Sometimes calling the police is the better answer.

An 85-year old man here in Austin was just arrested for firing upon city (contract) workers.

Apparently the workers were doing some tree trimming, this man thought they were trespassing, and fired 5 shots at them (claimed 3 were warning shots).

  1. Regardless of legality, trespassing is not enough reason to use deadly force.
  2. If you have to shoot, it’s because your life (or perhaps someone else’s) is in danger.
  3. If someone’s life is in danger and thus you have to shoot, warning shots are not what you fire.

This was irresponsible gun handling and irresponsible situation handling. Armchair quarterbacking this, if you didn’t want to confront the individuals, calling the police to have them look into it would have been the better thing to do.

NRA Country

NRA Country. The NRA and country music joining together.

I really don’t care for country music. There’s some good stuff for sure, but on the whole it’s not my cup of tea.

But I did like this from the website:

Chores aren’t subject to negotiation. The fish don’t bite at noon. Never talk back to mom before dinner. Keep your friends and keep your word. Know what’s worth fighting for. Be proud of where you’re from. And, in life and in the field, always shoot straight.

I’d modify that to say “never talk back to mom” period. I guess it’s fine as-is tho, since once you finish with today’s dinner, it will officially start the period before tomorrow’s dinner. 🙂

We become what we think about

Via the Maku mozo mailing list this morning:

We become what we think about.

— Nightingale

I guess that explains why so many men are boobs. 😉

But seriously…

There is truth in the statement. It’s about mindset, and what a difference it makes.

I never heard of Earl Nightingale before. Went looking for him. Found this.

Good stuff.

Yikes and away

It’s been raining pretty heavily over Central Texas the past 24-48 hours. One area about 90 minutes drive north got 13″ of rain in less than 12 hours and had some pretty bad flooding. Some predictions today are 6-12″ of rain to the west of where I live (into the Texas Hill Country). There’s been bits of flooding here and there… small stream beds that were bone dry are now full. Storm drains are backed up with debris and can’t carry the water away fast enough. The ground is so parched that it just can’t soak up the water as fast as it normally could…. but at least with the sporadic rain events, it gets some time to soften up and that should help moderate the flooding.

At least we had a break in the action last night and were able to go to the Parish Fair for a few hours. I got to have a funnel cake. Life is good. 🙂

Right now it’s coming down at a very strong rate. At least the lawn is happy.

And… I’ve got Combined Skills class.

It’s still going on. Just not sure how things are going to change based upon this rain. I suspect if it’s coming down there as hard as it is here, we just can’t be doing range drills…. cardboard targets will not work.

Tomorrow is supposed to have rain but far less chances.

Well, it’s going to be an interesting day. 🙂

The waiting is the hardest part.

With apologies to Tom Petty.

That’s all I’m doing right now. Waiting.

Waiting to see how much it’s going to rain this weekend.

Waiting for Apple Developer Technical Support to get back to me with answers to the problems I’m encountering in the product I’m working on.

Waiting for the updated documentation to be delivered so I can integrate it into the product.

Waiting for the work day to end so we can attend my church’s parish fair. Which also means about the only time with the Wife and Kids this weekend. So, waiting on being able to spend my time with my family.

Waiting for the main event of my weekend to start.

Just waiting….

As long as I’m thinking about the Combined Skills class….

What do I want to get out of it? Education. Tom Givens and SouthNarc are among the best in their field. I just want to learn. I just want to further my skillset. I want to open my mouth as little as possible and open my ears and mind as much as possible.

And if it’s raining a lot, that I don’t flub up my draws too much. 🙂

Regina Brett’s life lessons

My Dad emailed me this list of “Regina Brett’s 45 life lessons.” It was a bit cheesy, sappy, and schmaltzy, but it did have some legitmate bits of good advice in there. Of course, I wanted to see if it was a legit listing/attribution because if it’s on the Int3rw3bz you know it’s true.

Seems to be legit. Plus, Ms. Brett expanded the list a bit to 50 life lessons, or maybe 45 life lessons and 5 to grow on. Maybe just consider this another list of “things everyone ought to know” or perhaps “lessons everyone should learn in life.”

1. Life isn’t fair, but it’s still good.

2. When in doubt, just take the next small step.

3. Life is too short to waste time hating anyone.

4. Don’t take yourself so seriously. No one else does.

5. Pay off your credit cards every month.

6. You don’t have to win every argument. Agree to disagree.

7. Cry with someone. It’s more healing than crying alone.

8. It’s OK to get angry with God. He can take it.

9. Save for retirement starting with your first paycheck.

10. When it comes to chocolate, resistance is futile.

11. Make peace with your past so it won’t screw up the present.

12. It’s OK to let your children see you cry.

13. Don’t compare your life to others’. You have no idea what their journey is all about.

14. If a relationship has to be a secret, you shouldn’t be in it.

15. Everything can change in the blink of an eye. But don’t worry; God never blinks.

16. Life is too short for long pity parties. Get busy living, or get busy dying.

17. You can get through anything if you stay put in today.

18. A writer writes. If you want to be a writer, write.

19. It’s never too late to have a happy childhood. But the second one is up to you and no one else.

20. When it comes to going after what you love in life, don’t take no for an answer.

21. Burn the candles, use the nice sheets, wear the fancy lingerie. Don’t save it for a special occasion. Today is special.

