Assault weapons and the President – part 2

This started as an update to this post, but it got long enough that I felt it deserved its own posting. If you haven’t read the original posting, go back and read it first.

Linoge chimes in with a different perspective. Reading his take, then going back and looking at my initial reaction on it, I guess I am reevaluating things.

First, I do agree that a right not exercised is a right lost. Plus, I also had, but didn’t initially express, some similar feelings to the notion of carrying a gun being “normal” or not, but Linoge put it well:

Simply put, a right not exercised is a right well and truly lost. It is not “normal” for citizens to carry rifles because citizens do not carry rifles, and citizens do not carry rifles because it is not “normal”. Now, when given the option of first changing the definition of “normal” by words alone, or first carrying rifles, which do you think will actually result in honest change?

If we all carried guns and rifles out in the open all day long every day, no one would care. This is only a “scary” event because it is out of the norm, and because the media wants to burst into hysterics. Again tho I think it was probably well-played that the man carrying the AR was a well-dressed, educated, and Libertarian black man… kinda throws a wrench in the works of those that thrive on “gun nut hysteria” and blaming the white rednecks and “birthers” for all the woes. 🙂

Now having seen the video of the man in his own words and what they were up to, it’s obvious they did it purely for the attention it would grab. Upon further reflection, it was well-played for that aspect because it did succeed. I’m still not convinced it was the best avenue to take. This is now going back to my college education in speech communication and my graduate school teaching of public speaking: again, know your audience. Was this the right device for getting your message across? What side-effects would use of this device have? Linoge makes a good point:

Let us be honest: the press and the anti-rights advocates (but I repeat myself) are going to to demonize us no matter what we do, so we might as well exercise our rights and educate people while we can. All the better that Chris was able to both simultaneously.

This is true. Plus if you consider how “shock value” works, it only works the first time and subsequent times the impact is less until it’s just normal. Look at Elvis and his pelvis. Look at heavy metal music (being on VH-1 proves Marilyn Manson is not considered a dangerous threat any more). Going back to Linoge’s prior point, if more and more people openly carry firearms, the shock goes down, it becomes the norm.

What was the intended goal? If the goal was to promote 2A rights, you can do that all day every day. To come and carry openly at an Obama event given how high tensions are running in this country already, it just adds to the tension and IMHO is out to do more than promoting 2A rights. Now if the guy carries that AR around every day, I might think differently; that is, he’s just going about his business the same as it always was and it only looks odd because we’re only seeing this small slice of his life. But if he doesn’t do that every day, then the actions were quite explicitly chosen and again… why? Is that meeting your goals? That’s still a bit of an unanswered question, even after watching the video.

Linoge’s perspective is a welcome perspective. I think some of the other “think of how that looks” perspectives are still valid too. As I originally stated, I do think much of this is still based upon ignorant hysterics from folks like Helmke and the rarely-gun-friendly media who also knows that hysterics sells. It’d be welcome to see if “Libertarian black man with an AR” offers up any further explanation for his actions. Not that he has to justify anything, but I’m curious to understand his course of action and to evaluate if it was really a successful and good means towards achieving his ends or not. It’s still unknown.

Updated: White House response.

Updated 2: Sebastian clarifies his sentiments, and I think he too makes good points.

If we are to win this struggle, it will have to be through common American values, and there I think we have a lot more to work with than the other side.  But I don’t think there’s any context in which most people can understand taking a loaded rifle to a political rally.  I think we’re lucky if most people are taking this for the publicity stunt that it is.  In that context, most people can probably understand it and dismiss it.  But political violence is a touchy thing for most of the public, and there’s no appeal to it that’s going to find acceptance.  Gun rights has to be a mainstream issue if it’s going to win out in the end.  If it’s seen as a fringe issue, exercised by “dangerous” people, we’re going to suffer for it over the long run.

Assault weapons and the President

So everyone’s in a tizzy about the folks showing up open carrying at some Obama event.

About a dozen people carrying guns, including one with a military-style rifle…

Because as we know, scary looking guns are more dangerous than non-scary looking guns.

He said he’s never heard of someone bringing an assault weapon near a presidential event. “The larger the gun, the more menacing the situation,” he said.

There’s a “penis size compensation” joke in there somewhere.

“To me, this is craziness,” [Paul Helmke] said. “When you bring a loaded gun, particularly a loaded assault rifle, to any political event, but particularly to one where the president is appearing, you’re just making the situation dangerous for everyone.”

Yeah. I guess all the cops and Secret Service guys, bringing all their weaponry, that makes it dangerous for everyone. Well, there was that video floating around a week or two ago where someone was claiming a Secret Service agent in the back of a car was pointing a rifle at the crowd. I shall go get my tinfoil hat now.

To be honest, all of this reeks of ignorant hysteria. People that don’t understand guns, that are afraid of guns and people that own guns, and Paul Helmke who has his agenda to push. It’s just ignorance and fear. Gain some education — like I did — and you’ll find out that things aren’t as bad as you make them out to be.

