What’s that white stuff?!?!?!

Holy crap.

It snowed in Austin!

It’s the apocalypse!

It must be like… a whole half-inch out there! of dry powder too!

And so, the city comes to a screeching halt. I’m seeing that all the school systems are cancelling school for today. Various work places are telling their employees to not come in.

My kids are homeschooled. I work from home. Life just chugs on for us, no break. This is one of those times where you debate the merits of being so home-based. I mean, “this close” to a 3-day weekend. 😉

See, I spent most of my life in places that got lots of snow. The blizzard hitting most of the US right now? THAT would be cause to shut things down for maybe just a day until the plows and sand trucks did their thing, and you spent all day applying shovel to driveway while the kids made forts and snowmen. Then you got on with life.

So I heave a sigh when we get this dusting and the place shuts down. People in Chicago are laughing at us. But then, probably a good thing to keep all the transplanted Californian’s off the road here, since they don’t know how to drive in snow.

In related news, Sasha the wonderdog is loving the snow (unlike some dogs). Just wait for July oh fuzzy girl….

Fragility and preparedness

One thing that our wonderful modern life in the United States does? It insulates us and isolates us from reality.

Sometimes that’s good – because ignorance truly is bliss and I’m sorry but every so often we all need ways to not burden (or unburden) our minds and hearts of stuff. But for the most part, ignorance and isolation isn’t promoted as a successful long-term life-strategy.

The US is being hit by a pretty major winter storm. Temperatures here in Austin are in the teens overnight not getting above freezing during the day. I know to a lot of my northern friends sitting at sub-zero (Fahrenheit) temperatures right now, but for this area of the country this is unusually harsh.

What makes it worse? State-wide in Texas they had rolling blackouts yesterday and are predicting more for today. Why?

Burst water pipes at two coal-fired power plants forced them to shut down, triggering rolling power cuts across the state, the lieutenant governor said Wednesday.

Lt. Gov. David Dewhurst said this is something that “should not happen.”

Dewhurst said he was told that water pipes at two plants, Oak Grove and Sand Hill, forced them to cut electricity production.

Natural gas power plants that should have provided backup had difficulty starting due to low pressure in the supply lines, also caused by the cold weather.

That’s right, it shouldn’t have happened. But it did. Why did it happen? Looks like some combination of accidents, technical reasons, and perhaps poor planning.

I’m not here to point fingers, but rather to point out. To point out just how fragile our modern system is. Look at the uprising in Egypt and how instantly all Internet access was cut off. I recall a couple of years ago I was teleconferencing with the home office in California when everything went down. Turns out that some vandals severed the network cables and took out entire towns of phone, Internet, you name it (except radio), all of those cables went through a single manhole and left cities without access to emergency services. Part of the design intent of the Internet is if something goes down it’ll continue to route around to find its destination, but we have too many single-point bottlenecks such that when they go down it is a major problem.

We take much for granted, because we’re blissfully ignorant and unaware of how everything works and is put together. How the very fabric of our society is that fragile and untenable. Redundancy and backup solutions are good, but even those can fail. In the end, we’re humans, living with human constructs… mistakes will be made, things will fail. Best we can do is be prepared not for if they will happen, but when they will happen.

Emotional Updraft

 

It’s amazing what love can do.  There is nothing that lifts us up more.  In times of trouble, when somebody loves you, it brings healing.  The more love the better.  We know this, but strangely, somehow it often seems illusive.  We want to love and be loved, but it can be so hard to do.

 

 

Continue reading at The Climbing Up Blog

 

Suddenly, everything turned black and white

I guess the cold front just blew in…. with a vengence.

Rain coming down.

Sustained 20MPH+ winds, gusts are well over 40MPH and forecast up to 55MPH.

If I end up “over the rainbow”, you’ll know why. 🙂

Emotional rollercoaster

With the events of the past week, it was pretty low. This past weekend I finally got to release a lot of the emotions I had to put on hold to help deal with the realities of the situation. It’s still sad, but you move on.