22. Overprepare, then go with the flow.

23. Be eccentric now. Don’t wait for old age to wear purple.

24. The most important sex organ is the brain.

25. No one is in charge of your happiness except you.

26. Frame every so-called disaster with these words: “In five years, will this matter?”

27. Always choose life.

28. Forgive everyone everything.

29. What other people think of you is none of your business.

30. Time heals almost everything. Give time time.

31. However good or bad a situation is, it will change.

32. Your job won’t take care of you when you are sick. Your friends will. Stay in touch.

33. Believe in miracles.

34. God loves you because of who God is, not because of anything you did or didn’t do.

35. Whatever doesn’t kill you really does make you stronger.

36. Growing old beats the alternative – dying young.

37. Your children get only one childhood. Make it memorable.

38. Read the Psalms. They cover every human emotion.

39. Get outside every day. Miracles are waiting everywhere.

40. If we all threw our problems in a pile and saw everyone else’s, we’d grab ours back.

41. Don’t audit life. Show up and make the most of it now.

42. Get rid of anything that isn’t useful, beautiful or joyful.

43. All that truly matters in the end is that you loved.

44. Envy is a waste of time. You already have all you need.

45. The best is yet to come.

46. No matter how you feel, get up, dress up and show up.

47. Take a deep breath. It calms the mind.

48. If you don’t ask, you don’t get.

49. Yield.

50. Life isn’t tied with a bow, but it’s still a gift.

Why did Apple do this?

No sorry… nothing about today’s Apple fan-boy event. More as to why I didn’t post much today.

Apple’s new OS version is 10.6, named “Snow Leopard.” Snow Leopard brought about a lot of under the hood changes to the OS. One of them is fairly well covered on this page of the Ars Technica review.

Basically, Apple did some stuff very very low level to help with reclaiming some disk space but also taking advantage of the volume format layout of HFS+ and how they can use that to their advantage to speed things up… RAM and CPU’s are wicked fast these days, and disk drives are still abysmally slow by comparison (physics can only go so far). So Apple did some neat things to improve speed and access times, and for the most part it works out great. Most people will never notice.

But in the line of work I do… I’m not most people.

The software I develop in my day job does a lot of working with the file system. So all of these changes that Apple made are actually wreaking havoc and hell on me right now. Long held maxims like a file’s logical size will never be larger than its physical size…. out the door. That calculating sizes is now base-10 instead of base-2 (i.e. 1 kilobyte is now being calculated as 1000 bytes instead of 1024 bytes)… changes a lot of things.

I’ve been reevaluating our entire codebase (which is huge) and this just doesn’t play well with us. All I can do at this point is formulate a lengthy email to Apple’s Developer Technical Support and ask for some help and guidance.

It’s been a trying couple of days.

I’m glad I have Kali class tonight. That should relieve a little stress. 🙂

It’s a good day

So far, it’s a good day.

It’s the Labor Day weekend. It’s been productive for me, despite my overriding desire to be lazy all weekend long.

I just came in from a workout. I’m so happy with where my martial arts work is going. The Kali, JKD, Silat, Muay Thai, and boxing stuff… it all blends so well with my defensive handgun work. I don’t expect a self-defense situation to be a pure gunfight or a pure empty-hand situation. It always could be, but chances are it won’t. It’s wonderful to have many options at your disposal, and for these things to blend well into making your own system. I don’t regret my Kuk Sool training at all, but some of those aspects don’t really lend towards my current goals. But I envison later in life that I’ll find myself studying different martial arts again just for the sake of studying some art; for instance, Baguazhang holds appeal to me due to its Taoist underpinnings.

But for now, I’m riding a high of everything coming together so well. Serendipity. 🙂

Hopefully later this morning the family will take a trip to the best Korean grocery store in town and pick up some things. Need my kimchi fix. They also have a little diner in the store, which should make for a good lunch. Not sure what I’ll have yet, but if nothing else my default of a bibimbap would be just fine.

Then home, relax, have a beer, and just enjoy the rest of the day basking in the joy of my family.

It will be an even better day. 🙂

Saving us from ourselves

I see a headline at SayUncle that grabs my attention: Kimchi.

