At The Climbing Up Blog, a list of 25 cool things to see.
Very good list.
At The Climbing Up Blog, a list of 25 cool things to see.
Very good list.
Sasha had her second dog training class today.
Every day I realize more and more that this is not about training the dog, it’s about training the humans… and the dog kinda gets something along the way. 🙂
We started out reviewing what we did last week, which was basic walking and sitting. Issuing commands, issuing corrections. Being consistent. That’s really the key is consistency. Getting the set down to something simple and everyone sticking with it. For instance, you don’t really need sit, stay, quiet, etc. because implied in sit is to stay and be quiet. But it was evident to Abel that we’ve been working with Sasha — he saw a world of difference compared to last week.
We worked in a slightly different location on the grounds, taking Sasha into new places, new noises, new things, new distractions. She was certainly nervous, but we were able to manage it and she did OK. It’s interesting that she does not eat when she’s nervous enough. Both the trainer and a friend who came with his dog to watch us commented that was odd. But that’s how she is. Once she calms down, she’ll take the treats again.
Then we started to work on “place”. Moving her onto the place, getting her to understand the place. Wife struggled with it a bit because while Wife was working on it, Sasha didn’t get fully onto the stand, Wife moved her leg onto it, the stand creaked, Sasha jumped, and Wife didn’t react immediately to correct things. Plus, Wife isn’t as big or strong as me, so Sasha quickly realized that a physical strength fight against Wife is one she could win. So, there was some struggle there, but they were able to overcome it. I think it was good for Wife too, as it’s helping her gain more confidence in her ability to handle Sasha.
Our homework is to continue working on walking, sit, consistency and simplification of commands (gotta watch what comes out of our mouths, e.g. “sit” not “Sasha sit”, “No” not “Sasha No” or “NoSit”). But now we’re going to add working on the “place”. No command yet, just getting her used to the physical thing.
We needed to get home, but before I go to bed tonight I need to buy her a “place”. I have guidelines… just need to figure out what’s going to work for her. Plus… where in the world are we going to put the thing?? That’s really the big question. 🙂
All in all, she’s improving. There is a LOT of work still ahead. I admit, I’m tired. It’s very mentally and emotionally consuming and thus draining. But we’ll hang in there, for I believe the investment is worth it.
I just returned from an Early Voting Rally. It happened to be sponsored by Texas Republicans… not 100% sure who exactly was sponsoring it (e.g. Travis County Republicans, Texas as a whole, etc.), but it was attended by all your big Texas Republicans: Gov. Rick Perry; Sen. John Cornyn; Jerry Patterson, Texas Land Commissioner; Susan Combs, Texas Comptroller; Attorney General Greg Abbott; Melissa Goodwin, 3rd Court of Appeals; Paul Workman, candidate for Texas State House District-47; Dr. Donna Campbell, candidate for US House Texas District 25; and a host of other Texas Republicans.
Now, I’m not a Republican… and on more than one occasion I wanted to shout out something that would have rubbed folks raw. But this was not the place for such things, and I had bigger reasons to not stir the pot. For you see, I took my children to this event. I was glad to see other parents brought their children too, because this is a lesson in civics. Furthermore, it let’s them see these people close up and see they’re not just a picture on the TV. Besides, you can’t appreciate Gov. “Good Hair” unless you can see him up close. 😉
What I loved most? Oldest. He groaned at the thought of attending this event, but of course he had no choice… he was going. Then I happened to notice during Gov. Perry’s rousing speech… there was Oldest, cheer and applauding with gusto! Yeah, he got into it. 🙂
As a random aside, it was fun watching Gov. Perry’s security detail. One guy (you can see him behind Jerry Patterson in the above picture, in the sunglasses) was pretty tough and serious looking. I nicknamed him Agent Franks. 🙂
As the rally broke up, I managed to chase down Dr. Campbell to say hello. Introduced Daughter to her as well. I could tell she was a tired lady, but a tough one. I applaud her efforts and hope it pans out in a couple of weeks. Daughter was excited to meet Dr. Campbell. 🙂 I was also happy that on the drive home we saw a couple more Donna Campbell yard signs in the neighborhood!
For me, that’s the big reason I went this morning: I wanted my children to experience this. Oh sure, I’ve done things like this before, when I was a kid and my Dad was a Congressman; but then it was “Ugh.. can we go home now?”. Today was the first time I attended a rally because I wanted to be there, and I wanted my children to be there. I want them to understand that politics can and does suck, but we cannot ignore it. It’s important to our lives and something all responsible citizens must care about and partake in. Plus, since they had such a good time, I think it left a positive impression on the kids that sometimes yes, politics can be fun.
I’m getting quite the crash-course in being a good dog owner.
Before owning a dog I could generally tell who was a good down owner and who wasn’t… it was evident in how the dog behaved and how the owner treated the dog. But now I see more subtle things, and one very interesting thing.
