2012-10-11 workout – Wendler 5/3/1 program, cycle 14, press 1

Losing strength sucks.

“Week 1”

  • 5 reps – Press (working max: 160#)
    • 2x5x45 (warmup)
    • 1x5x65
    • 1x5x80
    • 1x3x95
    • 1x5x105 (work)
    • 1x5x120
    • 1x5x140
  • Asst. #1 – Press
    • 5 x 10/10/10/8/7 x 80
  • Asst. #1 – Wide, pronated grip lat pulldowns
    • 5 x 10 x 120/120/120/110/110

Yeah, it sucks to be losing strength. But I’m swinging back with the diet (I’ll write more on that later) and at least not feeling as drained. Just hit prescribed reps today.

I opted to get back to doing chins.

I did 1 chin-up between each work set and all assistance pressing. 1 isn’t much, but it’s getting back to it, so start somewhere. The difference now is full range. Before I wasn’t doing a full range of motion, not starting from a dead-hang. Reason? Shoulders, but also that there’s no bar where I can fully hang from — gotta bend at the knees. Well, screw that. I grab the bar a little less than shoulder width, slowly ease myself down so I’m at full dead-hang extension, then pull up. 1 was enough… and really focus on the negative. I forgot to add this in to bench press day, but will try to get back on that too.

Pulldowns then dropped weight a bit, makes sense. I do want to ensure every rep touches my chest.

But even tho my weights are going down, I find technique going up. So hey, that’s good.

2012-10-08 workout – Wendler 5/3/1 program, cycle 14, deadlift 1

“Week 1”

  • 5 reps – Deadlift (working max: 335#)
    • 1x5x135 (warmup)
    • 1x5x170
    • 1x3x205
    • 1x5x225 (work)
    • 1x5x255
    • 1x5x290
  • Asst. #1 – Deadlift
    • 5 x 10/10/10/6/6 x 145
  • Asst. #2 – Pulldown Abs (kneeling)
    • 5 x 12 x 120
  • Foam Rolling

I don’t know what gives… everything felt HEAVY today. Really heavy. It could still be all this diet killing me…. but everything felt heavy.

I’ll also say that my deadlift feels like it’s taking a new bar path. The front of my shins really hurt now… but that’s good, how it should be. And so, that might be why things felt heavier… different muscle activation.

Just didn’t feel all that great today.

2012-10-04 workout – Wendler 5/3/1 program – cycle 14, bench press 1

I need to change up some things on the diet front.

“Week 1”

  • 5 reps – Bench Press (working max: 235#)
    • 2x5x45 (warmup)
    • 1x5x95
    • 1x5x120
    • 1x3x145
    • 1x5x155 (work)
    • 1x5x180
    • 1x5x200
  • Asst. #1 – Bench Press
    • 5 x 10/10/10/8/8 x 135
  • Asst. #2 – 1-Arm Dumbbell Rows
    • 5 x 10/10/10/10/7 x 70

The workout itself wasn’t bad. I only hit prescribed reps so I could have enough left in the tank to get thorugh the rest of the workout. But honestly, even then I don’t think I could have done many more. *sigh*

Oh, and don’t superset assistance work — saps too much energy.

On the diet front, I’m just drained. Physically and emotionally. I’ve made decent progress of about 10#, more to go. I’m wondering tho about some changes.

1. It sucks eating so little at a time. That really gets to me, because it’s not only not satisfying but it also leaves me never full and always hungry.

2. I’m still sore from Monday’s squat session. That’s not right, and directly related to the lack of food.

So I’m going to try some changes.

First, instead of 5 meals a day, go for 4. That makes each meal a bit bigger, which could help on the hunger front and making each meal a little more satisfying.

Second, I’m going back to Scooby’s Calorie Calculator and readjusting things to NOT have a 20% drop. Exactly what I’m doing isn’t in the calculator. I plugged in a bunch of different scenarios in terms of activity level, percentage reduction, etc. and have landed at about 70g protein, 70 g carbs, 15g fat per meal (4 meals). That theoretically still puts me at a deficit, but not as stark as I was before (about 45g p/c per 5 meals). That’s a big change.

I’m hoping this will still keep me in deficit and I’ll still see progress. I’m sure progress will be slower, but I’d rather have slow and tolerable progress than fast and miserable.

