2012-11-12 workout – Wendler 5/3/1 program, cycle 15, Squat 1

Oh, this new program hurts…. in a good way.

“Week 1”

  • 5 reps – Squat (working max: 280#)
    • 2x5x45 (warmup)
    • 1x5x115
    • 1x5x140
    • 1x3x170
    • 1x5x185 (work)
    • 1x5x215
    • 1x6x240
  • Asst. #1 – Squat
    • 1 x 5 x 225
    • 1 x 10 x 185
    • 1 x 6 x 185
    • 1 x 10 x 135
    • 1 x 8 x 135
  • Asst. #2A – Chin-ups Scooby Step 4A
    • 1 x 3/5 x BW
    • 1 x 1/7 x BW
    • 1 x 0/8 x BW
  • Asst. #2B – Pulldown Abs
    • 3 x 15 x 120
  • Foam Rolling

Wow… always a good sign when you get to the cusp of throwing up. 🙂

On the squat front, I hate that my numbers are down, but I know my form is so much better. I’m going deeper, and it really pays off. Working on squeezing the hell out of the bar the whole time, everything tight, thinking about the set as a bunch of singles not just “5 reps”. Pushing my head back into the bar. It’s getting better. So I’ll take weight regression for better form.

And then the assistance squatting? Yeah, I like this. Keep the weight heavy, crank as many reps as I can aiming for that 8-15 range, work hard, etc.. It hurts, and I liked it.

The chin-up thing. Gah… that killed me. Was MUCH harder than I thought it was going to be. You can see I only did 3 sets instead of the 5 because geez… I was out of gas. The last reps of that last set I was basically dropping down with almost no control. So 3 sets was enough for now. That really takes it out of you! And I only had so much gas left in me for pulldown abs, but I did jack up the reps there.

I like this.

But I also realized something.

I’m not sure I’m going to hit my goals.

Gym owner asked me today that because I benched 225 last time, what was my goal? I said 230 (thank you, Jim Wendler). But I knew what he was asking, and my overall goal is totalling 1000# before the end of 2013. When I got home I did some quick math and realized that if I stay on my current course, I may not make it. I had still be going under numbers from before the attempted weight loss, where I did some big resets and lost a bunch of weight and strength. Looking at my actual numbers now coupled with my 2x week plan, I may not make it. So I need to do some re-thinking. Apart from this I actually had some thoughts about going back to a 3x or even 4x week program, and now this makes me wonder if I should pick up on that. I don’t know… this just hit me so it’s all fresh in my head and I need to think about it. I also did a lot of reading this past weekend because EliteFTS had a big sale on their eBooks and I picked up a bunch that I’ve been waiting on (I knew they’d have a sale sooner). Lots of Dave Tate readings and geez if I don’t feel a little inspired to improve on some things.

We’ll see… always thinking.

2012-11-08 workout – Wendler 5/3/1 program, cycle 14, Press 3

Tying a PR isn’t as good as setting a PR, but at least I’m stopping the regression.

“Week 3”

  • 5/3/1 – Press (working max: 160#)
    • 2x5x45 (warmup)
    • 1x5x65
    • 1x5x80
    • 1x3x95
    • 1x5x120 (work)
    • 1x3x140
    • 1x3x155 (PR-tie)
  • Asst. #1 – Press
    • 5 x 10/10/10/8/10 x 80/80/80/80/65
  • Asst. #1 – Wide, pronated grip lat pulldowns
    • 5 x 10/10/10/10/12 x 110/110/110/110/90
  • Upright rows superset with tricep pressdowns superset with barbell curls
    • 3 sets, 12-15 reps per set, then on the last set drop down weight and keep cranking to failure

I was hoping to get 4 reps and set a true PR, but it just didn’t happen. On rep 2 I started to lose my balance… and recovery from that kinda sucked things out of me. I went for 4… it just wouldn’t go up. Racked, rested for 15 seconds, tried again, no go. Oh well. At least I feel like I’ve stopped regressing. 🙂

One thing that was different — I was squeezing the hell out of the bar. I know I’m supposed to do this, but I just forget things… so many things to remember to do. But boy, that sure does make everything else tighten up, and the weight felt different… better, more like my musculature was supporting the weight and not my skeletal structure. Felt cool. That might have sapped a bit out of me too, and I’m fine with that. Any time I can improve my technique I’m happier.