The number one biggest mistake dog owners can make with their dogs is to treat them like humans. The human race is such a kind, compassionate species that we tend to look at our canine companions as little humans. When in reality, they are canines and have a very different thought process. This is what differentiates mankind from other species in pack societies; there must be a specific order, from the leader on down to the last follower. Everyone has a place. The leaders are the strength of the pack. The followers need the leader to guide them. This primal instinct keeps the pack secure and happy.
And oh, do we treat our dogs like little humans.
We must think like a dog and must treat the dog… like a dog. Of course, in human society, to treat someone like a dog means to treat them in a sub-human and poor manner. If towards your dog you act in a manner that humans see as strong and compassionate, your dog will see it as you being weak. If towards your dog you act in a manner that the dog sees as strong, then humans are going to see you being an incompassionate asshole to your dog.
What to do?
Be viewed as an incompassionate asshole.
Treat the dog like a dog. That doesn’t mean treat them badly, that means treat them as they need to be treated — like a dog. Dog groks dog, and our human behavior passes through their dog-filter and gets interpreted in dog ways. In any communication, what’s more important is the message received by the receiver. Make sure your dog receives the right messages.
Weather is perfect. Not too hot, not too cold. Sunny skies.
Sitting in the backyard overlooking the greenbelt.
Doves flying everywhere. Can’t shoot ’em, but I can sure point at them to practice tracking and follow-through.
Wife sitting next to me. Dog at our feet.
A glass of good Cabernet Sauvignon.
Rocky Patel Edge Missile, with a Maduro wrapper.
Kids playing and having a ball together.
Life is good.
I had to pick up Oldest from his Confirmation class. There are a lot of teenagers in that class, maybe 100 or more.
I arrive towards the tail end of class and stand just inside the doors to wait for them to finish. The lights are dim because they are having a quiet reflection time. They finish, dismiss everyone, but lights stay dim.
What do I see coming towards me? A sea of teenagers. I’d say 80% of them I could only see the top of their head… not because I am at least a foot taller than them, but because they have their heads down, face illuminated by the liquid crystal glow coming from their phones… texting or dialing or flipping through messages as they walked.
First, I felt old because it was obviously a sign of the younger generation.
Second, I felt upset because none of these kids had any awareness of what was going on around them. I’m thinking next time about standing in the middle of the aisle to see how many run into me.
Zero awareness.
Recipe for danger. And I’m not just talking about something like getting mugged. But even more mundane things like walking into something or tripping over something.
*sigh*
To bring Sasha home we had to drive 2000+ miles to Georgia and back. Spending about 37 hours on the road, we saw many interesting things.
One of the best things I saw? My children.
They were bored. They were tired. They were cooped up and cramped up in the car. They could have been cranky, they could have fought, they could have complained. But never a problem.
We looked at the trip as an adventure. A way to see more of the world (Wife and I had never been through this part of the world). A way to experience different things. And of course, a way to bring Sasha home.
I often speak of how your mindset makes a big difference on how you view, experience, and consider life. Giving my kids a good mindset, framing the trip ahead of us? And of course, rewarding their positive behavior? All the difference in the world.
The kiddos were well-behaved, excited, looked at the world with wonder and inquisitiveness. Yes they were tired, yes they were sick of McDonald’s and Subway, but they hung in there and were real troopers about everything.
I like my kids. 🙂
Today was Sasha’s first day of doggie school. We’re going to Triple Crown Dog Academy, which is the best school in the area.
I’m pretty impressed with the facility and our trainer, Abel. Looks like they run a good ship, and Abel has the knowledge and experience. He’s never worked with a Kuvasz before, but he was reading up on them before we arrived.
We started out with me being interviewed about our situation, what we wanted out of training, and so on. We then took Sasha out of the car and brought her over to the potty area. Abel observed and as expected Sasha was excited and nervous and reacted as such. We switched her collar to one of their StarMark collars, and boy, that made a difference. She was MUCH more responsive to corrections.
We worked on basics of walking on a loose leash and “sit”. How to work in correction, how to work in praise. The interesting thing? Some of the immediate “how do we deal with these problem situations?” are going to be addressable by this. For instance, when sitting, dog should sit, quietly, waiting for us to “free” them; distractions shouldn’t distract, they are to do nothing but sit (if you will). So let’s say there’s something outside she doesn’t like and she runs up to the window and starts barking. I don’t mind if she alerts us to the situation, so that bark is OK, but continued barking? No go. But do we need to issue other commands, like “quiet”? Well, perhaps later, but not right now. Right now we just work to distract and have her work on “sit”, since that works out the “be quiet” part as well. Of course, we must be a human Pez dispenser with the treats to keep the positive reinforcement going. But for now for the next week, this is where we want to go. Also our walks and teaching her how to walk on a loose leash help out with distractions, keeping focused, and so on.
