Austin murder rate up 38%

The city of Austin’s (my city) murder rate has climbed 38%

The City of Austin’s murder rate continues to be higher this summer than the previous year.  While year-to-date crime statistics show a decrease in amount of overall violent crime, Austin’s murder rate is up by over 38-percent.  The Austin police department’s Shelia Hargis says a large amount of those homicide are closely related to another crime. “One thing that seems to increasing this year versus in the past is the city’s robbery-related homicides” says Hargis. The latest Austin crime report also shows a 14-percent decrease in overall robberies, which points out even the small number of robberies here in Austin are now escalating to murder.

One can ponder as to why the rate climbed. Could it be because Austin claims itself a “sanctuary city“? Could it be due to the economy and folks being more desperate? Could it be due to illegal drugs (and “repealing prohibition” could stop it)? Could it be because folks are going crazy from the heat? I’m sure Austin Police have an idea, but so far they’re not sharing.

But whatever the reason, a key take-home point is that homicides in conjunction with robberies are starkly rising. That means the question is no longer “your money or your life”, it’s now “your money AND your life”.

Stay safe.

Optimist vs. Pessimist

My Dad spent much of his life involved in politics in some manner or other. Consequently, most of my life has had me indirectly involved in politics. I recall being a kid and being dragged to all sorts of functions and speeches and mostly just hating it (not a kid’s idea of fun). But for some reason, there was one speech that was memorable to me.

Dad knew a good speech sometimes starts out with a joke relevant to the topic. I don’t remember the body of the speech nor who he was delivering the speech to, but I do remember the joke. It went something like this:

There were these two boys: one was an optimist and one was a pessimist.

A team of scientists wanted to study their behavior, so they put each of the two boys in a room. They put the pessimist in a room filled with all the latest toys and fun things — anything that a young boy would want to have and then some. They put the optimist in a room knee-deep in manure. The scientists left the boys alone in their rooms, then after some time had passed, came back to see what the boys were doing.

The pessimist was sitting in the middle of the room, his arms crossed and a scowl on his face. He hadn’t touched any of the toys, just sat there.

When the scientists looked into the optimist’s room, they saw him picking up a piece of manure and flinging it over his shoulder. Then he picked up another one, flung it, another and flung it, and kept repeating this action. The scientists wondered what he was doing so they stopped the boy and asked him.

The boy replied, “With all this manure, there’s got to be a pony in here somewhere.”

and laughter followed.

I admit, at the time I didn’t fully understand the depth of the joke. Yeah I understood it at some level, and for whatever reason the joke stuck with me — probably the mental caricature I conjured of some boy flinging pieces of poop over his shoulder. 🙂

As I’ve progressed through my life, the joke has never left my mind. It’s always been a reminder of how to look at life. When you have good things and all you do is bitch and complain, life’s going to be pretty unhappy for you. But even if life hands you a mountain of shit, if you can smile at it and find some sort of good in it, life works out a lot better.

Thinking aloud, because life is good.

Wife and kids are at Mass. I just finished assembling a cabinet to go by the front door. Note to self: stop buying furniture that requires assembly… yeah it’s not hard (I’m reasonably mechanically inclined), but I’m just tired of “some assembly required”. So since I’ve been doing a lot of work all day, I figured it was time to have a beer (Dogfish Head India Brown Ale) and reflect a bit. I’m going to reflect aloud because well… I’ve got a blog and this is part of why I have it: testimony, recording of life, and so on.

This whole house renovation experience has given me much to think about, and I’m not just talking about the obvious stuff with the house itself. It’s made me revisit and rethink a lot of things.

I’m thankful for my job. I’m compensated fairly, and I work hard to earn that money. I am not earning as much as I could for my skill set and experience, but the trade-off is I get to work from home and be involved with my wife and children. Being so close to my children and having such a good relationship with them? That’s the best compensation in the world.

I’m thankful for Wife. Her good taste guided this renovation, and folks… the house is gorgeous… tho not as gorgeous as she is.

I’m thankful for the generosity of others. In-laws that helped to make this happen. Neighbors that offered up boxes for storage, their kitchens so we could have home-cooked meals instead of eating out constantly. The guys doing the work, and the extra things they’d do to help out that were beyond the scope of their employ. Employers (be it KRT or my day job or whomever) for understanding what I’m going through and working with me on this endeavor.

I’m thankful for having patient children. It’s been massive upheaval the past some weeks, and while it’s worn on all of us, the kids have been real troopers throughout.

I’m thankful for beer. ’nuff said. 😉

I’m thankful to have been graced with what I have in life. I’ve got a good house; I’ve the ability to renovate it. I can keep my family reasonably comfortable throughout all this upheaval. I can only hope that I’m living up to what my parents wanted me to do, which is to be the best I can and provide for my family better than they provided for me.

I realized that going without TV all this time… well sure, I feel a bit out of the loop (I’ve missed those new Futurama episodes), but life goes on just fine and I really haven’t missed it all that much. I tossed around the idea of getting rid of the TV, but upon expressing that to my children well… you should have seen the look of horror on their faces. 😉  TV won’t be going away for the household, but certainly it’s less and less an issue for me (tho I still love me some Invader Zim and the occasional Outdoor Channel show).

I’m thankful that I’m soon to return to my normal routine. Getting up in the morning, reloading 200 rounds of 9mm (haven’t done that in a few weeks while all this chaos has been going on), dry fire practice, some sort of physical exercise, then getting to work.