Plus I’m open to cycling a bit. Maybe do this for a month, then another month of heavy cutbacks. And cycle. Just find a way to make it managable… because right now, I’m miserable.

Funny thing tho. I’ve tried this for a couple days now and geez… trying to get that much protein and carbs per meal is HARD! Well, not always… give me a big steak and I’m fine. But breakfast gets kinda challenging at times.

2012-10-01 workout – Wendler 5/3/1 program, cycle 14 (mark 2), Squat 1

This diet is killing me. :-0

“Week 1”

  • 5 reps – Squat (working max: 280#)
    • 2x5x45 (warmup)
    • 1x5x115
    • 1x5x140
    • 1x3x170
    • 1x5x185 (work)
    • 1x5x215
    • 1x5x240
  • Asst. #1 – Squat
    • 3 x 10 x 135
  • Asst. #2 – Pulldown Abs
    • 3 x 12 x 120
  • Foam Rolling

There’s no question… the diet is killing me. Sapping my energy, wearing me out.

I dropped another 10# off my working max, but it’s good. I really did solid reps today on squats, better form and everything. Really worked to be solid on technique, everything tight. Felt very strange, but boy… once I put the belt on and firmed everything up, wow… 185 felt like a feather. It was kinda cool. I also worked on making every rep a single. So I wasn’t doing 1 set of 5 reps, I was doing 5 sets of 1 rep with minimal rest.

But I also just opted to not kill myself. I only did prescribed reps. And then when I did my assistance sets, only did 3… because by that point, I was running out of gas. *sigh* Yeah, I can’t wait to be off this diet.

Speaking of that, I need to pick up on my fat shedding. I did recalculate my macros, which is a start. But I also need to get back on more exercise… walking the dog every morning, etc.. Every bit helps. Maybe when I get down to 220 (4-6 weeks??? if I’m good), I might take a small break, eat normally, recoup some strength. We’ll see. One day at a time.

Workout update

If you pay attention to this sort of thing… you may have noticed the blog devoid of workout logs, be it lifting or dry fire or what have you.

I took the week off.

After this past weekend’s Medicine X EDC course, I was drained. The class wasn’t massively physically demanding, but I did haul around a 185# “Rescue Randy” dummy all weekend, it’s hot, lots of walking and moving about… and when I’m already down due to the dieting well… it doesn’t take much.

I figured at first to just take a couple days off and recoup. But then I noticed I was going to bed early every night and waking up late every morning. My body apparently craved a lot of sleep. Not 100% sure why, but my guesses are recovery from the MedX course and illness. I’m not sick, but it’s that “start of the school year petri dish” time when all kids go back to school, mix up their germs, they all get sick, bring it home to Mom & Dad, then they bring it to the office… and hooray, I’ve been around lots of coughing, hacking, sick people. I haven’t gotten sick — hooray for lots of vitamin C and ZMA — but I figure it’s something. As well, we had just enough rain that the ragweed exploded and I’m sure the allergens in the air are stressing my system too.

So just with a combination of everything, I figured this was a good “deload” week in general. Just eat my normal (reduced) diet, sleep, and recoup. I feel good.

I plan on getting back to the gym next week as usual, just starting the cycle over… no big loss.

My diet seems to be going OK. Losses feel slower now, but as long as it’s steady I’ll take it. I have readjusted my intake and macros. I did “cheat” a bit just before the MedX course because 1. I was mentally exhausted from the dieting, 2. I wanted to make sure I had enough fuel for the MedX course and didn’t have to become a patient instead of a student. Eating a bit more, and now allowing myself a little treat at the office like 1-2 Jolly Ranchers per day… hey… if it helps me keep my sanity and stay on track for the long haul, fine.

Dry fire is going to start back up. I need to construct a good backstop setup for shooting the airsoft in the house. Probably just a bunch of cardboard. TXGunGeek has a great idea where you use one of those large wardrobe packing boxes, and I like that except I don’t have a place to keep it long term.  I will also come up with a new, more practically-oriented routine given some of the things that came to light during the MedX course.

2012-09-20 workout – Wendler 5/3/1, cycle 14, bench press 1

There’s no question… the dieting is taking a toll.

