenience in that. For example, I started writing this post while riding on the hotel shuttle bus to O’Hare airport. Or how after typing that I had to save a draft and then I continued writing the post from inside the O’Hare terminal while I wait for my plane to board. And now, I am back home and finishing the blog post on my MacBook Pro.

I find one huge advantage is being able to keep up. I can check and send email, read my RSS feeds, or just browse the web for news and information. Certainly being able to blog from “anywhere” is useful as well towards ensuring at least one blog post every day. Being able to keep up with communications and not having to “return to the desktop” to catch up and be in touch is a huge boon. Normally after a trip like this, due to the forced offline time of travel, I’d come back Monday morning to a huge slew of email and things to have to slog through and catch up on. No longer. I can just chug right along and not miss a beat.

One problem however is “ostrich syndrome”; that’s where you are so heads down focused on the device that you become oblivious to the world around you. Some people take it a step further, walking around while they do this. It comes with the territory to some extent, but I have to train myself against it. I don’t want to be oblivious to my surroundings. This is something that has to be worked on, to find a balance between being focused on your work but also focused on your surroundings.

Another problem is battery life. It’s amazing how quickly it goes down. There are things you can do to help reduce power consumption, so I’ve done what I can there. Apple posts some useful tips.

I have gotten used to typing. I don’t think I’ll be as good a typist as I can at a real keyboard. There’s no tactile feedback from the keystrokes, it’s using your thumbs and not all 10 of your fingers, but I was impressed how well I could get around. While I may not want to compose essays on the iPhone, certainly I don’t have much problem dealing with emails or even writing a short blog posting. 🙂

But again, the biggest thing I like is being able to have access anywhere. I can just pull out the phone, fire up Safari, and look something up. Or pull out Maps and figure out where to go, from where I presently am. There’s an amazing amount of power and convenience to this, and I’m fortunate to have it.

District 9

Went to see the movie District 9 tonight.

I won’t say much, as I don’t want to spoil things.

My overall take was that it was an enjoyable movie. Not what I was expecting… a level of emotional involvement happened to me, and I didn’t expect the movie would have such a thing. I thought that was good tho, given how the movie works out. A little slow to start, but they have to do that to build everything properly. It works. It didn’t feel labored or extraneous. Yeah, you have to do a little belief suspension and not try to put logic into every last little detail… just shut up and enjoy the movie for what it is.

That all said, the gun nut in me just loved the movie. Man… guns everywhere. Gratuitous use of 1911’s and AK-47’s, M-16’s, a Beretta 92, shotguns galore, probably a bunch of other things that I missed or couldn’t identify in all the firefights. Plus the alien weaponry. Gun nuts are going to love this movie. 🙂

Good stuff. Check it out.