Megadeth, Testament, & Exodus – Stubb’s BBQ Austin, TX 26 March 2010

Just got home from seeing Megadeth, Testament, and Exodus at Stubb’s BBQ in Austin.

I have to make this brief as well… it’s late, I’m tired and want to go to bed. 🙂

Exodus was alright. Only one original member of the band, so in a lot of respects it seemed like a cover-band up there. But they were tight, thrashed pretty hard. I don’t remember the whole set list, but I know “Bonded by Blood” opened things up. “Fabulous Disaster”, “War is My Shepherd”, and of course “Toxic Waltz” were played as well. The vocalist had a thing for “old school” and “circle pits”… sorry but it’s not how many people are “old school” at this show.. .it’s how many of us are just old. 😉  But still, they put on a heck of a show for an opener.

Testament was the main attraction for me. They played all of their first album “The Legacy”, which was awesome. They also added a couple more songs, “D.N.R.” and “Three Days of Darkness”, which was more awesome. What sucked tho was their sound mix. It was terrible. Toms and kick drum were very clearly heard, everything else was lost. It was pretty bad and they need to fire that sound guy. Plus Eric Peterson had some technical problems at one point (you could hear the bad ground). Nevertheless, Testament was awesome. My neck will be sore in the morning. 🙂

The catch with Megadeth was playing all of “Rust In Peace”, which sounded terrific. I admit I’m not the biggest Megadeth fan, and what I do like tends to be older stuff like “Peace Sells” or maybe the most recent would be from “Symphony” (tho the new one, “Endgame” is pretty cool). They were tight. Just boom boom boom, song after song, little banter in between. Just a machine gun out there. In addition to all of “Rust In Peace”, other songs included “In My Darkest Hour”, “Trust”, “Symphony of Destruction”, “Skin of My Teeth”, “Peace Sells”… can’t remember them all. That new guitar player, Chris Broderick… man, he’s awesome.

Good show. Marred by poor sound mixes and some technical problems, but apart from that most enjoyable.

One question tho… why do people feel a need to fling their full beer cups across the place into the crowd? Not only is that a waste of good beer, but I know I wouldn’t appreciate getting smacked and soaked like that. If it doesn’t bother you, then instead of throwing the beer like that just pour it over yourself and hit your own head. Assholes.

Other observations. Lots of young people there… I mean like under the age of 16… even under 10. Saw a good-looking chick with a Cannibal Corpse tank-top on… that’s a rare sight. And boy… everyone has a mobile phone. No more lighters going up… it’s all LCD displays lighting things up. Pictures, video, texting, messages… it’s amazing how much “LCD pollution” there is during a show. I’m guilty of it myself (kept snapping pics and emailing my buddy W who couldn’t attend the show).

Anyway… off to bed. Tomorrow (well… it’s after midnight now so I guess today) shall be interesting.

RiP, best of all time?

Over at BNRMetal, they had a voting tournament for the best metal album of all time.

You can see the results of the brackets here.

Megadeth’s “Rust In Peace” won for best album of all time…. beating Metallica’s “Master of Puppets”. I’m sure there’s some sort of sweet irony in that for Mr. Mustaine. 😉

I’m not sure I agree with that. RiP is a great album for sure, but overall I think MoP is a better album, more progressive, and of course Metallica has always been a bigger band. My vote would be for MoP.

The only other thing I could disagree with would be Sepultura’s “Arise” beating Ozzy’s “Diary of a Madman”. But I’ve always been a Randy Rhodes fan.

Anyway, check it out. A pretty cool tournament and really, I think it panned out fairly well.

Erwin Ballarta Retirement Tribute

The Edged Weapon Defense seminar I attended a few days ago was headed by a man named Erwin Ballarta. Erwin spent many years as the head of Texas DPS’s Defensive Tactics. When he retired from DPS, a Recruit Cadet made a tribute video:

Pretty cool. 🙂

There’s one quote/voiceover in there that is a great adage for self-defense:

Move and stun, stun and move.