“Week 1”

  • 5 reps – Bench Press (working max: 235#)
    • 2x5x45 (warmup)
    • 1x5x95
    • 1x5x120
    • 1x3x145
    • 1x5x155 (work)
    • 1x5x180
    • 1x8x200
  • Asst. #1 – Bench Press
    • 5 x 10/10/10/8/6 x 135
  • Asst. #2 – 1-Arm Dumbbell Rows
    • 5 x 10 x 70

I got under the bar for my last set of bench press… and I just didn’t want to do it. My brain said “I’m done”. Just true exhaustion, just totally out of gas. But, I know the brain stops before the body as a means of protection and preservation. This is the time to dig a little deeper and give a little more. I did… got 6, I’m OK with that. Plus my rest periods were shorter during assistance work, I superset the presses and rows, and I really strove for great form… slow movement, good lockout, etc.

So it’s all good, but still… I’m pooped.

I’m also happy I still hit 8 reps @ 200. That’s keeping pace. I should be able to hit 225 just fine.

But there’s no question the diet is taking a toll on me, physically and somewhat mentally/emotionally/spiritually. It just wears on you being hungry all the time, not getting the satisfaction, not having the energy you’re used to. Yes, one can learn a lot from the experience… but it’s been a month and gee, it’s tough.

I’m thinking that in a few weeks I might take a weekend and relax a bit. Not an excuse to gorge, but allow myself to eat and enjoy it a bit. Replenish myself both physically and mentally/emotionally. Instead of limiting myself to 6oz of meat, if I want that 12 oz steak I’m just going to eat it. If I want a little popcorn or chips-and-salsa while I watch a movie with the kiddos, then I will (just keep it reasonable). Have a beer. Just allow myself a little break from this. Not too long… I still want to shed, but just something to help take the edge off, y’know?

2012-09-17 workout – Wendler 5/3/1 program, cycle 14, Squat 1

Whoops! forgot to enter this back on Monday.

“Week 1”

  • 5 reps – Squat (working max: 290#)
    • 2x5x45 (warmup)
    • 1x5x115
    • 1x5x145
    • 1x3x175
    • 1x5x190 (work)
    • 1x5x220
    • 1x5x250
  • Asst. #1 – Squat
    • 3 x 10 x 135
  • Asst. #2 – Pulldown Abs
    • 3 x 10 x 110/110/120

Plain and simple.

I ran out of gas.

I wasn’t physically pooped.. my muscles didn’t feel exhausted. But I was out of gas. I just couldn’t go any more. I know part of it was mental… felt run down, felt bad about my 250 set (it was ok, but I only eeked out the required reps and fell forward enough times).

I do think the diet is getting to me.

I am down maybe 10#… maybe. At my most I was 240, and I can get on the scale in the morning and it’ll be just this side of 230. I think it’s probably more like 7-8# of loss. Not 100% sure even if it’s all real or not. I think so, I see and feel some difference.

But regardless of that, I can tell I just can’t push it. Yes, I even think I might reset more. We’ll just have to see. If the weights go down, they do. I expect that and am willing (sigh) to deal with it.

And so a workout like this? just running out of gas? I have to expect it.

I tried to think about why this was the case. I think part of it might have been true energy depletion. Over the weekend I worked at KR Training. While it’s not exhausting work, I’m still on my feet all day and walking around almost the whole time. I know that’s going to burn a few hundred more calories than normal, and I was trying to be sensitive to keeping my intake normal… and I probably even shorted myself a bit. So I think I just burned out my reserves and that was that.

I have a plan on how to deal with such weekends now. We’ll see how it goes.

Anyways…. such is how it is. 🙂

2012-09-13 workout – Wendler 5/3/1 program, cycle 13, press 3

PR’s are always good, but diet is impacting me.

“Week 3”

  • 5/3/1 – Press (working max: 160#)
    • 2x5x45 (warmup)
    • 1x5x65
    • 1x5x80
    • 1x3x95
    • 1x5x120 (work)
    • 1x3x140
    • 1x3x155 (PR)
  • Asst. #1 – Press
    • 5 x 10 x 80
  • Asst. #1 – Wide, pronated grip lat pulldowns
    • 5 x 10 x 130

It’s nice to set a PR… tho only 3. In theory I should have been able to do more, but I fear my fat loss efforts are getting in the way. But that’s to be expected. Given how things have been, I’m rethinking that next cycle will keep the same weights across the board (well, not for bench press because I want to see if I can hit 225) but go for rep PR’s. If I can hit 155 for 4 at the end of the next cycle I’ll be quite happy with that.