Then early this morning I get an email from a good friend telling me his wife went into labor. This is earlier than expected, but I just spoke with him… they’ve been at the hospital a few hours, she’s almost fully dilated, and it’s time to push. Any moment now, little one will be here. It’s their first.

From sadness from a life ending, to joy from a new life beginning.

Life’s a rollercoaster. But it’s a fun ride. 🙂

Disconnect myself

Today, a neighbor and friend was laid to rest. And yes, I say friend because while we weren’t “BFF’s”, he was a solid man. He was so friendly, so helpful. He was always there, always willing to lend a hand, even if it was just to shoot the shit while standing in the yard. He was a good man.

I miss the sight of him mowing the lawn… in bare feet… and with those damn burrs, I don’t know how he did it. I will miss seeing him  outside, fixing a car, or building something, or throwing a ball around with his sons… radio in the garage playing classic rock or country music. He was a watchful eye in the neighborhood, always taking care of geez… everything and every one, even the neighbors that he might not known at all. And gosh.. when it was deer hunting season man…. I envied his hunting opportunities. I loved listening to his hunting stories. I love seeing all the racks he has around the perimeter of his garage interior. It won’t be the same around here without him.

We’ve been doing all we can to help the family, and it just doesn’t feel like enough. If ever there was a time I wished for a magic wand, it’s now more than ever.

K… we love you. We’re here for you and the boys. I know you have a long road ahead, but we’ll be here to support and help you. We’ve told you this many times this past week, but know it’s not just empty words or words that after a few weeks pass and we all drift back into our own lives that we forget. No. We’re with you on this ride.

I’ve got so many things going through my head… through my heart… through my soul. I firmly believe that all things happen for a good reason. I look to find the good in all things. Right now, I’m not sure what the good is in this, but I know in time it will reveal itself.

But for now… I need to just disconnect myself for a little bit. Don’t worry for me… just need a little time. Just send a little cosmic strength and support to the family, ok?

Texas homeschooling bills – updated

I received word back from HSLDA about the 3 homeschool-related bills introduced in the current Texas legislative session.

Read the updates.

My take? You can debate the merit of the intentions behind the bills, but from a legal perspective they are bad bills.

Not feeling it today

Sorry folks.

Just not feeling it today.

Tragedy befell a family my family is friends with. We’re helping them through right now doing whatever we can. It’s just heavy, and well… I don’t feel like writing anything right now. Maybe later.

If it’s your thing, say a prayer for their family. If it’s not your thing, say a prayer anyways. Send some energy and strength through cosmic vibes or whatever. Me, I’ll be fine, but they need a lot of strength and support right now.

Exploring rum

Beer. Wine. Liquor.

I prefer beer.

Some years ago I was at Apple’s World Wide Developers Conference, and over dinner with a few co-workers — one of whom was well-versed in wine — I started to try out wine in a more serious mode. I came to appreciate it, and since then certainly enjoy exploring the world of wine. I like going to local Texas wineries, some of which produce good stuff, and sampling the wares. Once the weather warms up, I’m wanting to do winery excursions with Wife… pick a local one, drive out, sample, explore, enjoy. Something for us to do together. BTW, there are some red wines that Costco/Kirkland produces… run in the $20-$30 range. I’m pleasantly surprised at their quality.

But I’m still not that into liquor. Oh sure, I like some good mixed drinks. Bloody Mary’s I dig. I can go with Kahlua and Cream. A good margarita on the rocks. And then a few years ago I tried a mojito and loved it. Then… there was the time I tried a martini. Sure, the gin smelled really good to the nose, but drinking it tasted like turpentine. I just can’t do the “sippin'” thing. Maybe I haven’t been properly schooled.

I blame the mojito tho. I really like it, but any time I try to get one made for me it always comes out terrible. So I figure, if I want satisfaction, I’ll have to do it myself. Plus, I’ve kinda always enjoyed rum-based drinks for whatever reason. A simple Rum & Coke is a wonderful thing. So I finally got off my duff and figured it’s time to explore rum.