By the end of the hour? She was approaching Abel and ate out of his hand but then something spooked her and she barked and ran back to Momma. But it was a big change from how she was an hour prior. Furthermore, she was getting pretty good at keeping a watch on us as we walked; able to go further and further without problem.
So, the trainer felt the progress was good. We were all pleased with the results. Yes again we’re behind the curve so there’s work to be done. But so far, so good.
We’ll continue doing private lessons like this for a few weeks, working on the basic obedience and manners. Once she’s got things down, we’ll continue to up the ante, further training, group classes, and so on.
I’m just happy to see progress, both in her, and in us.
These first few days at home with Sasha have been a challenge.
First, we have to make a big paradigm adjustment to “dog think”. Wife and I have been neglecting many other things in our lives (including each other), instead spending our time devouring all that we can about dog think, training, behavior, etc.. Who said training is for the dog? It’s for the owner. 🙂
There is no question Sasha loves and submits to us. We go away and come back, she explodes with joy and excitement at the sight of us. We can cuddle her, brush every part of her, manipulate her head and teeth, you name it, and all the kids can do it too. No doubt, girl has said “This is my family. I love them, I will protect them.”
It’s that last part that’s been hard to deal with.
We don’t know if Sasha has baggage. I spoke with the breeder about this a couple of days ago, and their feeling is Sasha is adjusting. New family, which is strongly claims, then everything else around her is new as well. So, family is good, everything else is unfamiliar thus a potential threat. Thus, much barking, almost impossible to have other people in the house. It’s been a challenge. Wife was rather dejected on Sunday evening. Even the discussions with a friend of mine were a bit on the negative side and had me a little concerned and beat down, like did I get myself into a bad situation?
But I’ll say this.
Sasha is improving.
I’ve been working on the basics: sit, stay, down, come; she knows them, but isn’t 100% with them (especially if there’s a distraction like a perceived threat, which could just be someone outside walking down the sidewalk). She’s good at “drop it” and “leave it”. She knows her name.
I’ve been working on her with “quiet”. I’ve been working on her about going to her “room” (crate). I’ve also been working on loose leash walking. I see progress, but also a lot of work ahead.
This morning, I took her out for a walk. The past few days I haven’t done a neighborhood walk, instead we’ve been in the yard working on loose leash walking technique. But later today Sasha will have her first visit to “doggie school“, so I didn’t want to do any training work, just morning poop and a walk to get a little exercise. I expected the walk to be like prior walks: her talking me out for a controlled drag (I will not let the dog control the situation, but certainly past “walks” have been a massive tug-o-war). But to my (welcome) surprise, the walk was not like that! Oh sure, it wasn’t a picture perfect “at my side” walk, but I could tell she was getting it with regards to proper walk. I’d say the leash was loose 70% of the walk. Oh sure she’d get a little behind me to sniff something, but I’d keep walking and merely the pop of the leash tightening when I got far enough away was enough to tell her to get back to me. Or she’d get in front of me, perhaps slight tension on the leash, but never a strong pull that I had to fight. A few cars drove by, she got alert but no problem. We had to stop on the sidewalk as a car was backing out of a driveway, I had her sit, no problems. Someone was in the shadows of their driveway, coming out to get their newspaper, and that did excite her more than anything else on the walk so I did have to give a few explicit pops, but there was no barking or overt “must fend off the threat!” behavior.
Much praise was lavished on Sasha throughout the walk. 🙂
The Kuvasz has their nature, and that’s part of why we chose this breed. I do not want to turn her into something she’s not, I do not want to suppress her nature, only help us live in better harmony. She needs to allow our friends to come over to our house and allow herself to get to know them — they are extended flock. So, we just have to keep working on things.
She’s not a lost cause. She just needs work, but then, don’t we all?
To bring Sasha home we had to drive 2000+ miles to Georgia and back. Spending about 37 hours on the road, we saw many interesting things.
When figuring out how to get from here to there, of course I turned to Google Maps. Punch in the “from” and “to” to go driveway to driveway. While Google put us on Interstate Highways most of the way, as we drew closer to our destination, Google took us off the beaten path. Oh sure, we could have gone through Atlanta, but interestingly that was going to be slightly longer… and frankly, more boring. If I can avoid driving through huge cities, great.
But we had no idea where the road actually was taking us.
We got to drive through the Cherokee National Forest.
All I can say is… wow.
Breathtaking.
Majestic.
Apart from Sasha, it was my favorite part of the trip. We had no opportunity to stay there or really see anything that wasn’t on the road. But I would love to someday go back to visit.
When we planned the trip we figured we’d use it as a good homeschooling opportunity. The kids checked out the map, figured out what states they were going through. We’d discuss how the plants changed, how climate changed, whatever sorts of things we’d observe and see along the way. But we had no idea we’d be given an opportunity as cool as Cherokee National Forest.