Speaking of diet, I am seeing success. It’s simple. a 40/40/20 macro split, 5 meals a day. Calorie restricted… aiming for 45-50g of protein and carbs (each) per meal. And that seems to be working so far…. tho I’m trying to aim towards 45 when I can be precise and allow a little slop up to 50 when I have to (e.g. something a little more difficult to measure out). But I have to say… this sucks and I hate it. 🙂 The progress is good, but it’s wearing on me.

Extraordinary Resolve

Regular readers know — I hate squatting.

I don’t hate it so much these days, but it’s still #4 on my ranking of the 4 main lifts. Why do I keep doing it? Because I’m supposed to. I know I won’t get stronger, I won’t get better, and I’m generally a wuss, if I don’t squat.

I still have some deeper fears about squatting, ingrained from my youth. Injury of course, or just that I’ll get down in the hole and fail and won’t be able to get out of the hole. I guess to some extent, squatting intimidates me.

Some make it metaphorical, in terms of what squatting teaches you. That all this heavy weight can be on your shoulders, and it can press you down, it will press you down, it will hurt like hell and it will do all it can to keep you down in that hole. But you prove your mettle by pressing back up and getting out of that hole… and perhaps, doing it again, over and over, until you are stronger. Eventually the weight isn’t so heavy, and you’re able to handle more, to do more, and you are stronger and better for it. Yes it will be scary, yes you will have fear, but it’s up to you how you want to address it. And so, there’s physical, but also the metaphysical that comes from squatting heavy weights.

Recently I’ve found myself squatting heavier than I ever have. I will not lie — it scares me. I am closing in on squatting 300# as a work weight, and while on the one hand I’m really excited about breaking a barrier I’ve never broken before, I’m also afraid I’m going to hurt myself… or at least, that I won’t get back up. That I won’t be as strong as I want to be, and the weight will get me down. The weight will win. While I know to not let it, I cannot deny the little demon gnawing inside me does exist and eats at me. My challenge is to control him, my challenge is to beat him.

So while I’ve been squatting — especially since my current routine has me squatting a lot more (the 5×10 assistance work)… it’s caused me to have to find some extraordinary resolve within me to keep going. That I will not quit. That the only reason I stop is because my body truly gave out and couldn’t give any more. Not because I pussed out, not because I gave into that little demon. I do look at it purely physically, but I also look at it philosophically because I know if I can handle this, I can handle anything. That will be stronger physically, but also mentally — everything else in life is pretty easy by comparison. All I have to do is resolve to do it.

But just as I think I have it… I realize how far I have to go. Dave Tate, founder and CEO of EliteFTS.com write about where “ER” really comes from.

After reading that, while I’m working to improve myself… I can see how far I really have to go.

But perhaps now when I’m down in that hole I’ll remember to think:

“Chest Up.” “Chest Up.” “Head Up.” “Head Up.”

 and from that, I can find greater strength.

2012-09-10 workout – Wendler 5/3/1 program, cycle 13, deadlift 3

10 goto gym
20 set PR
30 exit

“Week 3”

  • 5/3/1 – Deadlift (working max: 355#)
    • 1x5x145 (warmup)
    • 1x5x185
    • 1x3x214
    • 1x5x270 (work)
    • 1x3x305
    • 1x4x340 (PR)
  • Foam Rolling

I have to get into the office early, so it was a “Jack Shit” sort of day.

Still, a nice PR of 4×340. True PR.

However, I noticed when I started pulling my butt lifted and the weight didn’t. I was pulling more with my back than my posterior chain. Not good. Why? Not sure. Could be that I’m not strong enough. Could be the diet. Not really sure.

But… given all the factors of what’s going on, I think I’m going to reset. Thinking back, I’ve never done a true deadlift reset… a minor “holding pattern” a few cycles back, but that’s all. I think given the diet change, today’s performance… I think a reset would be good. I’ll probably drop 20# on the working max and go from there.