Leannasaurus Rex

There’s this local band called Leannasaurus Rex. Well, they’re not Austin-local, but they’re nearby and not some big national act. But they make good music.

Check this, “If Lovin’ You Is Wrong”:

another good jam: “I Don’t Need No Doctor”:

They’ve got a new album out called “Hot Summer Jams”. It’s a breath of fresh air… real musicians making real music, live, without a net.

Dave Mustaine on life and politics

Dave Mustaine, the man behind Megadeth, summarizes his politics, religion, and general outlook on life:

It’s pretty simple for me, really. I want to be able to carry a gun; listen to whatever music I like; eat, drink, and be merry; and not hurt anyone else (the exception, obviously, being self-defense). It’s an abbreviated Sermon on the Mouth: treat other people the way you want to be treated.

Sunday Metal – KISS

While doing last week’s Sunday Metal, YouTube of course suggests related videos. I start digging through and see other Midnight Special videos… from KISS!

Here’s some great footage of “Black Diamond”.

“She” with a solo from Ace:

Not from Midnight Special, but old B&W footage of “Parasite”

A recent live performance of “Parasite” (for contrast)

“I Stole Your Love” from 1977. Contrast the stage setup:

Wrote this post with Daughter sitting here, watching along. She can appreciate the live performance, the lack of Auto-Tune, and all that goes with it. 🙂

Sunday Metal – The Atomic Bitchwax

A side project of Monster Magnet’s Ed Mundell. Magnet was having issues. Ed did this band. So I checked it out.

“Last Of the V8 Interceptors”

Not much of a video, but a cool song.

More THC

This past Sunday Metal featured the Texas Hippie Coalition.

Since then, I bought two of their albums, “Pride of Texas” and “Rollin'”. Been listening to them while I’ve been working. My verdict? They’re OK and have potential.

The bad: lyrics. While I don’t have their lyrics memorized yet, there are some lyrics that I think are just stupid sounding in a song…. like the chorus from “Leavin'”. I mean, the rest of the song seems alright, and then… the chorus. I’m not sure how to describe it, but it feels like something you might have snickered over in junior high school, or certainly Beavis & Butthead would giggle over it.

Their big single, “Pissed Off and Mad About It”. I mean, what else are you going to be? Pissed off and pleasantly OK with it? And the chorus is a little clichĂ© too… “so let me scream and shout it”.

But that said, that’s also what makes that song so damn catchy. The chorus is one major hook. The song has such a groove to it, you can’t not start banging your head and finding that chorus stuck in your head the rest of the day. I had to take my kids shopping and the whole time I had that song rolling through my head. I do think it’s a cool song, because it has attitude.

Big Dad Ritch’s voice is pretty cool; very powerful and works very well in this context — it’s metal, but it’s southern, and all Texas attitude. Guitars have a real groove to them, certainly a lot of Dimebag and Zakk Wylde influence but certainly they are their own sound and style. I think that’s what I dig the most about the band is their groove, their sound. It’s heavy, but it’s accessible.

Check them out. It took me some listening to songs via YouTube searches and MySpace to see if I liked them enough to plunk down my money for their albums, but I don’t regret it. If they come to Austin, I’d like to check them out live.

Sunday Metal – Texas Hippie Coalition

My buddy W just told me about these guys, the Texas Hippie Coalition.

Not bad. I hear some Pantera-like undertones, some stoner-rock (THC, get it?), a Texas vibe and attitude. I’ll be looking more into them for sure.

GnR – who cares any more

Can someone please explain to me why anyone still cares about “Guns N’ Roses”?

It’s not GnR any more… it’s “The Axl Rose Show”. That which made the band great is no longer there. Granted, Axl’s behavior back in the day is what generated a lot of free press for the band, but the songwriting and musicianship came from elsewhere. Once you lost Izzy and Slash well… it really wasn’t GnR any more.

Then there’s the 27 Aug 2010 performance at Britain’s Reading Festival. Curfew was 11:30 PM and they even let them go on a little longer than that, but then the plug was pulled. People bitching about the festival organizers sucking, the local officials that enforced the curfew sucking (even saw some video footage of “fans” booing and bitching and even talking about rioting). But you know what folks? GnR brought it on themselves for one simple reason: they went on stage over an hour late. If after all these years Axl can’t learn to show up on time, then it’s his problem and he’s the one screwing what fans he has left. Why people still give him a pass on this behavior is beyond me. You try constantly showing up late to your job and see how long you keep that job. If you “fans” are upset at the concert being cut short, you should put the pressure on Axl to show up on time so you get what you paid for.

But if you keep supporting this sort of douchebag behavior well…. you reap what you sow.

Sunday Metal – Megadeth

Megadeth with “Head Crusher” off their “Endgame” album (which is pretty kick-ass).

What struck me about the video tho, that was pretty kick-ass too, was the video concept. And, the star fighter in it, Michelle Waterson. I could tell from watching the video she was a legit martial artist and fighter, and sure enough… she’s got an 8-3 MMA record.

Kick ass. 🙂