I’m sure there are other things that I’m forgetting right now.

The bottom line? I feel humbled by the house renovations. I’m very blessed and I do NOT want to take it for granted. I see much that’s around me and I realize that I’ve got a good thing and I have NO place to complain about anything (except the way our Federal government is behaving… that’s a duty).  Life is good, and I’m so fortunate to have Wife to experience it all with.

I see the light!

Yes… I can see the light at the end of the tunnel.

The home renovations are almost complete!

New carpet in the master bedroom today, then a lot of little paint details to deal with. We’ll move stuff back into the house over the weekend, inspect work, and hopefully all that has to be done next week will be spit-and-polish sorts of stuff.

Can’t wait for things to return to normal (ha ha ha).  I want to get back on my reloading routine. I need to go check out some new martial arts schools. Kids have schooling starting up again. Just right from one chaos into the next. 🙂

Appreciation

We’re still living in our house while it’s being renovated.

Living room is dismantled, dining room, kitchen, master bedroom, other little things. We’ve basically moved into the kids’ bedrooms and took a few things with us, like coffee pot and microwave. Using paper plates and plastic utensils, making do with how things are. It’s cramped, unusual, boring. It’s only going to get worse as the week wears on.

But, you consider that there are people who live in such quarters every day. You consider there are people who live in worse conditions every day. After a week or so more, we’ll be “back to normal”, we’ll be moving things back in, setting back up, and going back to our lives. But others, their lives will remain as they are.

That I can do these renovations? I’m fortunate.

It’s been a good experience to make you step back and be appreciative and thankful for what you have.

Foot bath detox

I always wondered about those “detox foot bath” things. I figured it was bullshit. Yesterday something caused me to think about it again so I finally Googled on it, and here’s the science.

Again, I figured it was bullshit. If you can truly suck “toxins” and metals and other evils out of your body through your feet, well, skin isn’t a one-way door (and imagine how big your pores must be!). So just walking around means you’re sucking up G-d only know what. Plus then it means you could stand say in a spilled beer and get drunk, or maybe stand on a book and get smart. And it’s amazing that our entire insides don’t just slowly drip out through our soles. *roll eyes*   But while I figured it was bullshit, I was curious exactly what the chemistry was that was causing the reaction. And now I know what a magical parlor trick it is.

Here’s the obvious flag: any time someone talks about “toxins” and “ridding the body of toxins”, they’re full of shit. If something is truly toxic to our body, either you will die from it or our body’s mechanisms will get rid of it (e.g. that’s what kidneys and the liver are for, or immediate reactions like vomiting). All this “cleansing” bullshit is just that, bullshit. Drink enough water, let your body work. If it sounds too good to be true, it probably is.

Hiding in the walls

So the house is undergoing renovations.

Look what we found during demolition:

Click to enlarge, if you need to.

Can you tell what those are?

They’re gecko eggs.

They pulled out the fridge, then pulled off the trim boards and that’s what they found hiding behind the trim board. Makes sense. It’s dark, it’s warm. Geckos are all over this part of the country, see them all over the outside of the house and every so often on the inside of the house (tho the cats take care of them very quickly).

If you think this is an “eeeewwwwwww!” moment, just let your mind wander with it a bit. If this is what you can find in your house, imagine what’s in place that you can’t find? In the walls, up in the recesses of the attic. The workmen tell me they’ve seen far more “interesting” things than this.

Just think about that as you’re falling asleep tonight. 🙂

Rampant Chaos

A long-desired dream of Wife’s is finally coming true.

We’re getting the house renovated.

Flooring, paint, all sorts of things. It’s a big undertaking. Some things were completed before we went to Omaha, and right now we’re in process of getting the big work done: floors and paint.

Wife and Kids are all gone, which is good. They’re staying at casa de Wife’s parents. The house is a wreck, barely inhabitable, loads of stuff in the air which would be ugly for the kids to breathe. Heck, I had to change the air filters on the furnaces today because they were caked with dust from all the tile demolition; I need to go to Lowes to pick up more filters because I know I’ll need to change them again very soon. I have to eat out for most every meal, which has its pros and cons. Tonight I’m going to go get some Thai food. Mmmmm.

So it sucks right now, especially being home alone and with much of “habit and routine” out of whack due to the state of the house. But I know I’m blessed and fortunate to be able to have this work done, and I know when we emerge on the other side the house will be beautiful and Wife will be happy.

And in the end, Wife being happy is all I really care about. 🙂

I wanted to go visit a local Aikido dojo tonight, but the painters are still here and I can’t leave. So the visit will have to wait. I’m itching to try Aikido. I don’t know how the experience will be, and I really don’t care at this point how it will evaluate. It’s just the next path on my journey that I wish to explore. It will be what it will be.

And to bring guns into the discussion… it’s cool to talk with the guys doing the work. They’re all hunters to some degree or other. I’m sharing some of the water buffalo meat with them because, why not? 🙂

Texas Women

Hank Williams, Jr. wrote a song about Texas Women:

and I have to agree.

Any time I leave Texas, like last week when I was in Nebraska, I observe what’s around me. And sure, I see lots of pretty women. But they just can’t hold a candle to Texas women.

I’ve had many a discussion with other folk (including Wife, native Texans, and non-Texans) about this phenomena, and they all agree. There’s just something about how they grow ’em down here. 🙂

God Blessed Texas. 🙂