I also started to blend into my workout changes… really focusing on the eccentric, being sure to get high reps and being exhausted by the time I got to the end… working to “rep out” but still relatively heavy weights. Then I did a superset of stuff at the end, not exactly counting reps… I did to ensure I got into the range but didn’t bother recording as long as I hit the range I was happy. Just work it, pump it…. felt good.

Looking forward to starting the next cycle and seeing where these changes take me.

Also happy to be walking again as a part of my program. Feels good.

2012-11-05 workout – Wendler 5/3/1 program, cycle 14, deadlift 3

Nothing like a little motivation.

“Week 3”

  • 5/3/1 – Deadlift (working max: 335#)
    • 1x5x135 (warmup)
    • 1x5x170
    • 1x3x205
    • 1x5x255 (work)
    • 1x3x290
    • 1x5x320
  • Asst. #1 – Deadlift
    • 1 x 5 x 275
    • 1 x 5 x 225
    • 1 x 5 x 185
    • 1 x 5 x 135
    • 1 x 10 x 135
  • Foam Rolling

It feels good to feel stronger again. I’m still not at the levels I was, plus I did reset because my deadlift form has changed a bit. But all feels good and I just felt good pulling today.

Given my recent thoughts about lifting and revamping my approaches, I opted to try stripping down. Instead of 5×10 across with some light weight, let’s just strip down by 45’s and 25’s, pulling 5 reps, resting about 60-90 seconds between sets… and the last set I repped out.

It felt good. It helped me feel good about the this new approach. I’m solidifying my workout plan for the next some cycles to see how they’ll fare for me.

The thing is tho… I drove to the gym because of my ankle. While driving home my posterior chain started to hate life, so as soon as I pulled into the driveway I took a walk around the block just to cool down. That helped me ease back in, plus I can tell that my ankle is about as good as it’s going to get. I’ll wear my really good running shoes, and I’m going to get back on the wagon with walking. Once I’m feeling better there, I hope to start pulling the sled again.

Life’s good.

Workout reassessment

If you come here for the not-workout articles, leave now. 🙂  If you read the workout stuff, read on.

So my primary goal has been trying to shed the fat. I managed to drop 10# and plateaued. The fat loss work was driving me crazy. Too little to eat, stress of job and life, and it just drove me batty. I tried various adjustments of diet and plan to make it a little more manageable. For example, instead of spreading it out over 5 meals, try 4, or try 3. That helped to a degree, because I could have a meal and feel better in that meal… felt more satisfied, not so much like I was denying myself.

Still, I stagnated. I probably needed to drop my calories even more. But I am really hating that because I’m losing too much strength. My workouts are becoming less fun. But I am liking my switch back to a simpler workout program, basically the Wendler 5/3/1 program Boring But Big template. I cannot deny how much I like that program.

I also opted to start to find a different route to caloric and thus flab-reduction goals. I learned that I do need carbs to some extent. I cannot cut them out like I was doing when I was striving to be paleo — my body just won’t function well without some carbs. By my carb choices have changed a lot, settling on things like Ezekiel bread and brown rice, maybe some more carb-heavy veggies like squashes and whatever comes in our CSA box. I’m still toying with my macros, and currently leaning towards something like 1.0 to 1.5 grams of protein per pound of bodyweight, and then maybe 0.5 or so grams of carbs per pound with fats being as minimal as possible but not sweating it too much. Basically, keep protein high and carbs low, giving me what I need to get through but no more. I’m still working to find where that exact balance is.

Then I want to change up my workout.

I’m going to stick primarily with Wendler 5/3/1 and BBB, but I’m thinking about some minor modifications. I’ve been reading a lot about powerbuilding, with guys like Josh Bryant and Metroflex. Trouble is, I’m trying to glean principles — what is it that makes it not powerlifting, not bodybuilding, but this new thing “powerbuilding”. Well, it’s not really new… but just like with 5/3/1 you can look at a lot of specifics but also fall back to see what Jim’s guiding principles are, I’ve been trying to glean out some principles in powerbuilding. I may not be on the exact right course, but I have some ideas of things I’d like to try throwing in.