Being as my mother is Korean, I of course have eaten lots of Korean food…kimchi is quite the staple of my diet. In fact, just reading Uncle’s blog post and the comments, my mouth started to water, the bottom dropped out of my stomach. Man… talk about Pavolvian response. 🙂

But the point of his article was something we ourselves had encountered. Being a geek, that means my workday tends to be surrounded by other geeks, especially back in the days when I worked out of an office building. Back then a lot of the folks I worked with were single and had little life other than work. Or if they did play, often it was with people from work and many times playing multi-player games over the office network. One thing Wife and I realized was how they didn’t eat all that well, or if they did it was expensive restaurants.

Looking for a job opportunity, Wife thought she could make food for my office-mates. Make huge batches of various dishes, portion them into containers, sell a week’s worth of containers to someone. They can stick ’em in the freezer, then defrost and heat in the microwave as needed. It would have worked out great… except for massive amounts of government regulation. It’s interesting that I can make food to feed my family — arguably the people I care most about and above all others wish to ensure their good health and welfare — in this kitchen, but I can’t make food for someone else, at least for profit, in the same kitchen. That I don’t have two mop sinks somehow means this kitchen isn’t good enough to make for-profit food for someone else. I could have a huge dinner party for my friends, and that’s OK, but if I charged money to consume the food suddenly the food isn’t clean enough.

Go figure.

Small incident

Had a small incident tonight.

I’m chillin’ with Daughter in the house when Oldest rushes into the room and says, “Mom needs you, now.” Urgency there, I get up and go. Wife briefs me. There’s some dude hanging around the street-light a couple houses down. Gave Oldest the willies, and it was certainly odd behavior. Strange person, why would they just be hanging out at the street-light?

I head outside to check on things. I’m able to do a few things in the yard to look busy and otherwise occupied, but watching what the dude is up to. Then I see good neighbor across the street, who has a similar penchant for paying attention to the neighborhood goings on. I head over and we talk, as he too noticed the dude.

As we watched, dude’s behavior wasn’t too suspicious. Perhaps just waiting for someone to pick him up. But then it dragged on. We were standing outside talking about life, family, work, hunting, playing in band back in grade school, whatever topics. But dude was still there… hour went by, still there. It went from a concern, to probably nothing but we’ll keep an eye, to “this is just getting weird.” Why just standing there, doing nothing, for about an hour? Gave the police a call to have them drive by. I don’t know exactly how long it took them to show up, but I know I checked the clock and 15 minutes went by and it was some time after that before APD rolled onto the scene. Two cruisers showed up, they spoke with dude, eventually some people from a nearby house come out and there’s interactions with the police and discussions. Back and forth for a bit, APD seemed eventually satisfied and left. People from house brought a phone out to dude, and eventually he leaves in a car with someone (they had pulled up prior to APD arriving).

While the men were outside minding things, the women of the neighborhood were on the phone alerting all other neighbors. People were watching out their windows, noting things, taking descriptions, pictures, whatever. If something was going to happen, we were going to be prepared. 🙂 Plus, as everyone connected, it was evident that others had noticed dude too and had similar concerned feelings about the matter.

No idea what was going on, but it was still all very strange. We’re attempting to contact APD to find out the story.

Lessons learned:

  • Don’t blow off gut feelings. If something feels wrong, act on it.
  • You don’t know when ugly will strike, so always be prepared. I have all my everyday gear on me (including my flashlight), every day all the time. Wife needed me now, I was able to go and was ready (well, didn’t have my phone on me… still trying to work out a good “gotta keep it charged but need to keep it on me” strategy). I didn’t have to take time to get all my stuff together, I was ready and could act immediately.
  • Ensure all your neighbors know each other and have each others contact information. You don’t have to be friends, but you are neighbors. Even if you might not like your neighbor, there may come a time where there’s a bigger evil that will require you to come together.
  • If you’ve got a team, ensure you’ve got a plan. My wife and I? Team. Kids can be involved too. Then have plans, and ensure people know their parts; practice. Wife knows one of her primary roles is communication: she calls proper people, gathers information. I didn’t have to walk out the door and tell her to do any of this; she knows her role, I know mine. Kids even do to, for instance, they know that yeah sometimes in life you might be able to argue with Mom & Dad, but when something serious is going on you must obey… and they know that.
  • Don’t count on a fast police response. I’m not surprised they didn’t come blaring in with sirens within 2 minutes, and I expect if they had to get two cruisers/officers and coordinate a bit that that would require a little more time too. I wish they were a little faster in their response but in the end it was acceptable response time. Still, it was quite a long time for the response…. you can only count on the police for so much, and your immediate safety isn’t necessarily part of that equation.
  • If you believe in self-defense, your training shouldn’t be in only physical skills such as punching or shooting. You need to know street smarts, mental skills, and other such things. That will take you further.

I believe the world is a generally safe place. I believe the world is filled with good people. But evil can come in any form to any place at any time. Nothing is immune. If you don’t want evil to harm you and your loved ones, it’s good to be prepared to deal with it when (not if) it comes your way.