It’s simple. In a self-defense situation, you have to keep moving. Moving, attacking/defending, moving.

Another good quote?

Don’t give up.

Concerts and self-defense

Going to the Motörhead show last night, I had to decide what I was going to do in terms of self-defense.

The reality is, every show and venue is different. Some venues I just walk into with no problems. Some venues might have “no weapon” policies but they’re there more because of their lawyers. Some venues might have 51% signs or true 30.06 signs to prohibit concealed carry. But then they’ll have no frisking. Or I’ve been to some shows where I’ve been frisked heavily and wanded down. It’s always a crap shoot.

I don’t expect to have problems. Most people go to concerts to have a good time. But the reality is, there’s lots of people, lots of testosterone, lots of alcohol (and probably other drug use, tho I don’t worry much about the stoners), and there’s always a chance for something to happen. Fights do break out from time to time. I’ve read news stories of people being knifed at shows. And we cannot forget about what happened to Dimebag Darrell. In my younger years I probably wouldn’t have thought twice about my safety at shows, but I’m older, wiser, more conservative, and so now I think about these things.

So last night having no idea how Stubb’s ran their show, I mostly disarmed. But I did what I could. Steel toed boots, not only good because drunks stumble and inevitably step on your toes but they’re useful for kicking. I wore a belt with a large buckle… no knife or anything hidden there, just would suck to get hit with it being swung around. And, I took my cane.

But the biggest thing? Mentality.

It’s about keeping aware of things (e.g. I stood with my back against a railing so it’d be difficult for someone to come up behind me, plus it was useful for leaning against when I got tired of standing for so long). It’s about watching the people. It’s about being aware of your surroundings, where are the exits, where’s cover, and so on.

And it’s about Always Being Cool.

However, I wish there was a way to know what I would be up against. Am I going to be frisked? It’d be nice to know that before I left the house. It’d be nice to know if a venue had particular policies, be it their own policy or something like 30.06 or 51% notification. It’d be nice to be able to be properly prepared. Granted, the mindset is you have to be cooler about things than usual because there are lots of people and you know a lot of people are just going to be alcohol-fueled so it’s even more reason to just be cool. And should someone get stupid, to just keep your cool and don’t take it personally and find other ways to deal with it.

Still, I can’t help but think about situations at shows where it did turn truly ugly. I just hope to not be around when that happens again.

We are Motörhead, and we play rock and roll!

March 16, 2010. Motörhead @ Stubb’s BBQ in Austin, Texas.

Damn good show.

The SXSW (South By SouthWest) festival is going on this week. This show was not part of SXSW, but rather the debut of the Lemmy documentary movie, which is debuting at the festival. A whole week of Motörhead activities. While I’d love to catch the movie, too much of the rest of it is wrapped up in SXSW b.s. and I prefer not to deal with that headache. I’ll catch the movie eventually.

The headache was already evident. Downtown Austin was overrun by people wearing SXSW badges. Damn hipsters. 😉 Driving was a pain. Parking was mostly difficult but I lucked out because I got there fairly early and found parking in a lot right across the street.

But the show, it rocked.

Started out with a band called Year Long Disaster. Never heard of them, but they weren’t too bad. They were tight, some of the songs were alright. They need to learn how to be a live band tho, like crowd interaction and putting on a show. But they’re new and young, and they have potential. I don’t think I’d buy their album, but only because it wasn’t really the sort of thing I’m into. Still, they were decent and I found myself digging some of their songs. They pulled out a cover of Black Sabbath’s “Never Say Die” which I thought was pretty cool as I always thought that was a great song for a live performance (so much energy).