In this particular case, these guys are out to make a political point. What that point is I’m not sure, but basically they are out exercising their First Amendment rights. The key thing about 1A and “freedom of speech” is precisely to protect unpopular speech. So what these people were doing is quite fine from a legal perspective. To abridge what they were doing would be a dangerous and unconstitutional thing. They were peaceful, no one was harmed, no laws were broken. I think the only bad thing that happened was some people may have pooped in their pants and got hysterical, and that or any other sort of “being offended” is not reason enough to abridge any sort of activity these people were involved in. The President was in no true danger (even the Secret Service commented accordingly in the article).

That said, while it might be legal and certainly all aspects Constitutionally protected, I personally feel what they did was poor judgment. What message are they trying to send? I liken this to PETA. While I agree we shouldn’t be cruel to animals, PETA takes a radical approach to their message and that turns off a great number of people. If you want to win people to your side, you have to consider who you want to win, and who you’re willing to lose. Maybe you only want to attract other radicals, but realize in doing so you are going to marginalize yourself from the majority. If you’re willing to do this, that’s fine. The key thing is to know your audience. Unfortunately in this case, the situation gets blown wildly out of proportion and I think may serve to have unintended side-effects on the greater scale. Most people are going to look at this — and how the typically gun-unfriendly media will portray it — and think that all gun owners are kooks. We’re not. But we’re going to get lumped in with the guys and it sets back a great many things.

Sebastian chimes in with similar sentiments.

I wish I knew exactly why these guys chose to do what they did. That might lend some better insight into the matter. I’m not satisfied with “exercising our 1A and/or 2A rights” because it was an explicit choice to leave the house with an AR-15 strapped over your shoulder and to attend a protest outside an Obama event. You’re trying to make a point. What’s your point?

Updated: Murdoc has more. What’s more interesting is that these folks were not just law-abiding, but coordinated. They took time to work with the local police, there was a Secret Security detail. These folks were accomodating, polite, working with law enforcement, colored within the lines… gosh, they handled things much better than most protesters. But hey, let’s not let this get in the way of a good round of PSH.

Updated 2: The black man with the gun speaks. (h/t SayUncle)

Well, I understand his point now. In general I’m in agreement with it. As for the AR, it was a simple thing. Attention. He carried the rifle, it attracted attention. That’s all it was being used for folks: a prop. And it worked. Everyone is talking about it. All the news media is buzzing about it. He wanted attention, he got the attention.

I do find it funny tho. It’s an educated black man, with a gun. How different would it have been if it was a redneck white guy? Or a more “urban” African-American? I think the media is having a tough time with this one. I notice in the AP article that there’s no mention of the “man with a gun” being a “black man with a gun.”

Updated 3: Further thoughts, part 2.

Updated 4: White House response. OK, going try to stop updating this post and just updating the later related posts. 🙂

John Mackey – I knew it

A few days ago John Mackey, CEO and co-founder of Whole Foods Market, wrote an opinion piece to the Wall Street journal about health care reforms.

I wrote:

But there’s something kinda fun about reading this opinion piece penned by John Mackey, CEO and co-founder of Whole Foods. I think it’s because I know the vast majority of Whole Foods’ customers wouldn’t agree with him. Something about the sort of people Whole Foods tends to attract vs. the Obama voter/supporter demographic vs. those that want socialized medicine and the government to cure all their ills.

I was right.

I guess it never occurred to them, as they bought their overpriced yuppie food, that there’s probably someone getting rich off their consumer habits. Or just the fact that they’re consumers and feeding this very beast, and to some degree probably better off that most since they can afford to shop at Whole Foods in the first place.

I love elitist arrogance, and the ignorance it brings. 🙂

Updated: Oh, some of the comments:

“I will never shop there again,” vowed Joshua

[…]

“I’m boycotting [Whole Foods] because all Americans need health care,” said Lent, 33, who used to visit his local Whole Foods “several times a week.”

[…]

“I will no longer be shopping at Whole Foods,” [Christine] Taylor told ABCNews.com. “I think a CEO should take care that if he speaks about politics, that his beliefs reflect at least the majority of his clients.”

[…]

“These are people who have already gone out of the way to find a place that is more expensive to buy certain types of food,” he said. “So in theory, they might be more willing to take the action to go somewhere else if they don’t agree with Mackey.”

First, Christine Taylor appears to affirm my prior assessment of Whole Foods’ customer base.

And isn’t it nice to see that they appreciate choice? The ability to boycott. That they appreciate an ability to disagree with something and take their business elsewhere. Gosh… don’t you love a free market? 🙂

The irony. I savor it.

Guns on campus – one year later

One year ago the Harrold (Texas) Independent School District did something groundbreaking: they allowed teachers and staff members to carry concealed handguns on campus, in the classroom, and — gasp — around children.

Here’s the story of how things are, one year later.