One thing I’m thinking about is changing the movement assistance work. That is, BBB says to take your main lift, drop the weight to 50-60%, then go 5×10 across. Well, when you do that, if you want rep 10 of set 5 to be tough then rep 10 of set 1 is pretty easy. Or if you make rep 10 of set 1 really easy, then it’s tough to get all 10 reps out of set 5. Well, what if instead every set and every rep was tough to get 10 reps? The way to do that is vary the weight. So set 1 uses X amount of weight, and set 5 uses Y, with Y < X. In essense, you’re doing drop sets, or rest-pause, just that the rest might be a little longer (60-90 seconds).

Another thing is what I just did on the bench press 14-3 workout, throwing in some “pump sets” at the end. In that workout I did all my work, then did a set of flies with light weight and high reps to failure; immediately followed by rope-handle triceps pushdowns with light weight high reps to failure, dropping the weight, and continuing to failure; immediately followed by barbell curls with light weight and high reps to failure, dropping the weight and continuing to failure. Basically, just get a pump. I didn’t do much this first workout because I knew doing just a little bit would be enough to make me sore… work up to more sets of this.

Exactly what I’ll do, I’m not sure. But basically I want to lift more… heavier, more reps, more volume. Keep 5/3/1 for a core strength foundation, but do a little more work to get me pumped both in terms of muscle growth and my heart rate. I’m continuing to pour over the powerbuilding documents that I can find, to see what I can glean.

As an interesting aside… one thing I opted to get back to doing is pull-up/chin-up work. I considered buying a set of bands to assist me, but while searching around I stumbled upon this video from Scooby:

I might see about adding that in. I’ve read all the various ways to get your chin-up reps up, but stagnated in my progress. He’s laying out a nice progression here using all those same sorts of steps (negatives, holds, assistance, etc.), so it seems like a program worth trying. I’d probably start with his step 3 or 4. Not sure where or how I’d work this in, but it does fit nicely with my 2x week workout.

The other thing I need to do is get back to conditioning work. My ankle is just going to be what it’s going to be. Oddly, the more I’m getting back on it, the better it feels. It actually makes sense, and as long as I’m careful about it I should be OK. I’ll probably start out just doing some brisk walks. Once things are really feeling better, I hope to get back to dragging that tire sled.

I’m hoping these things will help me get closer to my goals. Yeah, I won’t shed the fat as fast, but you know what? If it takes me 6-9 months, if I’m working hard, if I’m feeling good, then so what? I can live with that. Hell… if it basically allows me to drop 1-2# a week and not be miserable, still feel like I’m making progress in all desired areas… heck, I’ll be OK with that sort of results. I’d rather be in this for the long haul.

I’ve got a bunch to still think about in terms of exactly how to mesh this all together, but these are the thoughts going through my head right now.

20 squat mistakes

From Dave Tate:

Squat Mistake #1 – thinking it’s not technical and simple.

Squat Mistake #2 – not setting up TIGHT from head to toe.

Squat Mistake #3 – not arching the bar out of the rack.

Squat Mistake #4 – not starting with an arch and ass back.

Squat Mistake #5 – pulling air into your chest and not your belly.

Squat Mistake #6 – looking up instead of driving head and traps into the bar.

Squat Mistake #7 – not spreading the floor and pushing your knees out.

Squat Mistake #8 – sitting down instead of back.

Squat Mistake #9 – moving hips first out of the hole. The head and chest must move back first.

Squat Mistake #10 – not using compensatory acceleration on the concentric phase.

Squat Mistake #11 – looking down when the lift gets hard. When it gets hard, drive head into the bar.

Squat Mistake #12 – not using a box squat in one form or another.

Squat Mistake #13 – not squatting with people stronger than you.

Squat Mistake #14 – thinking there is a huge difference between squat training for raw vs. geared.

Squat Mistake #15 – not having an honest person watching your depth.

Squat Mistake #16 – slacking on training your core.

Squat Mistake #17 – being a pussy that is scared of big weights.

Squat Mistake #18 – not rotating bars – this can allow for same volume and intensity with a reduction in workload.

Squat Mistake #19 – thinking you know it all when you don’t know “squat.”

Squat Mistake #20 – technique is CRITICAL!!! This is how we get beginner – advanced lifters break PRs in 1.5 hours of seminar coaching.

 

I need to put this on the wall in front of me.

2012-11-01 workout – Wendler 5/3/1 program, cycle 14, bench press 3

Today wasn’t just setting a PR, it was achieving a milestone.

“Week 3”

  • 5/3/1 – Bench Press (working max: 235#)
    • 2x5x45 (warmup)
    • 1x5x95
    • 1x5x120
    • 1x3x145
    • 1x5x180 (work)
    • 1x3x200
    • 1x3x225 (PR)
  • Asst. #1 – Bench Press
    • 5 x 10/10/10/10/6 x 135
  • Asst. #2 – 1-Arm Dumbbell Rows
    • 5 x 10 x 60
  • Then I grabbed a set of light dumbbells and did a set of flies to failure. Then a set of triceps rope-handle pushdowns to failure, drop weight, continue to failure again. Then grabbed a barbell and did curls to failure, drop weight, continue to failure. Pump, baby.

Today wasn’t just a PR, it was a milestone.

I’ve NEVER bench pressed 225 in my life. 225 is a milestone because that means you’ve got 2 45# plates on each side of the barbell: 135, 225, 315, 405, 495, 585, etc.. are the “round numbers” of weightlifting. I’ve been long looking forward to hitting this milestone and finally did it after much setback.

Gym owner was spotting me… said I probably could have gotten 5, but I was happy with 1. I was totally distracted. He was standing over me, very close, totally in my field of view, and it distracted me far more than I thought it would. So I was thinking more about him than the bar path, the weight, etc.. He was doing the right things spotting, it just threw me more than I expected so I figured 3 was good enough lest I risk hurting myself. There’s more reps to do later. 🙂

And doing the final little pump set? Well… I’ll have to write about my recent rethinkings. That’s coming once I have time to write.

In terms of next big milestones, I’m looking forward to 315# squat, 405# deadlift, 185# press… and the 1000# club. It’ll be some time before I get to those, but every day is progress in some way. Of course, the next little milestone is just another 5#, another rep, doing better than I did before.

2012-10-29 workout – Wendler 5/3/1 program, cycle 14, squat 3

Better.

“Week 3”

  • 5/3/1 – Squat (working max: 280#)
    • 2x5x45 (warmup)
    • 1x5x115
    • 1x5x140
    • 1x3x170
    • 1x5x215 (work)
    • 1x3x240
    • 1x1x270
  • Asst. #1 – Squat
    • 5 x 10 x 135/135/135/115/95
  • Asst. #2 – Pulldown abs
    • 5 x 10 x 120
  • Foam Rolling

I’ve found that balance is a key part to success in life in all areas of life. Regarding working out, I’ve swung pretty far one way, then the diet hit and I swung pretty far the other way. Now I think I’m trying to find my balance. But you have to go to the extremes in order to know where middle could even be.

I’m tired of the dieting… it’s killing me mentally. Not just the diet itself, but I really hate that I can’t lift properly. Yes I know about the long term goals and the sacrifices to get there. I’m just experimenting and learning. And so with that well… I’ll write more about these details later.

The squats went well. Yes I only did a single on my max weight… I started to come up out of the hole, it was ugly, and I refused to go any further. I’ve been very pleased with my improvement in form and technique, so why struggle around just to heave the weight, y’know? I am not going to go up in squat weight this next cycle… keep it the same, keep the form tight, and go up on reps. So hey… get 2-3 reps next cycle, great. I’m just finding with my fixed form that well… I suck. 🙂 That certain muscles were lagging because of how my prior form was. So they just have to get brought up and that’s all fine.

But hey… I ensured I did a lot of reps (more on this later) and my legs are jelly. So that’s all good. My ankle is still unhappy, but the rest of my legs are in that good hurt happy. 🙂

2012-10-25 workout – Wendler 5/3/1 program, cycle 14, press 2

My ankles suck.