Next up was Austin, Texas’ own, The Sword. I came across them about 2 years ago. Reading blabbermouth.net and I saw some blurb about an Austin band. Being as I read it on blabbermouth that meant there was a metal band in this town, which is welcome from all the prolific “singer-songwriter” crud around this town (you can’t spit without hitting a “starving musician” in this town). I checked out their debut album, “Age of Winters” and then picked up “Gods of the Earth” when it came out. Sometimes the singer’s voice is a little monotonous for me (he doesn’t have a lot of range), but overall I really dig the band and have been itching to see them live since I first listened to their album. I just found it crazy that The Sword was from Austin but rarely played here! So that they were on this bill was a fantastic bonus.

The Sword rocked. Hard. They are tight. Heavy. They played numerous songs from their first two albums, but they also played three songs from their upcoming album (they said it was coming out this summer). Those 3 songs were killer. It’s evident this band is growing, progressing, getting better. It certainly whet my appetite for the next album. Their lead guitarist, Kyle Shutt? He shreds. Being the sort of “sludge doom Sabbathy” sort of band that they are, you wouldn’t think it, but in those new songs Shutt was shredding. It fit quite well with the energy and flow of the songs. I’m looking forward to the album. Awesome stuff.

Finally, what we came for. Motörhead.

The band was on, as you’d expect after so many decades together. Mikkey Dee is an amazing drummer. Phil Campbell is underrated as a guitarist (metal or blues, because ultimately he’s a blues guy). And of course, Lemmy. The show was very much a modern Motörhead show, with the band just belting out the songs one after another. Small bits of interaction and in between songs, and you can tell these guys really enjoy playing together… joking on stage, talking to each other, but taking care of business. And doing it loud. I’m sure they were pushing the limits of any noise ordinance.

The performance was solid, although there was one obvious screw up. Lemmy started “Going to Brazil” but the rest of the band wasn’t ready. They had a good laugh and started again. This is the joy of live music, real music — no Auto-Tune here. The setlist was fairly expected, especially the encore. But some obscure gems were pulled out, like “Cradle to the Grave”. I was personally happy they started out with “Iron Fist” (I believe the first Motörhead song I heard as a kid), and threw in songs like “In The Name Of Tragedy” and “Just Cos You Got The Power”. I didn’t know it was Lemmy that played the harmonica during “Whorehouse Blues”; it was different to see him just standing on stage behind a mic without his Rickenbacker. The trouble is, with so many albums and so many years at this, how do you make a setlist? You just can’t play everything, you just can’t get all the songs and favorites in there. I would have loved to hear “I’m So Bad (Baby I Don’t Care)” but alas. So they of course put in some crowd staples (e.g. “Ace of Spades”), something for the old farts in the back in the rocking chairs (“Metropolis”), and just had fun and pleased themselves with their choice of songs.

  1. Iron Fist
  2. Stay Clean
  3. Be My Baby
  4. Rock Out
  5. Metropolis
  6. Over The Top
  7. One Night Stand
  8. I Got Mine
  9. (Guitar Solo)
  10. The Thousand Names of God
  11. Cradle to the Grave
  12. In The Name of Tragedy (w/ drum solo)
  13. Just ‘Cos You Got The Power
  14. Going to Brazil
  15. Killed By Death
  16. (encore)
  17. Whorehouse Blues
  18. Ace of Spades
  19. Overkill

Good show. Glad I went. Got the t-shirt (a limited “Motörhead – Austin” shirt). Rock out!

Updated: I just realized something. Motörhead played Austin on September 20, 2009. The setlist was almost exactly the same. The only differences? They played “Another Perfect Day” instead of “Cradle to the Grave”, and “Bomber” was played after “Killed by Death”. Like I said, the setlist was fairly expected…. but I didn’t think it was nearly the same as before! Ah well. Still enjoyed the show.

Sunday Metal – Motörhead

This week is the famous SXSW festival in Austin.

Premiering this week will be the Lemmy documentary.

Looking forward to that, here’s Motörhead with a great “later day” song and one of my favorite Motörhead songs, “In The Name of Tragedy”: