I just got home.
Spent the weekend taking Tom Givens’ Combative Pistol II course over at KR Training.
Great weekend.
I’m tired. I’ll write more later….
I just got home.
Spent the weekend taking Tom Givens’ Combative Pistol II course over at KR Training.
Great weekend.
I’m tired. I’ll write more later….
Jennifer Willis is a freelance writer. And she has a stalker.
She decided, it was time to get a gun. She put her anti-gun sentiments aside. She had an epiphany:
That’s when the old Theodore Roosevelt adage popped into my head — “Speak softly and carry a big stick” — and I finally got it. I can still be the compassionate, diplomatic, interfaith groovy gal I’ve always been; I’ll just be packing heat in case negotiations tank.
Happy for her. I do hope she’ll seek out more training and practice more.
There was one thing in the article that made me cringe: all the “advice for the ladies”:
I read that the .357 Magnum and .38 Special were ideal for women interested in a gun for self-defense because they’re relatively lightweight, aren’t prone to jamming and don’t carry too many bullets. Because who really needs a 20-round magazine when you’re defending against a stalker? “Six or seven bullets will do you just fine,” read one Web comment.
The FAIL is strong with that one.
What is ideal for a woman is what she can shoot well. Packing .357 Magnum self-defense rounds into a snub revolver? How about no. She needs a gun that can fit her hands: if she’s got small hands, if she’s got large hands. It’s a matter of size and shape, not gender. She needs a gun that fits her whole hand… full-sized guns, not subcompacts, since you can get all of both hands onto the grip and thus control the gun better. Lightweight? That might be useful for carry, but it hurts for shooting. The heavier the gun, the larger the gun (esp. since larger guns with longer slides generally have less stout springs), the easier it will be to shoot, generally speaking. If the gun is pleasant to shoot, she’ll be more willing to shoot it more often, which means more practice, which is only a good thing. If the gun bites back when you shoot it, negative reinforcement like that doesn’t serve her desired goals. Who needs a 20-round magazine against a stalker? Maybe you. Are you able to predict what situation you will face? What if the stalker brings a friend? Now instead of 6 or 7, you may need 12 or 14. What if the stalker brings 2 friends? 20 rounds and even an extra full magazine doesn’t seem so out of the question now does it?
I’m not sure where Jenny got her advice, but at least she seems to be serious about her efforts in the gun world. Thunder Ranch is only about 6 hours from Portland and a week there might be a good thing. Could make for a great follow-up article as well. 🙂
Friendswood, TX home invasion story:
Police said a woman was working on a homework project with her 8-year-old and 11-year-old children at their home in the 2900 block of Autumn Creek when a man came through an open window at the back of the house. Three other male suspects wearing black hoodies and masks followed the first suspect in, with at least one displaying a handgun.
Authorities said the suspects tied the family up and began to ransack their home when the husband arrived home. He tried to flee but was grabbed by one of the suspects and was also bound. The family was put in the bathroom and eventually got out after the suspects left the house.
What I take from this read:
So… this is why I carry my gun around the house. Some people think I only need my carry gun when I’m out and about. But no, I need it because it’s a handy tool to have, but a handy tool is only handy if it’s on hand when needed. If it’s on my hip, it’s right where I want it to be, when I need it to be. I don’t need to go get it and risk wasting precious time.
It’s also an argument against legal disarmament. That is, there are laws on the books that prevent law-abiding citizens from carrying their guns. For instance, employer doesn’t permit the guns, even in the parking lot. Let’s say the father in this story was a CHL holder and did carry every legal way he could. If he couldn’t have his gun on his person or even in his car due to workplace limitations, that would explain coming home disarmed and walking in on your family being tied up and robbed. Is that what we wish to allow? Is that what the spirit of the law is desiring? That’s not right.
So we know about Hornady’s new Superformance ammo. The gist is not just really accurate for factory ammo, but also achieving 100-200 fps more than other ammo yet staying within SAAMI pressure specs. That’s… just awesome.
I’m totally interested in this ammo. I blogged about it before because I can’t help but be interested in what this powder could do behind a Barnes bullet. Barnes bullets love velocity, especially the TTSX, so could this powder and that bullet be a winning combination?
And so it has been announced that Hodgdon will be releasing a Superformance powder for handloaders. But as I look for data, I can’t find much. I sent an email to Hodgdon asking. Here’s the reply I received (edited only for layout):
Here’s the deal. Hornady uses many, many blends to load all of the cartridges in their Superformance line. We are introducing one of those blends. It has very limited application. It will not work in a 6.8 Remington. The only cartridges with Superformance powder data are:
22-250
243 Winchester
6mm Remington
243 WSSM
25 WSSM
300 WSM
300 Ruger Compact MagnumThere will not be any further cartridges used with this powder. At some point, if this powder is successful, we may bring out other blends but that is unknown at this time.
Mike Daly
Customer Satisfaction Manager
The Hodgdon Family of Fine Propellants
So there you go.
It clarifies that Superformance powders are very specific blends, and each blend/flavor has very specific application. If you want to load for your favorite cartridge, you will need the Superformance powder specific to that cartridge — if it exists; if it doesn’t exist, you’re out of luck.
So… no .223 Rem, no .308 Win, no 6.8 SPC… which are my present centerfire rifle loads. So, no Superformance for me.
One thing that perks in mind tho. I know .243 Win is considered a good “youth deer gun” caliber. Could you pack a Barnes bullet here, perhaps a “weaker” load, yet still get the same performance? That is, if all things are equal you’d get 200 fps more well, if you drop the powder back to get no change in fps but now I’d assume some reduction in recoil, could that further help the “youth load” situation? Just thinking out loud.
I guess we just have to wait to see how the powder does in the market. Meantime, I guess we can always contact Hodgdon and let them know what we’d like to see. I know I’d like to see it for 6.8.
Over at Girls ❤ Guns, an article about hairstyles for the shooting range. (h/t to Caleb)
Now, speaking as a man with long hair, I’d step back and generalize this not as an article for ladies, but an article for people with long hair. I mean, if you’re a women with short hair, the article really doesn’t apply to you. That said, social constraints are such that women get different options for styling long hair than men do, so of course the article has a few options that could be considered “for the ladies” (sorry, but I look stupid with my hair in a bun).
The main point: if you have long hair, it should be tied and pulled back, out of the way. However you do it, the point is to keep your hair from interfering. One implication in this is the hair-style should be secure, because hair falling out while you’ve got a gun in your hands isn’t good. If you’re in an intensive training class, you don’t need a hair-style failure thus distraction to have to fix it. As well, if you’re a newbie, your gut reaction may be to brush the hair out of the way… and how does that gun in your hand move while you’re brushing hair away! Could be dangerous. If your hair-style fails while you have a gun in your hand, ignore the hair, finish the drill, safely put the gun away (unload and bench it, holster it, whatever is appropriate), THEN fix your hair. This is a side-reason why a ball-cap is good to wear, because in a pinch it can keep hair up and out of the way (e.g. loose fliers restrained under the cap, long hair pulled through the hole in the back as a makeshift ponytail).
Me? I prefer to have my hair in a braid. Pony tails are OK, but a braid is more secure. Furthermore, when the wind blows, a pony tail can blow the tail hairs up into your face, whereas the braid stays down and out of the way. Here’s a picture on how I wear my hair. I’m the guy, second from the right, in the blue/gray shirt and blue cap… and braided hair:
This article has more pictures.
That said, it’s good to train with your hair down once in a while. Why? Well, if you always wear your hair up or only ever shoot in situations where you can control your hair (e.g. you’re only a recreational shooter at the range and will never use a gun to defend your life at home or on the street), then it doesn’t really matter. But if you could be in a situation where your hair is down and you’d have to shoot (e.g. you like to wear your hair down, you carry a gun for self-defense), you should practice with your hair down. It doesn’t have to be live fire (yes, that could be dangerous), but certainly you can and should dry fire. For instance, I found that if my hair is down and I haven’t been to the barber for a trim in a while, my hair can get in the way of drawing and/or presenting my gun from the holster. It’s good to know these things.
Bushmaster is recalling ALL ACR rifles. If you own one of these, you MUST contact Bushmaster immediately. It’s a safety issue and a legal issue.
I finally finished reading Monster Hunter Vendetta by Larry Correia.
You see, I didn’t want to give a hoot about the Monster Hunter books. It’s just not my cup of tea. But TXGunGeek loaned me his copy of the first book, Monster Hunter International, and I did enjoy it.
So when I had to go to California a few weeks ago, I needed a book. I’ve found that when I fly, the best thing for me to do to pass the time is read. I can’t read technical or deep-thought books; I need light but engaging fare. It’s how I started reading the Harry Potter books. So while at the bookstore I was looking for the Dave Mustaine autobiography (which I enjoyed), but while waiting for someone at the counter it hit me that MH Vendetta was out. So why not… I picked it up figuring it would be good fare for the plane.
I wasn’t disappointed.
I don’t want to say too much and risk spoilers for folks that haven’t read it but plan to.
The book is certainly a good read. It’s enjoyable, action-packed. I reiterate that I think the Monster Hunter stuff could make for exciting viewing on the big screen (and again, Julie Strain for Julie Shackleford!).
I felt this book had more twists, more things to keep you on your toes. For instance, Agent Franks. I think there was more character development and more depth, but also a lot more to keep track of. I read half the book on the plane, then have been reading what I can when I can since then. If I stepped away for a couple days, I did find myself having to reorient and remind myself of the state of things, else I lost track of what was going on. It can be an involved read, but not heavy or demanding.
Certainly felt more suspense in this. A lot more “damn… how are they going to get out of this? thoughts… more “geez.. and I thought it couldn’t get any worse”. But it never felt forced or campy, at least, within the realm of sci-fi limits. 🙂 Oh sure, there’s still a lot of perfect far-fetchedness going on, Owen is still a super-human despite being merely human, but hey… suspend disbelief and just enjoy the fun.
No regrets about buying it. Very much enjoyed reading it.
And yes…. G-Nome. Couldn’t stop laughing. 🙂
Reloaded another 200 rounds of .38 Special this morning.
It was anything but routine.
I broke the decapping pin on the sizing die. *sigh* I’m not 100% sure how it happened, but here’s my guess. Earlier in the session I guess I didn’t get an empty case set in the shell plate correctly. I pulled the lever and it felt and sounded strange. I look at the shell plate and notice the old case was on its side and had been smashed flat against the bottom of the resizing die. Furthermore, the decapping pin had punched through the brass walls. Oops. I removed the damaged case and kept going. There were some hard to resize cases. I figure the pin had a crack or at least was stressed from the punch-through, and now with the difficult cases probably had more stress. Then on one pull of the handle I heard a strange noise and the pull felt weird. I looked, no more pin… it was in crumbled pieces inside the case I was attempting to resize and decap. *sigh*
Fortunately, I had an old set of Lee dies that I bought off Karl for cheap some time ago. I was able to put that sizing/decapping die in and finish the session.
So now I need to buy a new decapping pin. Thing is, I’m sure the cost of shipping it is going to be more than the pin itself (it’s about $3 for a pack of 5 pins). So, I need to find a way to make this worth my while. I am probably going to need to go to Cabela’s to get more bullets and probably some deer-hunting stuff, so if they have pins, great. If not well… I guess I’ll hope the Lee dies hold out until I’m done with .38 and then I’ll pick up pins whenever I next do an online order.
I’m just glad I had the spare dies and didn’t really have to break my stride. I’m itching to get .38 done with so I can get to working on 6.8 SPC loads with those Barnes .277″ 95 grain TTSX bullets. They won’t get used for hunting this season, but maybe hogs afterwards and into the future.
(Thanx to Ralph Wiggum for the title).
I just read about the .300 AAC Blackout on The Firearm Blog. He wrote about barrels and reloading dies, but I’ve never heard of this round before. So I went looking.
Now, I’m all into 6.8 SPC because of the purpose-built nature of the round. Looking at .300 BLK? It too is being purpose built along the same philosophy as 6.8 SPC but attempting to address some issues with it. For instance, to use 6.8 in your existing AR you need to change the barrel, bolt, and magazines. With .300 BLK? only the barrel. That’s huge, especially if you’re aiming for adopting by the military.
Here’s a brief synopsis from the .300 AAC Blackout website:
Full power 123 grain ammunition matches the ballistics of the 7.62x39mm AK, has 37% more energy than 5.56mm M855, and 9% more than 6.8 SPC TAP 110. In fact, from a 9 inch barrel, the 300BLK has more muzzle energy than 5.56mm M855 from a 16 inch barrel. When 300 BLK is used in a 16 inch barrel, it has 23% more energy than 5.56mm M855 from a 16 inch barrel – with much higher-mass projectiles for a more dramatic effect on the target. Or choose subsonic cartridges for optimal use with a sound suppressor – 220 grain Sierra OTM (open-tip match) bullets vastly outperforms a 9mm MP5-SD in penetration and long range accuracy.
Look at that performance from a short barrel. Now stick a suppressor on the end of that, and you’ve got suppressed fire with adequate ballistics out of a rather compact package. Wow!
Of course, there are the obvious social implications. But I also think about hunting. For instance, using the same platform in the morning for deer hunting, then just attaching the suppressor and switching to a subsonic load for hunting hogs at night.
Go check out the official website. Lots of information, data, spec sheets, and even handloading information.
This is something I’m going to keep my eye on.
Talk about an interesting start to the morning.
I just woke up about 10 minutes ago. For whatever reason as I stumbled all bleary-eyed into the bathroom a phrase went through my head:
Slow is smooth, smooth is fast.
and I thought to myself how cliché that may be and some people groan at the phrase because of that reason, but the phrase has much truth to it. Why it popped in my head? I don’t know. Maybe all the dry fire I did just before bedtime and how I kept telling myself to not rush the draw just for the sake of getting it out there fast, because I know the more relaxed and smooth I am, the better quality the draw becomes (including acquisition of the front sight and thus getting off a good first shot, thus overall time from draw to first hit is going to be faster).
Then I read Jay’s latest posting about his recent police academy sim. What does he say? Slow is smooth, smooth is fast.
And it’s not even a full moon. 🙂
While that’s a good thing to keep in mind, I thought a few other things from Jay’s posting were worth pointing out:
Shitty situations are shitty, but there is always a way out.