“Week 2”

  • 3 reps – Press (working max: WT#)
    • 2x5x45 (warmup)
    • 1x5x65
    • 1x5x80
    • 1x3x95
    • 1x3x115 (work)
    • 1x3x130
    • 1x3x145
  • Asst. #1 – Press
    • 5 x 10/10/10/8/8 x 80
  • Asst. #1 – Wide, pronated grip lat pulldowns
    • 5 x 10/10/10/10/8 x 110

I didn’t deadlift this week. Since I reaggrevated my ankle chasing those coyotes then spending a LONG day at KR Training well… my ankle hates me. Even right now as I write this, my ankle is feeling some pain. *sigh* But damnit, I’m going to Press.

And press I did. It was a good workout, and I tell you… while my weight loss has slowed (but seems to be still progressing.. I’ll write more on this elsewhere), and while my strength is going down, the lighter weights I think are a blessing because I’m bringing up my form. So hey… all is good, right? I really am feeling a lot better in my form.

As for my ankle. I’m thinking a doctor visit may be in order… x-rays, and see what can be seen. Next week starts the 5/3/1 week and my heaviest days. I’m not sure if I’ll max out on squats and deadlifts. I’ve even wondered if I might need to drop off a strict Wendler program for a while and do something else. Probably keep on doing Wendler for bench press and press, but deadlift and squat might have to have something else that doesn’t stress my ankle so much so I can at least do something. Maybe just a lot of light sets, like squat at 135 for 5×10 or something. I don’t know yet…still thinking, but I need my ankle to heal.

2012-10-18 workout – Wendler 5/3/1 program, Cycle 14, Bench Press 2

I might be getting weaker, but I’m finding this time to improve technique.

“Week 2”

  • 3 reps – Bench Press (working max: 235#)
    • 2x5x45 (warmup)
    • 1x5x95
    • 1x5x120
    • 1x3x145
    • 1x3x165 (work)
    • 1x3x190
    • 1x3x215
  • Asst. #1 – Bench Press
    • 5 x 10/10/10/10/8 x 135
  • Asst. #2 – 1-Arm Dumbbell Rows
    • 5 x 10 x 65/65/65/60/55

I also worked on chin-ups: 1 rep immediately after each bench press working set and assistance set (8×1). Totally still, dead hang, all the way up, chin clears the bar, then SLOW negative back down. And so, I just can’t do what I did in the DB rows before. But whatever… weight is relative.

The big thing is, I know I’m losing strength… which sucks but I’m finding it a good time to really work on form. I really noticed that my bar path on bench press is sucking. So I just slowed down, really controlled myself. Made things tougher, but of course a lot better… and my shoulders thank me. But I did notice that with my better body placement I didn’t quite have the foot placement. Basically I put my feet where I normally do, but with the better arch and placement there, I just didn’t get the hip drive I needed. That’s OK. Refinement is a process.

And really… while I can be bummed about the loss of absolute weight/strength, I will focus on form improvements and of course the fat loss. That’s plateaued a bit so I’m revisiting my eating. I know one thing that has hurt as well is the loss of some additional exercise. Things like an injured ankle really don’t help. 😦 So, squat more and faster, I guess. 😉

2012-10-15 workout – Wender 5/3/1 program, cycle 14, squat 2

My ankles suck, but it led to better things.

“Week 3”

  • 3 reps – Squat (working max: 280#)
    • 2x5x45 (warmup)
    • 1x5x115
    • 1x5x140
    • 1x3x170
    • 1x3x200 (work)
    • 1x3x225
    • 1x3x255
  • Asst. #2 – Pulldown Abs
    • 5 x 12 x 120
  • Foam Rolling

Over the weekend I (re)aggravated my left ankle. It hurts…. bad.

Still, I wanted to squat. I drove to the gym to avoid the extra pounding on the ankle. I did my work set, but it was evident that was all I was going to get, so I skipped the 5×10 squats and just went to the ab work and moved along. Oh well.

One cool thing tho is I really set up for each lift. I wanted to be mindful of the ankle so I was really on with technique and making each rep solid. I was VERY happy with my performance. I will chalk up today to being one full of quality, not quantity. I can live with that.