Trouble was, I did it on a whim and without any proper research I had no idea what on the shelf to buy. No, not going to bother with Bacardi. But thankfully I had my iPhone with me and stood in the aisle and researched a bit. A lot of positive feedback came for Flor de Caña, so I thought to try it out. I picked up a fifth of their 4 year old gold. I found that mixed very nicely. Right now, my mixing is rather limited: Coke, orange juice, apple juice, or just having it neat or on the rocks. It was alright. I found it mixed nicely with the Coke.

Since this is about exploration, next time to the store I picked up 3 bottles: Captain Morgan, just the original variety; Flor de Caña’s 7 year (originally I wanted to try their 12 year, but the store didn’t have it… they had 18 but I figure let’s start with 7 and work my way up… especially given how expensive the 18 year was); and finally Appleton Estate V/X.  I’ve been trying them all in the same way, e.g. have them all in the same amounts with Coke, or with OJ or whatever.

The Flor 7 is probably the most “sippin'” of them all, but I just find myself not liking it. Maybe it’s my n00b palate. As if this writing, I haven’t mixed it much, but we’ll see. I was amazingly surprised to see how well the Captain Morgan blended in apple juice…. it was like they were made for each other. Fantastic taste.

But what hit me the most so far has been the Appleton. First, the smell of it stood out… way out. The scent of molasses really hit me, in a positive way. It smelled just delicious. But when I tried it straight, it was… harsh. As I let the burn die down, what was left on my tongue tho I really appreciated. I can’t describe it adequately enough, but I found myself going back and trying it again… and again. It was most interesting. And mixing it has turned out to be pleasant, and certainly it stands out differently in flavor from all others I’ve tried so far. Next up, I am going to try more Appleton, probably their Reserve…work my way up.

Anyways, it’s fun to explore what life has to offer. Don’t know where this journey will take me, but I’m sure it’ll be a fun one.

Updated: From a friend of mine, and recording it here in case I forget….

I recently discovered the Dark and Stormy. A cocktail with Ginger Beer, lime juice, and dark rum. (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dark_’N’_Stormy) Really tasty. I recommend you give it a spin…

PS: Don’t waste the really good (ie: expensive) stuff on cocktails. You can get by with Whalers or Meyers.

It sounds good. I bet Spec’s will have good ginger beer’s.

Meyers is another I wish to try.

And for the record, I had some apple juice with the Appleton V/X. It wasn’t bad, but it didn’t have that same “natural pairing” taste that the Capt. Morgan’s did.

How to get hit by a car when walking down the street

If you’ve ever wondered how to get hit by a car when walking down the street, here’s some helpful tips:

  • Walk at night. Harder for cars to see you, tho you could see them due to their lights.
  • Wear dark clothing. Harder for the cars to see you than if you wore light/white or even reflective clothing.
  • Wear headphones with the music cranked up loud. Why should you listen for the sound of oncoming cars when Justin Bieber could be serenading you instead.
  • Walk with the flow of traffic (in the USA, on the right-side of the road). If you walked facing traffic (left-side of the road), you’d be able to see oncoming cars and be able to move out of the way, and that’d be you know… like useful or some junk.
  • Walk in the street, because cars are pesky things… if a couple of tons of steel come at you at a high rate of speed, physics be damned because you can just sue (if you survive).
  • A sense that everyone else has to look out for you. Because taking responsibility for yourself is so uncool.

No, I didn’t hit anyone, but I had to run to the store late last night and nearly hit someone on a dark poorly-lit stretch of road because they were wearing almost black clothing, had large headphones (muff type, not earbuds) over their ears, walking on the right side of the road and on the road itself, and worst of all not facing traffic. A complete lack of awareness, and just a recipe for disaster.

It’s rare today to at least see people walking down the road facing traffic. When did we stop teaching this? And can we start again, please?