In short:

In the year since that historic decision, a gun was never brandished or fired at the school. There were no problems, [HISD Superintendent David] Thweatt said.

Granted that doesn’t mean that guns in school kept bad things from happening, but it does show that after a year with guns directly in school that nothing horrible did happen. The guns didn’t cause immediate death of all the schoolchildren. There weren’t any problems with teachers whipping out their guns to keep the kids in line. Nothing. Life just went about as normal.

So why have the guns in school? Response time, as a matter of practical importance towards keeping those kids safe:

However, one week after school began, police busted a methamphetamine lab set up in an abandoned house that sat 50 feet from the school property.

A deputy had peered inside and “saw something in the walls and windows and called for backup,” Thweatt said. “They made it to the abandoned house in 15 minutes. We had figured it would take 18 to 20 minutes in a typical situation.”

Had that been an armed intruder at his school, response time would have been too slow.

“We’re the first responders. We have to be,” Thweatt said. “We don’t have 5 minutes. We don’t have 10 minutes. We would have had 20 minutes of hell” if attackers had targeted the school.

So what did the kids think about the policy?

Harrold students, who grew up on ranches and in the middle of the North Texas gun culture, were unperturbed by the school district’s new gun policy.

“The kids just laughed about it,” Thweatt said.

It’s no big deal. Kids aren’t phased, everyone went about life as usual.

But if it is life as usual, why do it? Thweatt explains:

When a London reporter asked Thweatt to explain why so many kooks go into schools looking for a body count, Thweatt said he couldn’t explain such a devolution of society, but he did know a simple way to stop it — the same solution he chose for Harrold ISD.

“Good guys with guns — good,” he said. “Bad guys with guns — bad.”

John Mackey gets it

Whole Foods Market is headquartered out of Austin. It’s expensive hippie/yuppie food and culture all rolled into one. Truth be told, if I had money pouring out of my pockets, I’d probably shop there because they do have some cool stuff (I’m a sucker for a good olive bar).

But there’s something kinda fun about reading this opinion piece penned by John Mackey, CEO and co-founder of Whole Foods. I think it’s because I know the vast majority of Whole Foods’ customers wouldn’t agree with him. Something about the sort of people Whole Foods tends to attract vs. the Obama voter/supporter demographic vs. those that want socialized medicine and the government to cure all their ills.

What I think is great about Mackey’s piece isn’t that he’s taking the course some might think. He agrees that our healthcare system needs to be fixed, he just doesn’t think using other people’s money nor having the government administer it is the way to do it. He demonstrates what he does at Whole Foods, and how it works out quite well. He also takes it a step further:

Unfortunately many of our health-care problems are self-inflicted: two-thirds of Americans are now overweight and one-third are obese. Most of the diseases that kill us and account for about 70% of all health-care spending—heart disease, cancer, stroke, diabetes and obesity—are mostly preventable through proper diet, exercise, not smoking, minimal alcohol consumption and other healthy lifestyle choices.

Recent scientific and medical evidence shows that a diet consisting of foods that are plant-based, nutrient dense and low-fat will help prevent and often reverse most degenerative diseases that kill us and are expensive to treat. We should be able to live largely disease-free lives until we are well into our 90s and even past 100 years of age.

Health-care reform is very important. Whatever reforms are enacted it is essential that they be financially responsible, and that we have the freedom to choose doctors and the health-care services that best suit our own unique set of lifestyle choices. We are all responsible for our own lives and our own health. We should take that responsibility very seriously and use our freedom to make wise lifestyle choices that will protect our health. Doing so will enrich our lives and will help create a vibrant and sustainable American society.

Can’t disagree with the man. Well, except maybe about the plant-based diet thing. 🙂

Trigger the Vote

TriggerTheVote.org

Regardless of your political stance, if you are eligible to vote, make sure you are registered and make sure you get out and vote.

Don’t just vote in the big national elections, but vote in every state, city, county, and local election that you have as well. What happens to you and affects your life on a daily basis is affected far more by the local elections than the national ones.

This isn’t the way

I’m trying to avoid the healthcare debate here because it’s a lot of headache and contention that I don’t need in my life right now.

Nevertheless, reading this post from the Conservative Libertarian Outpost I can’t help but be aghast.

I don’t deny that our health care system needs improvement. But the proposal of the current administration is not the way to do it. Folks, the devil is in the details… and I do mean devil. If you’re unhappy now, you’re going to be miserable if this goes through.

Work for change, work for improvement. This… this may be change, but it’s not improvement and still no one has been able to convince me otherwise. You’re welcome to try.

Cling

Murdoc makes a good point:

Why does it seem like it’s only guns that people “cling” to?

Can we accuse people of “clinging to freedom of speech”?

Well, apparently religion is also clung to. But he makes a good point.

Here, let me translate that for you

A couple of good posts on modern day translations. What they say vs. what they mean.

First, tgace gives us the language of the street.

Then Marko gives us some political translations.

All fairly accurate. Certainly no “all your base are belong to us” sorts of problems here.